Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game! 9/10
I'm really annoyed. I'm annoyed at the fact that Sunshine has had some terrible reviews, causing its average score to plummet to an average 4 stars! First of all, the people who have given this game a 1,2 or 3 star review are not providing a lot of detail and aren't really conveying their opinions to the best of their ability- this automatically should cause their reviews...
Published on 15 Sep 2006 by T. Kansara

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars no box
it comes in an envelope no box provided so makes it hard to store the game but plays perfectly :
Published 6 months ago by Ruth Davison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game! 9/10, 15 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
I'm really annoyed. I'm annoyed at the fact that Sunshine has had some terrible reviews, causing its average score to plummet to an average 4 stars! First of all, the people who have given this game a 1,2 or 3 star review are not providing a lot of detail and aren't really conveying their opinions to the best of their ability- this automatically should cause their reviews to be ignored, and maybe even deleted.

Sunshine's an excellent game, offering beautiful sceneries and worlds, filled with lots of colour and water! The graphics are amazing, especially as it was released very early in the gamecube's lifespan. The water may very well be the most realistic looking water ever in videogames, and i'm not using the word "ever" in vein at all. It's wonderful and amazingly fun to splash about in the deep oceons that Sunshine provides, and also rewarding as you can find hidden treasures and mini-games, resulting in Shine Sprites! By the way, Shine Sprites are the new Stars, and they look so cool, believe me!

The game mechanics are similar to 64, except that this time around you have a new compadre, Fludd! This doesn't ruin the game at all, but merely improves it. For example, if your simply running around with mario, you could spray a bit of water in front of him and slide down the path with sprays of water rushing from mario's sides. This is both, fun and visually stunning. Sunshine offers everything you could want from a platformer. Cool, unique bosses, big and bright levels and simple controls. This results in a game that is, without a doubt the best platformer of this generation. I've played lots of platformers, jak and daxter (all of them), ratchet and clank (all three) and even that platformer on the xbox based around a stupid racoon. Jak and Daxter and Ratchet and Clank are amazing games, flawless on the PS2, but compared to Sunshine they're nothing. I'm not a nintendo boy, but Sunshine is the best. I can understand people complaining about the fact that its worse than Mario 64, but be realistic, no game is going to have the same impact Mario 64 did, ever! Bottom line, this is the best this generation is going to offer when it comes to platformers. 9/10. It's not a 10 because the background characters are simply annoying, and because it's not mario 64;) Just give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
Great game can't fault it in any way one of the best mario games definitely and it still holds up today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game for people wanting a fun game, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
I often here people complaining the gamecube is for 'little kids', this is one of those titles which doesn't have big guns, mutated zombies and 'realistic' graphics. This is a game which has a quality often forgot in today's gaming world, it has fun gameplay, a quality to often forgotten. The graphics may not look like 'real' life, but I wouldn't want that, it has fun little characters great looking worlds and loads of great vibrant colours. A game which is rare nowadays, a game which hasn't been rushed and made to make money, it's a game where time has been spent to create a fantastically fun game and for me one of my all-time favourite games. They have used the classic formula like in Mario 64, and I hope they will continue and make more games like this.
This is a game which can only come from a company which takes time over its games like Nintendo. Something the x-box and ps2 will properly never have. This is a must for all gamecube owners, hours of fun at and nice and cheap. It doesn't get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
5 stars, because it's perfect for my kid! He loves it so much! You just made a kid very happy! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 May 2013
By 
J. Lincoln (North east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
Bought this for my 8 yr old and he loves it. Worth every penny and a great game for kids. Got it for the game cube - very retro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever made, 2 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
I bought this game for my son, who is game console mad. I havent seen him since he had received the game lol. I recommend this game to anybody.

Thanks one happy mum and son x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid game, 4 Jan 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
Mario has been around a while, and has starred in some ace games, such as the brilliant Mario 64. Mario 64 set the standard for all platformers to be at if they were truly great. Mario Sunshine is a great game but does not have the qualities to match the awesome Mario 64. This is probably the first mario game with a 'gimmick'. FLUDD is a back pack which mario wears and can spray water. This adds some new puzzle elements to the game, but also takes some away. For instance FLUDD can be used to clear away mud, whereas in Mario 64 this was imposible. However, now Mario can use FLUDD to cross big gaps, whereas in Mario 64, Mario would have to find a switch to make platforms appear. It swings in roundabouts. But what I first noticed about the game was the graphics. These are the most beautiful graphics on the GC. Overall i like this game. It is not more of the same. Which is is good and bad points. I still recommend it highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality Nintendo title, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
Being a fan of Super Mario 64 I was wondering what I would replace the hours spent on it after finishing the game. Then I found the answer. I started playing this at a friend's house and was instantly hooked. For anyone familiar with Super Mario 64 there will be a fair few noticable similarities. Red coins, collecting 100 yellow coins, fighting bosses. You will love this. It has better graphics, more variety in missions, a slightly different story to all the traditional Mario games but still all those attributes that made Mario 64 so great.
This is a very fun game. I've played non stop for the past two days and am yet to finish, but I hope it takes a while for me to do so. It is suitable for everyone. A friend's 11 year old brother is as fond of this game as I am(18 year old). Definitely a game with very broad appeal. I am a huge fan of Nintendo games and this is one that just makes me love them even more.
Definitely my favourite Gamecube game.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a great leap, but still a very good game!, 14 Jan 2006
By 
Steven Carne "blondesim" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
I wasn't initially really impressed with Mario Sunshine, it didn't seem a huge change or improvement from Mario 64 gameplay wise.
The initial impressions soon go away as you play though- there are all kinds of abilities for Mario now, he is very mobile with the FLUDD thing (I'm sure you know what this is by now- there are plenty of reviews for this!), you can use it to attack or interact with scenery, or hover over gaps, as well as having his usual jumps and pound.
Each level has a set of shine sprites to find, upon finding one you are thrown out of the level and can either try to unlock a new level or go back and try another shine objective.
This is where one problem crops up- if there is an objective that you don't like then you'll be disappointed as you have a set of objectives that appear on each level such as finding 8 red coins, or a race. Each level has it's own specific challenges too, as well as bosses.
There are levels where you lose your FLUDD too- these are very hard levels where you have to navigate a 3D linear obstacle course using all your different kinds of jumps to survive and get to the end! These are a nice change of pace and a welcome addition to the game.
It's nice to see that despite the water theme to most of the levels that they are all sufficiantly different- one of my favourites has you starting out with no FLUDD and lava all around, you have to navigate a large area using tricks and techniques to get through it and recover your FLUDD- you can splash water from the river to make a standing space etc if you want which adds to the sense of it not being a pre determined route to follow.
After finding all the level shines there are also 30 blue coins to hunt down in each level- this will keep you occupied for a long time, I never managed it anyway!
My final criticism is that there is no real level that is fun to just go back on for a mini game- Mario 64 had slides on a few levels, but the equivalents in this I don't think are as fun.
The game is highly recommended though, it's got a perfect difficulty and is playable by anyone. The little problems are things that you don't care about when you are playing- it's full of secrets and features that are always nice to see, the loading times are non existent thanks to the clever animation as you enter a level.
It isn't as revolutionary as Mario 64, but if you enjoy that then this is a worthy follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mario Is Back!, 21 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube) (Video Game)
Despite appearances, Super Mario Sunshine is not just for kids. The game provides fun and challenges for all age groups, although if you crave for killing this is not for you.
The worlds are large, detailed and brightly coloured. The world boundaries aren't too stupid and the scenery is relatively interactive. The water plays an integral part in the game so Nintendo have put extra effort into the water effects, which rival those in Wave Race Blue Storm.
The gameplay is interesting and varied with different tactics needed for different situations and different enemies. The FLUDD system (the water gadget Mario carries on his back) works well and is definitely more than just a gimmick. Plus, later on in the game Yoshi becomes avaliable to you which adds a fun and fresh spin to things!
There are plenty of friendly faces old and new such as Toad, Toadsworth, Princess Peach, Yoshi, Pianta, Noki and Baby Bowser which are involved in the interesting and humorous story-line.
All in all, Super Mario Sunshine is a must-have for Mario fans and people who like a fun, laid-back but challenging games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafd9b84c)

This product

Super Mario Sunshine (Player's Choice GameCube)
Used & New from: 13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews