Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are these really # 1 hits? Yes!
Some are claiming that this album contains songs that were not #1 hits. This claim is only half-true. A few have pointed out that Thriller and Human Nature did not reach #1 on the pop charts in the US or UK. This is true, but they did reach #1 on the R&B charts, which is just as legitmate as the pop charts. A country star could put an album out of #1 songs on the...
Published on 21 Nov 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HIStory Repeats Itself
Michael Jackson's sanity is clearly a matter of debate, but only a fool would deny his talent and chart supremacy since leaving Motown. "Number Ones" is yet another collection featuring the usual lineup of his classic hits: "Billie Jean," "Don't Stop Til You Get Enough," "Beat It," "Rock With You," and so on. The tracklisting is presented in chronological order, starting...
Published on 12 Jun 2004 by Burjiz


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are these really # 1 hits? Yes!, 21 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Some are claiming that this album contains songs that were not #1 hits. This claim is only half-true. A few have pointed out that Thriller and Human Nature did not reach #1 on the pop charts in the US or UK. This is true, but they did reach #1 on the R&B charts, which is just as legitmate as the pop charts. A country star could put an album out of #1 songs on the country charts and no one would complain.
However, "Break of Dawn" does not seem to be a #1 single on any chart, and I don't believe it was actually released. So, it counts as a "new" song, I guess.
Either way, Michael Jackson has just as much justification as The Beatles for putting out an album titled "Number Ones." However, it is clearly a marketing choice and not a great title for the album. But is it definitely not a lie.
This is a great album, regardless of whether each song reached the top of the charts or not. Maybe the could have called it Five decades, because no other artist (not even the beatles) has had #1 hits in five decades (60s, 70s, 80s, 90s,00s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18 of MJ's most succesful Tracks!, 8 Aug 2004
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Don't say you have'nt got a copy of this yet? This CD is a must have for every music collection! Millions of us have already rushed out and got a copy so whats stopping you?...Oh, don't like Michael Jackson? Forget about his recent troubles and what you read in the press and give it a listen!
Theres tracks here that everyone will remember, starting with the the 1978 classics right up to present day with the new 'one more chance'. It's a CD that shows almost 26 years of work and is a great example of how music have changed over that time.
For those of us who already own many of Jacksons other albums such as Thriller, Bad, HIStory etc, then theres nothing much new to be found on this release, although it's ideal for a one stop listen to all the hits rather than trawlling through your CD's trying too find Billie Jean or Smooth Criminal for example!
Anyone familiar with Jacksons chart positions over the years, will notice that not all tracks featured have hit the No.1 spot, but still, who cares? it wouldn't be as good a listen if hits like Smooth Criminal, You rock my world etc had been left out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Dec 2003
By 
Crazy Yuri (Hull, E.Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Well there's been a lot in the press recently re: Jacko. All I can say is that although he may have done some strange things he is one of the greatest recording artists living. I bought this album with some aprehension. I needent have. From start to finish it is a masterpiece. I've discovered some great tracks such as 'Dirty Diana' and the ballad like 'I just can't stop loving you'. I would certainly recommend this album to anyone. It's not often I buy a c.d. and like every track on it. This fits in that category without even trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling!, 27 Oct 2003
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
Michael Jackson the man or the music?! Well lately it seems that the man has overshadowed what made him famous, no not famous but mega-famous. Well now here's your chance to hear why he became the biggest musical act save the Beatles and Elvis. Here we have some of the biggest and best of his 30 year career: 'Billie Jean', 'Smooth Criminal', Earth Song', 'Dirty Diana' etc.. aswell as a new single 'One More Chance' and a track taken from 'Invincible' - 'Break of Dawn'. What strikes a fan such as me is why Sony decided to release a greatest hits package a few years after 'History Book 1' and 'History GHV1', especially as it fails to include some of his best and less known classic hits such as: 'Give In To Me', 'Will You Be There', 'In The Closet', 'Leave Me Alone', but there are always his studio albums to buy and treasure for a lifetime. We know the reason why Sony has released this: it's the last album Michael needs to give to Sony before he can be released from his contract. Let's hope that with his new record deal he continues to make music as good as this because any record collection needs at least one Michael Jackson long player in it. If you're a casual fan or can appreciate the man for his music then you can do no wrong buying this. If it impresses you, go further and check out the classic albums. The best stocking filler you'll find this Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where would we be without him eh?, 9 Dec 2003
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
No really. Where would we be? There would be no pop, (new) R&B, Black people on MTV, modern music videos, Usher, Justin Timberlake etc. (I could go on) without this guy's musical influence and trendsetting. He is the most sucessful artist after the Beatles and Elvis, The most awarded entertainer ever, the most cuturally significant artist/dancer ever (others came before, but no one broke the barrriers like him). This album is a must IF you dont have HIStory. However, all the tracks are radio edits. While some of his songs benefit from this (Black or White, YOu Rock My World, I just cant stop loving you) some definately dont (Dont Stop..). Another minor quip I have with the album, as some people have already mentioned as it contains filler such as Blood on the dance floor, Earth Song, I just cant stop loving you and doesnt contain the great songs off Dangerous, such as: Who is it, Give in to me, Remember the time. So why have I given it 4 stars? Listen to it and you will see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jackos best, 1 Dec 2003
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
after listening to the songs again after not hearing them for years they truly are a work of art as every song has so much going on in terms of style and instruments used and is a delight in an age of manufactured and dreary bands coming through eg pop idol/fame academy,it felt like new material from one of the worlds greatest song writers/singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Of Pop is back!!, 8 May 2004
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
I'm sitting here, listening to Rock With You by Michael Jackson - on Number Ones. To say this in basic words, Michael Jackson's Number Ones CD is like a blessing onto us. It contains ALL the best songs by him.
Below are reccomended songs [picked by me] and why they're so good.
Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough - My motto with this song, is Don't Stop playing it! This song is so totally disco, and is guaranteed to get everyone up and dancing!
Rock With You - This is one of my personal favourites. At the beginning is a drum intro lasting about 2-3 seconds, and it's kind of a soft, gentle song. For some reason this song makes me love Michael Jackson more than I already do.
Billie Jean - Come on, a total disco classic! This song did so well Michael probably earned millions alone from it. Whoa! Amazing beat and if you're a DJ, this song'll be perfect for disco's and parties.
Beat It - This song is quite good, but be careful not to listen to it too often or you'll get sick of it.
Thriller - This song was at the top of the charts for a long time! Thriller is just a classic. There's no way of describing this song without using the word " AMAZING " !!
Human Nature - This song isn't very famous but I like it. My music system's plays Thriller, then goes straight onto Human Nature. I think the 2 songs are a good balance.
Bad - I like this song, it's alright. But I might be getting a bit sick of it...
Dirty Diana - This song is also good and I love it - the crowd cheering in it makes it more realistic.
Smooth Criminal - Once again - pure classic!! I love this song to bits, and it has to be one of my favourites!!
Other songs on the album are good, but if you're an MJ fan, you'd be ordering this album right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album Including Not Only Number Ones!, 3 Mar 2004
By 
Luciano (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
This new Greatest Hits Compilation by Michael Jackson includes my favourite hits from the King Of Pop, and not all of them are Number Ones, as the album includes 16 greatest hits (+ 2 new tracks) and he scored 7 UK Chart-toppers. And still the album misses his first ever UK Number One "One Day In Your Life".
Track listings:
1. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough (No.3)
2. Rock With You (No.7)
3. Billie Jean*
4. Beat It (No.3)
5. Thriller (No.10)
6. Human Nature (not released as a single in the UK)
7. I Just Can't Stop Loving You*
8. Bad (No.3)
9. The Way You Make Me Feel (No.3)
10. Dirty Diana (No.4)
11. Smooth Criminal (No.8)
12. Black Or White*
13. You Are Not Alone*
14. Earth Song*
15. Blood On The Dance Floor*
16. You Rock My World (No.2)
17. Break Of Dawn (previously unreleased)
18. One More Chance (No.5/released in late 2003 to promote the album)
*UK No.1 hit-singles.
I love every song on the album. It's a very good album with my favourite Michael's tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "ONE" word Amazing., 17 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
What more do u want from an artist. yeah he's had his up and downs in his career but this just proves that he will always be the king of pop. all the classics plus a new song "one more chance" - i did think that "what more can i give" would be on. but anyway amazing.
your the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heeee Heeee Owwww, 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Number Ones (Audio CD)
To end the contract with Sony MJ is back with an album as the title suggests of Number Ones, Ive read in some reviews people saying that some lesser known tracks are missing well of course they are this is an album with NUMBER ONES not greatest hits the exception of course is Break Of Dawn and One More Chance (the new single produced and written by R Kelly) and U Rock My World which wasnt a Number One in the U.K but was in the U.S so i guess thats how its on here.
All in all not much to say all the songs are great charting his career from the start until today and all the songs were deserved number ones if you have Greatest Hits albums this is still worth buying and what a perfect CD for an Xmas present forget about all the press surounds MJ this is for his music BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Number Ones
Number Ones by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews