Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic, But Some Anorak Facts!
I was at the concert at Wenbley in '87, Knebworth in '92 and Twickenham in '07. I have to say the DVD captures the concert perfectly. Couple of points,
1. It wasn't a Prince's Trust Concert.
2. A lot of comments here about changing the tape to capture the whole concert. The concert was a very early high-definition recording, if you happen to own the original...
Published on 9 Aug 2007 by Keith Nicholas

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cake Without The Icing!!
What are they playing at? OK, so I have been a Genesis fan since the 70's and I am naturally biased towards the Gabriel/early Collins eras but I was hugely impressed with the Invisible Touch concerts, particularly the way in which they successfully combined the hits with the weightier, more dramatic material. I eagerly anticipated the release of this DVD, only to...
Published on 27 Jan 2006 by Julian Heath


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cake Without The Icing!!, 27 Jan 2006
By 
Julian Heath (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
What are they playing at? OK, so I have been a Genesis fan since the 70's and I am naturally biased towards the Gabriel/early Collins eras but I was hugely impressed with the Invisible Touch concerts, particularly the way in which they successfully combined the hits with the weightier, more dramatic material. I eagerly anticipated the release of this DVD, only to find that it shows a concert stripped of the In the Cage/Afterglow centrepiece.

The reason? They had to change the tape. Pathetic. If they wanted to include "Cage" they would have done. They had four nights to draw from so didn't anyone think about changing the running order (or the stage at which the tapes were changed) on one or more of those nights so they could have an interrupted recording of what for me (and many Genesis fans) was far and away the highlight of the set?
This is not just one song missing but a sizeable chunk of the concert, its heart and soul, no less. I don't accept the argument that as In The Cage is available on the Three Sides Live/Mama Tour videos it is not vital to include it here. The fact is that it was an integral part of the show and in any case if we applied the same logic we would omit Mama, Abacab, That's All, Home By the Sea and Turn It On Again, which are all available on one or other of those videos.
To me the whole things smacks of men in suits making decisions about what we, the punters, really want (apparently it's just the later stuff). In doing so, they have removed one of the important elements (adventure and drama) that made Genesis such a great live band and left us with a mere parade of hits culled almost entirely from two albums: Genesis and Invisible Touch, two AOR-orientated works which, compared with, say, Duke or Lamb Lies Down, are fairly bland affairs.
Having said all of that, even without the stronger material at their disposal, Genesis as a live act could still knock most other bands into a cocked hat and there is still plenty to marvel at here. The musicianship is, as ever, faultless (although Tony Banks' keyboards are mixed too low and sound like they were being played somewhere down the road) and Phil Collins demonstrates his complete mastery of the audience. This makes it all the more frustrating to know that this DVD should be so much better than it is.
One day, justice will be done to Genesis as a live band. Perhaps we shall even see the release of DVD's of the Seconds Out and Duke tours. Now that would be worth shelling out your hard-earned cash for. In the meantime, for those who want to see what live Genesis was all about, The Way We Walk DVD would be the better bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suppers gone cold......, 28 Nov 2003
By 
Ross P. Hyland "ross_hyland" (Stanwell Tops, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The documentary speaks of and shows excerpts from "In the Cage" and the closing section of "Suppers Ready". Phil Collins talks about playing this "really really old" material together with the 'new' Invisible Touch material.
I remember seeing this show when Genesis toured Australia and this medley was just great. In fact it was the very best part of a concert setlist that otherwise concentrated a little too heavily on the latest tunes.
The "old stuff medley" in it's various incarnations has over the years , been a regular and much loved part of a Genesis concert. The version that was a part of the Invisible Touch Tour (ending with the closing section of Suppers Ready .... rather than Afterglow) was possibly their best effort to date.
Why then , was it left off this new Live at Wembly Stadium DVD ?
Lazy , silly record company decision?
As a fan, I was always going to buy this DVD,and it is good , however it's frustrating to know that it could have been great with the missing material restored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Fantastic, But Some Anorak Facts!, 9 Aug 2007
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was at the concert at Wenbley in '87, Knebworth in '92 and Twickenham in '07. I have to say the DVD captures the concert perfectly. Couple of points,
1. It wasn't a Prince's Trust Concert.
2. A lot of comments here about changing the tape to capture the whole concert. The concert was a very early high-definition recording, if you happen to own the original 1987 VHS tape there is mention of this on the back cover and it wasn't just a case of changing one tape, it took 3 professional analogue tape recorders, each the size of a domestic washing machine using open reel tape to record the signal, the tapes ran a maximum of 90 minutes and changing them was not a 10 second job. Hard to imagine the complexity 20 years ago when your sky+HD box will record many hours on a much smaller hard drive.
OK I admit that someone should have planned this a little better over the 3 nights that Genesis played at Wembley.
I love the DVD, admittedly it's incomplete, but it's still a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spectactular, 25 April 2008
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I borrowed this from my friend who'd bought it as a reminder of our attendance at one of these Wembley concerts. I already had a recording of the BBC broadcast of the final night from this engagement (and indeed, of the whole tour) and it's one of my favourite live shows, so it was great to see the pictures as well. It's a fantastic concert film: detailed, atmospheric and exciting.

The quality of the visuals is stunning, ranging from sweeping shots of the enormous crowd under a perfect summer evening sky (against which the silhouettes of the twin towers are particularly elegaic) to views of the stage and the mind-bending (for its time) light show. The closeups of the musicians look good too (something you couldn't - of course - appreciate when you were there, notwithstanding one of the earliest uses of giant video screens).

As others have commented, it's something of a pity that the one piece of the setlist that had to be cut out of the video was the old medley, since this was much better than the weaker material off Invisible Touch, but that's a small criticism to make of this fine memory of a spectacular evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peaking it Live!, 6 Jun 2004
By 
Merv (Jersey, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Ah yes! I remember it fondly - the 80's!.
Big hair, bright clothes and big albums, ( and I mean BIG)!!, and perfectly sat amongst all that decandent chaos is probably, one of the biggest albums to emerge in the 1986 - Genesis - Invisible Touch and also the accompanying tour.
Invisible Touch Tour spanned the globe and played to sell-out audiences for the best part of a year and a half, this was a typical Genesis concert- perfectly practiced, with big lights and even bigger sounds.
You've got the classics, (Los Endos/Turn It On Again), and also the new stuff, including Invisible Touch, The beautifully understated Throwing it all away, and the superb Domino- this is, of course, a mere sample of what's to offer on this DVD.
All in all, a most comprehesive collection of their hits, and superb sound/picture quality, (Dolby 5.1 Surround), for all you techie types.
Well worth it!
Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "We're gonna play some new songs..., 23 Jan 2011
By 
S. C. Trump "stevect" (Upminster, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
....and we're gonna play song old songs". So says Phil Collins near the start of this (Old) Wembley Stadium concert played in front of 288,000 people over four hot July nights in 1987 (I was there on the Friday). In fact, due to reasons discussed at length elsewhere we only actually get one old song on this DVD and that is 'Los Endos' near the end (not counting the medley of cover version hits played as part of the 'Turn it on again' encore). It's like playing your favourite album and missing out the best track. The 'In the Cage'/'...in that quiet Earth'/'Afterglow' medley was placed after 'Brazilian' in the running order and fitted perfectly in the set and still sounds great on my recording from the Radio live broadcast. Nothing for me can eclipse the sheer live ecstasy of hearing the familiar opening notes of 'Afterglow'. Without it included, this superbly filmed, expertly played live show is just not the complete item. It is worth four stars easily though, and certainly the renditions of 'Abacab', 'Brazilian' and 'Home by the Sea' are fantastic. Also worth noting is that the 'Invisible Touch' tour was the only time the band played this track faithfully live without the childish, unnecessary alteration to the lyrics. One thing Genesis never had to worry about was the shock factor; the sheer brilliance of the music spoke for itself. Buy this for Genesis at their commercial peak and for nostalgic memories of an iconic stadium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Medley, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Ross P. Hyland "ross_hyland" (Stanwell Tops, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This was a great show in it's day , the highlight of which was the excellent medley of "old stuff" .... which sadly , has been left off this otherwise worthy DVD offering.
(Almost anything from the Invisible Touch album should have been discarded instead)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good buy but not brill, 19 Nov 2003
By 
K BURTON (KENT, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you are a genesis fan you will buy this anyway, but not much features new on it.
No multiangle cams on it.
The tour doc is the same one as on the visible touch video released back in 1987.
BUT...............?
The 5.1 sound is amazing.
And I think they may have used different camera shots from the orginal video LIVE 1987.
A Fan........Buy it.
You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying but..., 12 Mar 2004
By 
Chris "chrismk" (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Fortunately I was aware that the medley was missing before I bought the dvd otherwise I would have been equally as upset! Sound and visuals are excellent. Regarding the reason quoted for the loss of the medley; ie tapes needed changing. I'm pretty certain the medley didn't occur half way through the show (particularly taking the encore into account) but more importantly couldn't someone for one of the nights have started the tape later so as to include it!! Nevertheless, still worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Surround Sound and a good concert, 21 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is based on the concert at Wembley Stadium in 1987.
The musical content of the concert is biased towards the bands output of this era (invisible touch, throwing it all away, tonight tonight tonight etc.) although there are some memorable performances of 'home by the sea' and 'los endos'.
The light show of this concert was obviously amazing and comes across well on the DVD, though my only criticism would be the 'over editing' of the picture- it would have been great to hold the shots a bit longer for some of the time.
The big (and i mean big) plus for me about this DVD is the amazing 5.1 surround sound (DTS). This is the best sound i have ever heard on a music DVD.
There are also a few extra's of pictures and a mini documentary which are ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003]
Live At Wembley Stadium [DVD] [2003] by James Yukich (DVD - 2003)
7.64
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews