Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feed your soul
This excellent series rarely disappoints, and Paul Weller's current volume is perhaps the best yet.
I'm sure many would expect a mix tape full of Small Faces tracks and Motown stompers from the Weller stable, but it's the more subtle, soulful side of the mans muse we have here. Thus you get a blend of hip-hop (Funkdoobiest), 70's funk (Headhunters), rocksteady (John...
Published on 15 Jan 2004

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Influential
As a follower of PW for over 20 years the CD contained a number of influences that came as a bit of a surprise - some great, a couple not quite to my taste . A good number of gems on here though that I would not have come across otherwise - catch Richie Havens, the Blind Boys of Alabama and John Coltrane for starters.
Will definitely continue to play - loud!
Published on 20 Jan 2004 by grtd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feed your soul, 15 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
This excellent series rarely disappoints, and Paul Weller's current volume is perhaps the best yet.
I'm sure many would expect a mix tape full of Small Faces tracks and Motown stompers from the Weller stable, but it's the more subtle, soulful side of the mans muse we have here. Thus you get a blend of hip-hop (Funkdoobiest), 70's funk (Headhunters), rocksteady (John Holt), bizarre speaking-in-tongues modern Jazz (Charles Mingus) and a fabulous slice of 60's chamber pop (the casuals).
If you're a fan of PW's adventurous 'lost weekend' years (from the last few style council albums to the first solo LP) you'll find this CD a real ear-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 26 July 2005
By 
B Moraes (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
What an absolutely inspired collection this is. These are the choices of a man in love with music, and unconcerned with fashion. Weller's sleeve notes are excellent too, covering the reasons for the music he's chosen and generous about their influence on him as well name checking the friends who have introduced him to particular tunes. Not only is he stylish on the outside but between the ears too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars expand your musical genre with the modfather, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
I just fail to see how you can't get off on some of these tracks.I have picked up so much new/old music from the genius that is Paul Weller....check out wild beasts and erland & the carnival.This collection has some off centre gems such as 'God made me funky' a record that a fan drew his attention to,'devils pie' and the wonderful John Holts Ali Baba.Then there's the very uplifting 'Color him father' which tells a lovely story and blends nicely into a perfect 60's tune;Jesamine by the casuals.
Even the tracks by established artists are not mainstream and I hadn't heard Marvin's Pretty Little Baby and the kinks big black smoke let alone the lovely version of curtis mayfields 'we must be in love'before...what pleassnt finds they are.Handouts in the rain by Richie Havens makes you want to check his back catalogue

If you love music i guarantee you'll get off on at least two thirds of this collection...thank you Mr Weller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Influential, 20 Jan 2004
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
As a follower of PW for over 20 years the CD contained a number of influences that came as a bit of a surprise - some great, a couple not quite to my taste . A good number of gems on here though that I would not have come across otherwise - catch Richie Havens, the Blind Boys of Alabama and John Coltrane for starters.
Will definitely continue to play - loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great mix, 4 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
A superb mix or records. Every friend has asked me if it was one of my mixes. I said "No, one of Pauls".
It is fantastic listening, very varied but all good.
Makes for interesting comments/arguments about how a certain song could be an influence.
Definatley recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Under The Influence - Various, Selected By Paul Weller, 22 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
I am a real big Paul Weller Fan. The thought of picking up an album that is said to influence the Modfather, really got my juices going. But, I must this is not what as I expected. The inside of the album has a comment that the tracks on the album are not the mainstream tracks by the Beatles or the Kinks, well that is not an understatement.
There is a real mix of tracks on this album varying from Rock 'n' Roll/Jazz/Reggae/Soul/Sixties Pop. Some tracks are very indifferent. Foot Tappers Yes, Inspirational party mood makers NO!
This album is one for the collection, but one to be played infrequently and a real chill out album.
Perhaps I would like to see the album with the mainstream influences on it and was disapointed because it was not.
Now if you are a Weller Fan buy 'Fly on the Wall' instead - that was altogether more my cup of tea!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 1 Jan 2005
This review is from: Under The Influence (Audio CD)
I brought this a few months ago and have only listened to it a couple of times and unlike some albums it seems to get worse every time i hear it. now i think its embarrasing, when someone as good as paul weller releases this i wonder what was he thinking, if you are after a covers album by the mod father then studio 150 is for you avoid this like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under The Influence
Under The Influence by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews