Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fast paced action/comedy flick
This movie was interesting enough but it tried a little too hard with its twist infested plot to rate 5 stars. The viewer was not to trust anyone as the movie invited us to figure out who would end up the winner in this little one man up contest. In quick summary it's a movie about a man who wants to leave the seedy life and start anew with his girlfriend who has a dark...
Published on 21 Jun 2005 by Margaux Paschke

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over plotted, over convoluted gangster spoof
Husband and wife con tricksters Leo (John Hannah) and Lily (Framke Janssen) decide to trick Leo's friend Bruno (Brian Connolly) out of £20 million pounds.

The complexity of the plot is amazing, I believe it can be all explained once you know the ending, and it is only the complexity that keeps one watching, for most of the film one can believe almost...
Published on 1 May 2007 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a fast paced action/comedy flick, 21 Jun 2005
By 
This review is from: Circus [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was interesting enough but it tried a little too hard with its twist infested plot to rate 5 stars. The viewer was not to trust anyone as the movie invited us to figure out who would end up the winner in this little one man up contest. In quick summary it's a movie about a man who wants to leave the seedy life and start anew with his girlfriend who has a dark past of her own. But, before they can leave, his old friend (a head honcho of thug world) asks a favor that cannot be turned down. Of course this last job does not go smoothly. There are all kinds of cons involved and twist and turns ensue. All of the sub-plots were interesting, the numerous machinations were fascinating (even if a little over the top) and the characterizations were absolutely brillant (Eddie Izzard as a thug was masterful, his loopy brother a kick in the head, and the enforcer was hugely entertaining not to mention every other character). Despite some minor flaws, it was well worth seeing and made me laugh along the way and isn't that the point of a movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly Good, 30 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Circus [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Well I went to the cinema not expecting much, having read awful reviews about it, but then what do critics know! It was just a very entertaining, 'different' film. It's just sheer good fun, and a clever story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why, but I love it..., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circus [DVD] (DVD)
Bruno, a sadistic criminal, wants con man Leo out of the way., Because he and his wife Lily, are up to something.

So too is Julius: he hires Leo to kill Gloria, Julius's wife. Leo does it, but then Julius shows up with the murder on tape, saying Gloria isn't his wife - it's blackmail.

Leo's bookie, Troy, is also closing in, wanting to be paid. Bruno and Lily, as well as Bruno and Julius have their own scams running, and Leo is their target.

If Leo can get Troy off his back, send Gloria's corpse out of England, turn the tables on Bruno's murderous brother Caspar, and outfox Lily, all will be well in Brighton.....

First off, I have a big big love for this film, I've been to Brighton 20 plus times, and everything I see this film, or go there, I get all nostalgic for either one.

It was also released in a time when life, music, weather, and so on was good (life still is by the way), so I really love this film for many reasons, narrative isn't one though.

Yes, it's bonkers, and there are times when you wonder what on earth is going on, but its so much fun, you really couldn't care less.

It's a shame it was released during a time when this Brit thrillers were released once a month, and it doesn't help that it has 'a stylish Brit thriller' plastered over the case, but take a chance.

Hannah is fine as Leo, you get the feeling he loves walking round the Lanes in white. Janssen is pretty underused, as is Lister, but they bind the story to give it a little more flow.

The best things here are Izzard, who is hilarious, and Brian Conley, playing way against type as a sweary villain, believe me, if your from the UK, and were of an age where you could remember Saturday night TV from the eighties, you'll know what I mean.

Again, its an amazing blast, released purely at the wrong time, but one of the best Brit Gangster movies released during this era.

See it.

It's also the best film featuring a light entertainment superstar biting off the ear of an I'm a Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here! winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over plotted, over convoluted gangster spoof, 1 May 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Circus [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Husband and wife con tricksters Leo (John Hannah) and Lily (Framke Janssen) decide to trick Leo's friend Bruno (Brian Connolly) out of £20 million pounds.

The complexity of the plot is amazing, I believe it can be all explained once you know the ending, and it is only the complexity that keeps one watching, for most of the film one can believe almost anything.

An unusual gangster spoof that I rather enjoyed, a "rollicking gangster romp" in the words of one cast member.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Circus-certainly a juggling act, 11 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Circus [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
This is a comical gangster movie set in london that pivets on Leo Garfield (John Hannah) and his wife Lily (Famke Janssen). Throughly entertaining it incorporates an impossible plot involving possibly too many characters which creates an unbelievable scenario. It has humour incorporated all the way through which is to be expected with bad guys being acted by Brian Conley and Eddie Izzard. The muddling plot is only saved by the humour involved and a want to know what is going on.It seems like a pantomime where a bunch of boys play gangster. John Hannah is an unconvincing criminal and you can only laugh when Eddie Izzard pulls him across the beach by his neck. This is a very funny film that lacks in plot, it is not recommended for those of you who enjoy serious gangster films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious (as Eddie Izzard would say), 10 Jan 2002
By 
suzypink (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Circus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Circus - what a wonderfully produced British film.
I found it absolutely enjoyable to watch. Eddie Izzard I must admit was the star of the film for me being his top fan but all credit must go to John Hannah and Brian Connolly (who plays the No.1 hard man but nevertheless makes you laugh no end. This film has it all, comedy, style and added touches of violence plus a wonderful twister of an ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Circus [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
One of the best Uk films funny, confusing and a great ride all the way through. Brilliant! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another British candidate for worst film ever., 30 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Circus [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Appalling, in a word. If a TV scriptwriter was to submit this he'd be rightfully kicked out on his arse. And yet it's been made into a film. Laughable plot, paper-thin characters and distinctly poor performances from Hanna and Donahoe. Eddie Izzard provides some momentary comedy, but he's swimming strongly against the tide. An episode of 'The Bill' is considerably better plotted, written, directed and acted than this. And, crowning irony, all that lovely National Lottery funding means that, even if you wisely keep a double barge-pole distance, you've already helped to pay for this mess....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Circus [DVD]
Circus [DVD] by Rob Walker (DVD - 2003)
£1.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews