Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still fun now!
I got this game on the launch day of the GameCube because I'd played it a bit on the Dreamcast and enjoyed it.
I didn't expect it, but this game has been one of my overall most played GameCube games (obviously after Smash Bros and a few others!)
Last time I checked the timer said over 60 hours, that was a long time ago and I still haven't finished and unlocked...
Published on 3 Sep 2005 by Blondesim

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a massive step down from SA1
ok i know im gonna get complaints from sonic 'hardcore fans' but i don't care.
this game is mostly rubbish.

pros:
1>its a sonic game, its got decent music
2>playing as tails or dr robotnik is great,even if it is the same
3>big isn't in this game.
4>great chao raising and evolution system

cons
1>laziness development to...
Published 14 months ago by Kawster


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still fun now!, 3 Sep 2005
By 
Blondesim (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Player's Choice (GameCube) (Video Game)
I got this game on the launch day of the GameCube because I'd played it a bit on the Dreamcast and enjoyed it.
I didn't expect it, but this game has been one of my overall most played GameCube games (obviously after Smash Bros and a few others!)
Last time I checked the timer said over 60 hours, that was a long time ago and I still haven't finished and unlocked the final level.
The game is different to other platform games, you go through the game changing character after each level. Each character has a specific playing style so you'll probably quickly choose a favourite. You choose whether to play as Dark or Hero, and although the characters play the same as their alternative, you get different levels and their levels and stories meet up.
The different playing styles are as follows:
Sonic/Shadow have regular Sonic style quick platform levels with grinding, spinning. Basically you go fast with these 2, it's a little shallow and occaisionally frustrating, but very fun.
Knuckles/Rouge have treasure hunt levels where you have to find 3 items. You have an icon that beeps to tell you how close you are and have to get them as quickly as possible to get the high score- they change location too. This is fun for a while, but after spending over 30 mins looking for a pice of emerald on one level it'll be a while until you choose that one again!
Tails/Eggman have platform/shooting levels. You are in a robot suit thing and you can shoot at enemies. These are fun too, probably the most satisfying levels.
There is also Chao raising, which is a bit like Tamagotchi's. You can take it on your GBA to look after on the move, or you can feed it and play races/karate with it on the TV. You get items for your Tamagotchi by defeating enemies on the main game.
Any levels you have done can be re-done on a big map screen which is where your time will go after seeing the credits.
Each level can be redone 6 times with different objectives for more emblems. You will do objectives like collecting 100 rings, time limit, finding a lost chao etc. You are graded on these A-E and you need A's to unlock more secrets.
In the main game you will also find upgrades for your characters. These give you abilities such as Sonic's spin attack and Knuckles' ability to dig. Some are necessary and some are just for fun.
The music is really not great, some of it is ok, but most of it with singing is really quite bad.
There are other modes to experiment with like kart racing. The Kart racing isn't really very good, but it's an ok distraction for a few minutes. The handling is horrible, and it feels very much like a last minute addition.
The multiplayer is pretty good, you can choose from a selection of levels for each character. Eg, if you are playing as Knuckles then you have to hunt down the emerald 1st.
It's quite competetive, but not exactly competition for Smash Bros or MarioKart. There are battle levels between Eggman and Tails, or races with Sonic and Shadow- these are my favourite on multiplayer, they are simply a race to the end of one of the single player levels. There are a few more characters to choose from here too, but they are all basically the same eg. Metal Sonic, Amy.
I can strongly recommend this game because it is something that you can slowly work on and progress in after "completing" it.
There is lots of replay incentive and is very fun.
The only -s are
-The character story system means switching continuously between characters after every level, which makes levels feel more like mini games and destroys the game flow.
-The music (obviously a matter of taste) I don't like much of it.
-Frustrating gameplay sometimes, with glitchy deaths and punishing you for exploring with the horrible camera.
-The horrible camera! You can change it, but it instantly jumps back to the default view if you move (when playing as Sonic/Shadow esp.).
-The treasure hunt levels can go on ages.
-Very hard to unlock the final secret! (But it is very good!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sonic Game ever created by sonic team, 16 Mar 2007
By 
Doonni (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Player's Choice (GameCube) (Video Game)
Unlike other sonic games which are plain stupid really this is allways been my favorite ive had this game for ages 3 years atleaste and finally writing a review because finally getting the time.

Right this game is exelent because Hero mode you play as Sonic,Tails,Knuckles-Dark Shadow, Rouge, Eggman.

I have completed both stories but enough about all of this time to tell you why it is the 2nd best game ever.

The gameplay as sonic with speed action homing attack bouncing about rocks and knuckles gameplay is searching for 3 piecies of the master emerald which will keep you searching for ages with enimies to destroy on the way with rap music to keep you going on his levels-Tails gameplay is good you play in his plane which tranforms which makes it have feet so you can walk and you get to shoot enimies blast them to pieces. Shadow is the same with sonic with speed but harder levels+Rouge and Eggman same as Knuc and tails. The graphics are ok not the best its because this game is old the gameplay is one of the best you will play and the controls are easy this is the second best game ever Still dosent beat Kingdom Hearts 2 Though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 10 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After years of waiting and hoping that SEGA would release SA2 for PC (having released SA1) I finally gave in and bought a Dreamcast version. Then I bought the Nintendo GameCube and ever since my Dreamcast has been gathering dust in my room.

Let's break it down.

THE GOOD:

The graphics. This goes more or less without saying; they're at least on a par with SA1, if not better.

Continuity. This may seem trivial, but it really grated on me in SA1 where you'd see one cutscene from Sonic's point of view, then the same one when playing Tails and the characters would say something slightly different.

The story. Gotta be the best Sonic story of all time!

Level design. I can play the same level over and over again and still find new things. In particular I like the Hard setting (fifth emblem).

Music. Great songs. 'Nuff said.

Difficulty. The levels start easy, like they should, and get progressively harder without too big a leap.

Big the Cat. Finally! Anyone who got frustrated with his levels in SA1 is going to love the cameos he makes here. That cat sure gets himself into some tight situations ;)

Stage Select. A much neater and better way of replaying levels. Also, when you beat Hero or Dark side, you get to watch the cutscenes again (a big plus compared to SA1)

Chao. You can now name them in the kindergarten, classes take a much shorter time to complete and there's the Black Market, none of which was available on the Dreamcast. You can also get your Chao's stats and medical report. At least, not without some serious hassle. The only problem is the redesign of the Dark Chao garden (hey, I liked that cave and the graveyard). And the fact that you can't get the Moon Chao egg.

THE BAD:

Camera Angle. While occasionally it's useful to know which way you're supposed to be going, sometimes you WANT to go backwards through the level (right now I'm thinking of various missiles you need to fire). Since every time you try to correct the angle it corrects itself back again, resulting in you going around in circles and often dying, you get used to playing backwards. There's no Free/Auto setting either.

Emerald Radar. (Note: this applies to the radar on any of the 'find it' levels). For some reason, Sega decided to change this. Now it detects the shards one at a time, from left to right. This basically means that you could be right on top of Item 2 or 3 and not even know it. For most of the levels, this is just irritating, but on Rouge's level Security Hall when you're racing the clock, it gives a whole new meaning to the word 'frustration'.

Hidden Upgrades. Not that much of a problem - the levels are arranged so you can't go on without the vital ones - but it's still irritating to not have a clue where to go. Mystic Melody is the worst one for this, and it's impossible to get all third rank emblems without it.

AND THE JUST PLAIN MISC:

Linear Gameplay. I honestly can't make up my mind whether this is good or bad, so I'll stick it in here. You get a far greater sense of continuity compared to SA1, but if you get stuck on a particular level, you only have one other character you can play.

Inadvertent Homing Attack. I don't know if this is just my controller or the Gamecube version, but sometimes when you push the jump button once, Sonic or Shadow decide to do a homing attack instead. This isn't too much of a problem, but on the Egg Golem boss with Sonic it's incredibly frustrating. It took me fifteen minutes to beat that one on the Gamecube, as opposed to only a few on the Dreamcast. If memory serves, it went something like:

SONIC: (Jump...jump...ju-HOMING ATTACK! Splat)

Over and over and over again.

Lack Of Adventure Fields. Again, I can't make up my mind if this is good or bad. I loved the adventure fields in SA1, but they probably wouldn't fit in here.

So the burning question is, do you buy this or the Dreamcast version? If you're never going to do anything with Chao, then in terms of gameplay it doesn't matter which you get. If you want to do anything with Chao at all besides pet and play with them, you need this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sonic game on the cube, 4 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Player's Choice (GameCube) (Video Game)
From the moment you turn this game on you realise just how good a game this is going to be. You are given two stories to select from and complete - each with three playable characters with lots of upgrades. Completing this lets you play "last story" where all the characters unite and the true final boss is found.
The games graphics are not entirely up to scratch by todays standards having been ported off the dreamcast but still handle the speed at which the game runs very well and there is never a hint of slowdown. The sound is incredible with so many good songs. (You can even buy the soundtrack.)
You will find yourself with three types of levels: the action running stages (with Sonic and Shadow), the shooting levels in robots (Tails and Robotnik), and the emerald hunting levels (Rouge and Knuckles). These help to add some variety to the game and rarely get boring.
Aside from the main game there is the Chao Garden where you can raise your own little blue deranged critters and enter thm into races and karate (like an advanced tamagotchi), and the multiplayer mode. The latter is much improved over the dreamcast version as you can now pick from four characters on each of the three multiplayer modes. Also the amount of levels that you can pick from has been greatly increased and there are a couple of multiplayer exclusive levels too.
This game will also keep you going for a long time there are a total of 180 emblems to collect. These can be obtained by completing certain objectives on levels such as - find the lost chao or clear hard mode. All in all this game certainly deserves five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The blue blur is back-but better?, 14 Jan 2003
I have owned nearly every SONIC THE HEDGEHOG game ever made. Sonic Adventure 1 was fantastic, and Sonic Advance blew me away, but I was slightly disappointed with this GC outing. For all you asking, "Is it better than Mario Sunshine?" I'll just say now-yes. Speeding through the streets is far more fun than spraying plants with water. This game has everything a sonic fan could want-Fast levels, non-stop action and varying levels of difficulty. So what sends this potentially good train off the rails? To start with, some platforming areas can badly screw up thanks to the bad camera angles and terrible gamecube controller. Numerous attempts at an important jump can be flailed thanks to a pants camera angle. Secondly, The knuckles and rouge levels feel more like a chore than anything. They go so slow and are incredibly boring. Although rewarding, you just want them to end to get back into the action, and thirdly, the multiplayer is rubbish. The race is quite good, but the fights with the robots always ends up in relentless button bashing and "whoever presses the button first wins" situations. Other than these, this is a thouroughly enjoyable platformer with fluid gameplay and great graphics. Many characters to choose from, an efficient learning curve and packed with mini-games, SA2B certainly has a lot to do. Just not the best Sonic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have the need for speed, you'll love this game!, 19 Nov 2002
By 
Luke Saunders (Windsor, England) - See all my reviews
Many people have described this game as disappointing, but who could be disappointed by such a classic game?
The graphics are sharp and colourful, a pleasure to look at.
The music is some of the best on the Gamecube (although you'll either love or hate Knuckles' raps) and you'll be singing along to your favourite tunes in next to no time! It brilliantly characterises each character, with rocking electric guitars for Sonic and mechanical sounding music for Dr. Eggman.
The playability is fantastic, if you have a need for speed, you'll love the Sonic levels. The hunting levels are always challenging, although don't suit everyones taste, and especially fun on multiplayer. The shooting levels, maybe, are a little disappointing and tricky, but this shouldn't distract from this game's quality.
It's a good job that it's so enjoyable too, because there is so much to do! You'll be playing this game for ages, especially since the Chao garden is so addictivly fun. You'll literally be playing this game for years in order to get all 180 emblems.
The only bad thing about the game is that the camera is quite bad unless you want to go anywhere other than forward. Forgive it this and you'll find it one of the best games on the Game Cube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Adventure 2 Battle, 4 July 2002
This game was on Dreamcast, and in my opinion it is one of the best games i have ever played. You can play as the dark team or the hero team, you dertimine the ending, and there is even a chao garden where you raise pets.With over 50 action packed missions and a multiplayer mode, with some of the best graphics in gaming history, this is a game to get. If you have a cube get this game. It may look childish but it is a hell of a game.
P.S. Get this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Adventure 2: Battle is Awesome, 4 May 2002
By A Customer
Sonic Adventure 2 is really cool. There are new designs to the characters, and a new two player system. Although there are a few flaws in the animation, its still a great game. For the adventure mode, you can be either the heroes and save the world or be the dark side and destroy it. Not enough action stages though, but I give it 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
Seeing this game I remembered the good old SEGA and thought ahhh what the hell! Sonics ALWAYS good!
Now who can remember humming allong to the FANTASTIC music of SEGAS SONIC THE HEDGEHOG where you had to save thoose creatures from the bad guy. I CERTAINALY DO!!!!! And I miss the old music with the little TING as soon as you collected a ring. The new music is OK. It's got words that fit the level which is good.
But other than the music, the grahics are very good and the story line is fine.
All in all its a decent game and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic strikes again, 5 May 2002
By A Customer
I got pestered left, right and centre for this game from a eager sonic mad 6 year old.
In fairness though, the game is brilliant, I used to be into sonic on the megadrive when it 1st came out, we got sonic advance for the kids on GBA, but this is something else. Good graphics, background CD audio music and a good addictive game.
Some of the bits are too difficult for children, defeating some of the end of level guardians and finding some of the emeralds, but on the whole i only get called to help once every 30 minutes.
worth the money !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sonic Adventure 2: Battle - Player's Choice (GameCube)
Used & New from: 6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews