Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Mind-Blowing
This revolutionary as we see new and better MMORPGs spawning every now and then (notably Star Wars Galaxies). The sheer flexibility and options of this game make this game massively addictive. You often find yourself weighing up options of whether to do a life-risking mission for someone or just chopping their arms off.

Like most RPGs you level up your...
Published on 30 Jan 2004 by S. Goldberg

versus
21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure on this one...
I always meant to buy this game when it first came out, and somehow I never did. So several years after it was released I get hold of it and install it (after having none of the problems reported by some of the other reviewers).
I liked the premise of a world where technology and magic coexist and I liked the character generation system. I'm sure that somewhere in...
Published on 4 Oct 2004 by Richard Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Mind-Blowing, 30 Jan 2004
By 
S. Goldberg (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
This revolutionary as we see new and better MMORPGs spawning every now and then (notably Star Wars Galaxies). The sheer flexibility and options of this game make this game massively addictive. You often find yourself weighing up options of whether to do a life-risking mission for someone or just chopping their arms off.

Like most RPGs you level up your character through experience points which are achieved through completing jobs / missions for people, killing things or achieving other goals (e.g. uncovering secrets). You can choose whether to be an elf, human, orc, half-elf, half-orc, male, female, evil, good, whether to study magic, technology or a mix of both. There are a large numbers of weapons, armour and other items all of which have unique values and many have special bonuses to your characteristic points.

You can develop special skills such as lockpicking, persuasion, pickpocketing, prowling, meleeing, backstabbing, gambling, healing and more as well as become apprentices, experts and masters in your chosen areas.

Killing not your thing? How about trafficking stolen items between large towns over a vast landscape. Meet new people through highly populated areas and build intricate storylines and friendships, some even ask to tag along with you on your quests. Perhaps you just want to become an entertainer?
Well if your female you can become a 'special' entertainer for 'special' customers.

During combat, choose whether to fight in real-time, turn based or fast turn based. Choose what armour and weapons your companions carry and what items you can offload onto them to carry.

Ultimately, this game will leave you addicted, drooling and resenting those who call you crazy for locking yourself up for hours without sunlight. This game is an absolute must for the hardcore gamer and is as cheap as chips for a fiver. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Single player - great! Multiplayer is a bit iffy, 20 Feb 2004
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
I heard of Arcanum from a mate. And it did seem fun. I played single player for a bit, and thought the level of freedom of character creation and in the game itself was amazing. You can literally do whatever you want. Perhaps somewhat innocently, i though the same would be true for multiplayer. I thought i'd be able to join up with a few mates and run around the arcanum world doing whatever we felt like doing. Unfortunatly, is isn't like that.
You have to go and do different maps, with there own quests and such in. I havn't worked out how to keep my characters items, as each time i start a new game - it is all lost. Looking on the bright side, at least he keeps his stats and attributes! So - multiplayer was a huge disappointment for me. I can't help but feel robbed of what could have been endless fun.
Anyway, the game itself is a little dated, of course. the graphics are still respectable, but that isn't the main point of the game. its the large amount of items you can get hold of or use. For example, if your're character has the right skill, they can take seemingly useless parts such as a pipe and spring and make a gun out of them! Players can collect herbs and flowers and make potions to heal themselves and other things too.
There is magic, as well. Though magic and technology doesn't get on. Which is fair enough - but the annoying thing is that a magic character can't heal a technoligical charcter, and vice versa. Because magic makes technology mess up or something stupid.
This game would have gotten 5 stars if only you could play the single player map in multiplayer! Despite its age, it is still a gripping game that will keep you occupied for along time.
I hope that anyone intending to play this multiplayer knows what will be available! Singleplayer by itself is fine - i have no problems with it! Makes me wonder if they've made, or will make, an Arcanum two or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arcanum, an interesting mix:, 20 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
This game is attempting to combine the oh too well known fantasy world of elves, orcs and ogres, with the technological revolutions of the 18th century. It does pull it off quite well, with a kind of sliding scale between technological ability and magical ability. The combat is suited to most people, since you can either play realtime, or go into turnbased mode. Although the real-time option does make it quite hard, it does add something for the more hardcore gamers amongst you.
The plot is fairly good, but essentially, the thing that will make you play this game is the fact that it allows you reasonable freedom in how you develop your character. You can specialise, but you dont have to. There are several different areas of expertise in tech and magic sides, but who needs to know how to make a gun from a matchbox if you can cut a heavily armoured knight in two with your large axe.
Although there may not be all that much replayability once you have completed the game, there are many sidequests and options open to those who specialise in different areas, so you can probably play through 3 or 4 times without getting particularly bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Vs Technology in an epic clash., 8 April 2004
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
Classic R.p.g's are normally comprised of a stereotypical set-up. You play the main character and have to kill the big bad-guy who will end the world, you can be good or evil in your methods of getting there. When you get there, after many an interesting plot twist you use your cunning, skill, weapons and magic to defeat him. All these "Classics" are set in an era we can never truly grasp, they're set in a twisted dark age.
This ends with the marvel that is Arcanum. Think industrial age plus classic Rpg.
With Arcanum you are guaranteed a compelling plot, no longer is there a single bad guy who commands millions of minions, now there is a conspiracy, a conspiracy out to get you.
At the begining of the game you have bearly survived a blimpcrash, a mage walks towards you and proclaims that he believes you are "The chosen," this game is technology and magic crafted together beautifully. Depending on how you choose to level up your character you may find yourself building robotic defence mechanisims and using flamethrowers to defeat your enemies, or you may find yourself clad in magical armour, a sword and a bow within your grasps, readiying yourself to wield devastating magic.
This game is of truly epic proportions comparable in lifespan to games such as Morrowind and Baldur's gate 2. And because there's so many new options to this Rpg the possiblities are even more overwhelming.
I bought this game after reading a review about it in a magazine, after showing it to my friends they also bought copies, now we connect up over LAN and play on Mod's we built using the contained, easy to use, mod-creator or downloaded.
Well worth 80 times the amount it's for sale for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars arcanum, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Haraga Georgeta (romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
it's baldur's gate with a twist
i loved it
may present some problems on new machines , but there is a site updating it
immense replayability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full satisfaction, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Esben Gade Andersen (Skive, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
This game is a must for anyone interested in a role-playing experience. As the character, you can choose the fate of the world you're playing in, and your actions through the game affects how the word view you and what happens after your character is gone.
Playing in a fantasy world that has just experienced an industrial revolution, Arcanum is on the edge of several crisis. Your character has to choose carefully between a lot of people and different courses of action. As the main character, you can choose a lot of different specializations, ranging from the diplomat, to the gunslinger to the swordsman.
I can fully recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what are the other reviewers thinking!!!, 23 Aug 2005
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
The other reviewers must be crazy, this is an amazing game with amazing game play and plenty of plotline, admittedly the graphics arent perfect but they are easily good enough for this game. There are plenty of choices in the game and many different paths to take. This game you could play for 20 hours straight and not get bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best rpg ever, 2 Jan 2005
By 
josh shaw (blackpool, lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
Arcanum is the most amazing game i have ever played. The story is great and well thought out and there are hundreds of side-quests. Character selection and development is brilliant and offers lots if freedom. There are loads of different stats to choose from that will make your gameplay different: you can choose to be of magical alignment or you can be technological. You can choose to have followers help you or you can travel alone. It is far better and a lot more in depth than Diablo 1 or 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure on this one..., 4 Oct 2004
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
I always meant to buy this game when it first came out, and somehow I never did. So several years after it was released I get hold of it and install it (after having none of the problems reported by some of the other reviewers).
I liked the premise of a world where technology and magic coexist and I liked the character generation system. I'm sure that somewhere in here is a really good game struggling to get out - some of the role play elements do actually appear to be quite well thought out. However I found the game play to be quite poor, and the graphics don't stand up as well as some some other games of similar age.
I recently started playing thorugh my Balder's Gate games again, and these have stood up to the passage of time much better than this one has, and the role/game play elements are simply much better!
I'm giving this 5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arcanum Is Exquisite, 20 Jan 2005
By 
W. M. Flay "W.M. Flay" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arcanum (Video Game)
Out of all the roll playing games I have played, Arcanum is the most original game of all. The music is evocative and complimentary. And it was the first time that the items and clothing were detailed and beautiful as though they had been copied from real museum pieces. Besides that, there is an excentric plot. I would say to anyone to try this jewel box of game.
One niggle, it cheesed me off that You have to keep your henchmen/women happy and I tried, but slowly and surely their liking would turn to indiference and then they would leave me. I had no idea what I had done wrong except I noticed your henchmen get fed up of battling with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arcanum
Arcanum by Empire (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews