Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music IS the language of us all
I first heard of The Cat Empire whilst in the car in Australia in 2003. 'Hello' was on continual radio airplay and managed to stop me mid conversation to listen to it. I was hooked and bought the album before returning to the UK. It hasn't left the CD player since.
The Cat Empire are rewriting the rule book - you don't have to be labelled with one 'sound', i.e...
Published on 9 Feb. 2005

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great music shame about the copy protection...
It is really get up on your feet stuff. But it's got the Cactus copy protection system on it and it will only play on my computer using the sub-standard player they provide, and not at all on the player in my wife's car. When I do play it on the computer it the sound isn't good, rather like the entire band are playing inside a cardboard box. On my HiFi the sound is good,...
Published on 16 July 2007 by Mr. S. Crook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music IS the language of us all, 9 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
I first heard of The Cat Empire whilst in the car in Australia in 2003. 'Hello' was on continual radio airplay and managed to stop me mid conversation to listen to it. I was hooked and bought the album before returning to the UK. It hasn't left the CD player since.
The Cat Empire are rewriting the rule book - you don't have to be labelled with one 'sound', i.e. Britpop, rock, jazz - they play all that and more - ska, reggae, funk, latino, hip-hop, jazz - its impossible to give them a label and you wouldn't want to. I defy anyone to listen to this album and not feel happy afterwards - it is hugely enjoyable, with cracking lyrics and superb horn ensembles. You'd be hard pushed to choose a favourite track, in fact, it's easier to pick the one track you are not so keen on, the rest are all very different and equally brilliant.
It makes a very nice change to listen to really GOOD music from talented, young musicians. Having since had the pleasure of seeing them perform live in London and Edinburgh, I can only continue to sing their praises - their live gigs were mind-blowing.
These boys will go far, so get on the bandwagon now and enjoy the ride - buy this album now and look out for the new album in the Spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy music, 10 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
Sometimes getting a bit pot and putting every herb and spice under the sun into can be a terrible mistake, but The Cat Empire have done the musical equivalent and got away with it. There's jazz, funk, salsa, hip-hop, Zorba-esque Greek music and ska chucked together, to name but a few styles, but most of the time it really works.
Opening track How To Explain is a classic example - it's infectuous, ludicrously upbeat and will have you dancing round your bedroom as if you were in a Mexican tequila bar. You'd struggle to pigeon hole it into any one category though.
Hello is another belter, and given any decent radio play, would stick in heads across the country.
This is summer music, fun music and at times, damn right sexy music that gives horn sections a good name again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warning copy protected, 1 Jun. 2005
By 
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
I just bought this only to find that the copy protection makes it impossible to listen to this on my ipod. Think carefully before buying, as it is not a normal format cd and may not work on your cd player. You also are required to install software to listen to it on your pc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hazy lazy crazy days of summer, 14 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
The Cat Empire are gods of all things musical. My first ever experience of them was at Teviot Row House student union of Edinburgh University during the Edinburgh festival in the summer of 2002. They played after Late 'n Live every night, and they never ever ever failed to blow me away.
They ae a bunch of great guys, very chilled and fun to be with.
This album is mucho mucho polished from their live versions, but doesn't lose any of that Cat Empire magic. Funky, Chilled, Energetic, Rockin, Jazzy, Brilliant. These people produce music that it is impossible not to like. Buy it. NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello hello!, 22 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
I was introduced to this band by a good mate who happened to have been to one of their shows down under and since hearing the first track, i've been hooked! These guys are so talented that its difficult to do them justice in such a short review. If their funky tunes and fantastic rhymes don't impress you, just listen to the awesome keys or the trumpet as it blasts with such power you can't help but want to jump up and dance!
Having twice seen The Cat Empire this year, I highly reccommend their live gigs as these guys are firm believers in the energy of live music, and boy does this show (and dont miss the dancing - quality). Favourite track has to be "Hello", its so sexy and fun you can't help but break into a smile! Their more recent album "Two Shoes" is pure genius too! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Introduction to the Cat Empire, 29 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
A young and enthusiastic band from Melbourne, Australia caught my attention whilst I was in Brisbane, Australia. I saw them live, which they are impressive! On this their first big cd, they don't fail to impress!
Amazing songs from start to finish on this 13 track debut, such as The Lost Song, Hello, The Chariot and The Crowd.
A mixture of all sorts of styles such as jazz, funk and many more. Using the trumpet, double bass, bongo's and even a scratch dj!
Awesome, the style, the energy, the class of the Cat Empire drew me in. Buy this if you want to have some fun while you listen to music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Funky CD!, 4 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
this cd is the best fuse of so many different styles. from latino to funk, rap to reggae-this cd has it all, nicely bundled up with some chilled out beats. i saw the cat empire at WOMAD 2003, and was completely blown away! the sun even appeared for the only time all weekend as the played. these men are the gods of music-this cd deserves to be in any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Prozac, 30 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
Rumour has it that the NHS will soon be prescribing this album instead of anti-depressants. I don't know a single person who has been able to listen to this album without involuntarily grinning like a maniac, and, more often than not, dancing around the room. Enough has been said already about the mix of musical styles - just don't try to give it a genre in itunes. Soundtrack of the summer - thank god for distant Australian cousins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter what ..... buy this album, 10 Feb. 2005
By 
overwhelmed music lover (Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
where to start? this cd has whatever it is you like, from jazz to reaggae, from hip hop to latino. from the outset you can feel the uplifting nature of the musical brilliance that is the Cat Empire. Songs to watch out for; firstly The Chariot. This has to be one of my favourite songs of all time! it has an energy about it that is incredible, just listen to the lyircs, the metaphor for peace all too apparent. there is also the Wine Song which has to be descibed as crazy! one of the funnest songs ever to be heared. BUY THIS CD! THATS ALL THERE IS TO IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cutting edge from down under, 18 Dec. 2003
By 
brass monkey (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] (Audio CD)
One of my coworkers is an escapee from Australia, and this album arrived one day in the mail. To both of our suprises the disk turned out to be pure gold. The shear confidence and energy of the performances that slips between latin, regee, ska,& jazz lounge with a foray even into greek dance is brilliant. This disk will quickly infect you into listining to listening 20 times nonstop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cat Empire, The [Australian Import]
Cat Empire, The [Australian Import] by The Cat Empire (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews