Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
Really, I don't want to use many words here since this review was only triggered by a previous one downgrading the record to 3 stars despite saying "a fun listen and much better recorded than most [live recordings]". This implies that the Dixie Chicks Top of the World Tour would be just mediocre (that's what the middle of 5 stars means) while it is so much better. Said...
Published on 18 Nov. 2008 by Gerhard Bissell

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memorable recording (but only if you were there?)
The usage of "global tours" to cheaply produce a live recording that will be lapped up by those who attended and many others who think it will be a good introduction to an artiste's overall portfolio of songs, has inevitably led over the years to cynicism by many given they rarely achieve a better quality compared with the original studio recordings. Sadly this double CD...
Published on 18 July 2004 by Siriam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 18 Nov. 2008
By 
Gerhard Bissell (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
Really, I don't want to use many words here since this review was only triggered by a previous one downgrading the record to 3 stars despite saying "a fun listen and much better recorded than most [live recordings]". This implies that the Dixie Chicks Top of the World Tour would be just mediocre (that's what the middle of 5 stars means) while it is so much better. Said review goes on "The impact of their songs is based on a very emotive vocal style [...] beautifully underpinned by a high level of indiviual playing [...]. That is lost to a great extent" - that's just a lot of tosh. Musicianship and vocals are all there. If you want intimacy then listen to the studio recordings - after all, most of the songs are out there as studio versions, except Mississippi (in an interpretation which would do Bob Dylan proud).

Live is about something else. It's an emotional experience, and here it is perfectly well captured and works well in the stadium context. You can clearly hear that not only the audience had a great time, but so too did the Dixie Chicks themselves. You can feel the elation replacing the worries over possibly being shunned ("You know, they said you wouldn't come...") because of the clear articulation of misgivings for the Bush administration.
Besides, the intro to Truth No. 2, despite only hinting at all the political troubles the girls went through, is a clear indication of growing into women with a mature social-political conscience while still maintaining the chicks' sparkle.
I'd prefer it over any of their studio records any time if I HAD to chose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memorable recording (but only if you were there?), 18 July 2004
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
The usage of "global tours" to cheaply produce a live recording that will be lapped up by those who attended and many others who think it will be a good introduction to an artiste's overall portfolio of songs, has inevitably led over the years to cynicism by many given they rarely achieve a better quality compared with the original studio recordings. Sadly this double CD set while a fun listen and much better recorded than most does veer towards that failing, especially given that the subtlety and lightness of touch in most of the Dixie Chicks studio recordings does not get improved in any way by the "stadium rock" setting on display here.
The great success of the Dixie Chicks has been in part due to moving the country and western genre from a very stereotyped view of life into a more realistic depiction of what actually happens in the world from a feminine point of view through songs such as "Goodbye Earl", "White Trash Wedding", "Wide Open Spaces" and "Cowboy take me away" . The impact of their songs is based on a very emotive vocal style including the chorus singing, all beautifully underpinned by a high level of indiviual playing especially on the violin and dobro plus outstanding support musicians. That is lost to a great extent on the 22 cuts here given a need to up the electric guitar and percussion elements to suit the larger arenas being played, plus especially on the second CD a need by Natalie Maines to project the lead vocals and with also a lot more audience noise/participation .
If you can acquire it the US DVD release "An evening with the Dixie Chicks" recorded beautifully both visually and audio (5:1 surrund sound) at the more intimate Kodak Theatre in Los Angeles in August 2002 would be a much better buy in seeing how the group can stretch themselves live and enhance their songs in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
I bought those CDs after seeing and hearing my favourite song "Hello Mrs Heartache" in concert version.I am a big fan of Chicks not for so long and I did not have those CDs in my collection so far, so now is mine:).I love it, it is great,and was worth to buy it. Beautiful,emotional and powerful songs and amazing voices of Natalie,Martie and Emily. I recommend to every Chicks' fan and not only:).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dixie Chicks- Top of the World:Live, 21 Mar. 2010
By 
J. S. Hardy "postie tef" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top of the World: Live (Audio CD)
These two compact discs represent the world tour the band undertook in 2003, entirely live with no overdubs. The songs are from the first three albums plus 'Mississipi' by Bob Dylan.
Excellent live souvenir for anyone who witnessed the band on that tour. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is great, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
Peter Turner "peterturner7" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
Not sure why I wasn't a convert to the Dixie Chicks a long time ago, but now I am. This is a great representation of the range of their music and they all look like they're having so much fun, as are the audience. Highly recommended. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greate group, greate sound, country-rock mix that makes you happy!, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
Greate group, greate sound, country-rock mix that makes you happy! kes things a Live sound and feel that takes things a few steps futher than the studio albums. Surely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 20 May 2013
By 
Neil Buchanan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
Excellent selection from a group at the peak of their powers . Good musicianship , clear vocals , captures the mood of the occasion perfectly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so great, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
Hard to believe this is a live perfromance. Vocally and instrumentaly fabulous. All the favorites and more. My driving cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
Brilliant band, easy listening and songs you can unwind to, listen to it for hours and never get fed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Live albums i've Heard, 15 July 2004
This review is from: Top Of The World Tour Live (Audio CD)
This album would be a great listen for anyone who attented one of the concerts and if you're like me and you weren't lucky enough to get tickets this album will make you wish you had been there. From the start the crowd are cheering madly as the chicks open up with the country #1 and grammy award winning single "Goodbye Earl" about a woman who kills her abusive husband but it's actually quite upbeat and a fantastic record which should suit anyone with a taste for good country music. The second number is one to dance to with the catchy "Somedays You Gotta Dance" and then its on to one of the greatest ciuntry records i've ever heard, the grammy winner "Theres You're Trouble". The first ballad is the beautiful "Travellin' Soldier" which takes you in and really moves you with its soft melody and swift and sweet country vocals. The Dixie Chicks keep the crowd and whoevers listening to this cd hooked with other fantastic records like "Cold Day in July", "Hello Mr Heartache", "If I Fall Youre Goin' Down with Me", "Ready to Run" and there greatest record "Wide Open Spaces" with its harmonious counrty vocals and melody. The chicks clothes with the rousing "Sin Wagon" which makes a perfect close to an amazing concert and album. In my opinion the Dixie Chicks have risen to become the greatest county group in history with not only fantastic records and voices but also demonstrating attitude in their songs and personalities which show on this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Of The World Tour Live
Top Of The World Tour Live by Dixie Chicks (Audio CD - 2004)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews