Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock'n'Roll Animal Part II
This live album contains only 6 tracks, but then the original release of Rock'n'Roll Animal contained only 5. Both these albums come from the same concert. On this album he focuses on tracks from Transformer and Berlin and perhaps surprisingly the tracks from Berlin win out over the more commercial singles of Transformer. What you get here are lengthy extended...
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by John Rafferty

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A SONG TO DIE FOR
I'll keep it short.

While exciting moments crop up intermittently on this platter, the quasi-glam approach at times feels dated and songs like "Oh Jim" come close to plodding (apologies to guitarists extraordinaire Hunter and Wagner).

Having said that, to my ears "Lou Reed Live" has the ultimate, definitive, most compelling version of WALK ON THE...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by Carlo Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock'n'Roll Animal Part II, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Live (Audio CD)
This live album contains only 6 tracks, but then the original release of Rock'n'Roll Animal contained only 5. Both these albums come from the same concert. On this album he focuses on tracks from Transformer and Berlin and perhaps surprisingly the tracks from Berlin win out over the more commercial singles of Transformer. What you get here are lengthy extended rearrangements played live in concert. For me the versions of "Satellite of Love" and "Walk on the Wild Side" don't really benefit from the extended treatment, especially given the studio versions are so well known, but the versions of "Oh, Jim" and "Sad Song" are quite simply things of religious beauty. This is partly due to Reed's superb slightly (intentionally?) slurred vocals, when his voice was still young enough to convey more complex intonation and melody than it does now. The chief reason for the quality is Steve Hunter's superb guitar playing which is so effectively showcased in Rock'n'Roll Animal. The bass playing is also flawless and integral to the music. On Sad Song we see a band at one: Reed spitting out only a dozen lines of verse; Hunter's soaring lead guitar; a relentless rhythm section holding it all together as it escalates into a momentous climax. Lengthy guitar solos can be boring but only when they are directionless and uninspired. I know every note of the last 18 minutes of this record and they are among the best musical moments that the history of rock has to offer. You can hear the crowd at the end simply stunned by the quality of what they have just heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed Live Extended Versions, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
This is a great companion disc to 'Rock and Roll Animal'. Admittedly 'Oh Jim' does go on a bit but the CD is worth buying for its superb live feel. Lou is in great form, spitting out his lyrics with venom and the interplay between lead guitarists Dick Wagner and Steve Hunter is once again superb. I first bought this album on Vinyl when it first came out and the sound quality of the CD is excellent. Only gripe is that there are no sleeve notes, unlike the excellent ones that come with the CD of 'Rock and Roll Animal'. At the time of its original release it and 'Rock and Roll Animan' got a lot of flack from diehard Velvet fans, but Lou clearly wanted to move on and is still doing so as evidenced from his recent album with Metallica, 'Lulu'.
If you liked 'Rock and Roll Animal' try this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY, 20 July 2010
By 
michael raes (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
Been looking a long long time for this one. Yes, I wanted the original sleeve and yes if possible the JP-version, however the prices are a bit too high. So yes this one comes with different sleeve and no booklet, but the music is original to the LP and that's what I needed. I've always found this concert-extract better than Rock'nRoll Animal, though most of the fans prefer the R&R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lou Reed live, 20 Mar 2013
By 
rob (Dover Kent UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
if you know rock & roll animal this is the sister album it is just as good well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended Versions/ Lou Reed Live, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
A fine album my vinyl copy is 30+yrs old. Alas no record deck for some years now. Nice to hear an extended version of these same performances, it also complements my copy of Rock n Roll Animal too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A SONG TO DIE FOR, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Carlo Matthews "carlo" (Been Moving Around) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
I'll keep it short.

While exciting moments crop up intermittently on this platter, the quasi-glam approach at times feels dated and songs like "Oh Jim" come close to plodding (apologies to guitarists extraordinaire Hunter and Wagner).

Having said that, to my ears "Lou Reed Live" has the ultimate, definitive, most compelling version of WALK ON THE WILD SIDE ever recorded. Sultry, tantalizing, a tad frolicking, and in full control, this run-through is pure FOREPLAY in motion. The vocals, in particular, are an uncanny mixture of bravado and flirtatiousness.

Don't worry, the rest will seem passable next to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A man fo all seasons, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
If you think that you know Lou Reed from his early work with the Velvet Underground and his early solo work you really should give this a listen. I first bought this on vinyl in the mid seventies along with ‘Rock n Roll Animal’ and they ‘book end’ each other beautifully. Give it a go you really will not regret it, in fact you may well regret it if you don't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as I remember, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
This CD is part of the Rock and Roll Animal concert. I used to have it on tape as Lou Reed Live. Glad I got the CD, the sound is great and the songs and arrangements are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Little Brother of 'Rock and Roll Animal', 27 Jan 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
Even though I am a hard core Velvet Underground fan, I wasn't horrified by Reed's Heavy Metal retooling of Velvets classics on the album 'Rock and Roll Animal', which this album is an inferior relation of. Precious, I am not. Musically, of course, it's often exhilarating - the dual guitar line up and tight rhythm section are ruthlessly efficient, plus, you never buy a Lou Reed record expecting to hear great vocals. However, the song list here is taken largely from Reed's solo albums up until that time, which are okay - 'Vicious' is given a thorough work-out, and there's a rocking version of the Velvets' 'Waiting For The Man', but the ten minutes plus of 'Oh Jim' can be hard work when you ain't in the mood. If you can pick it up inexpensively enough, I'd recommend it to anyone who dug 'Rock and Roll Animal', but it is really one for the committed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOU REED LIVE HAS THE EDGE!, 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extended Versions (Audio CD)
I have liked Lou Reed since I purchased the single "Walk on the wild side" back in 1972.

When deciding what to play of Lou Reed's music I always come back to his live albums as my favorite listens, probably because the sound is more raw and edgy than his studio stuff. It's more believable.

This Live (Extended versions) is from the same run of concerts as "Rock n roll animal" which was recorded in December 1973 & Released in February 1974.

I have been playing that album for years and was particularly pleased when it was remastered and re-issued. It is a pity that this album has not had the same treatment, although after saying that it's not a terrible recording.

4 stars at present, with possibly 5 stars in the future, here's hoping for a re-mastered version.

Best Wishes PAUL.H.MANN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extended Versions
Extended Versions by Lou Reed (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews