Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 5 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Iam an enormous Chili Pepper fan; I love all the work they have ever produced; own all their albums and DVDs, and I would tell you with the upmost confidence - forget about Live in Hyde Park or the Greatest Hits album, Slane Castle is the ultimate celebration of the Chili Pepper's contemporary work.
Quite apart from the band's breathtaking performance, the quality of the filming and sound recording really sets this DVD above most other concert footage - it truly looks like properly directed and coordinated piece of film, while seeming to retaining the organic, super charged atmosphere of the day. All the shots of the band, and the pan-outs of the whole concert are expertly pieced together, and in some places, even livened with some Matrix-like special effects to make this concert as pleasing to the eye as to the ear. If you doubt that the visual quality really adds to enjoyment of the music, watch and have your breath taken away by Don't Forget Me and By the Way, or witness the almost touching chemistry between the band, particularly John and Flea as they jam and play out the hits.
Musically, the band are on fire. Anthony's singing is the best I have ever heard it, both John and Flea milk their instruments for the most inspired and flawless solos (see The Zephyr Song or Don't Forget Me)and Chad remains the funk master. John's backing vocals at this show take the songs to a whole other level- his studio harmonising pales next to his live singing. By the Way, Otherside, Venice Queen are all given new feeling and depth with Frusciante's amazing voice. I really hate to talk down other Chili Pepper work, but this performance makes Hyde Park seem slap dash and amateurish!
Here are a few comments on a random selection of the songs played:
Scar Tissue - more upbeat than the album version. Crisp and clean and broken up with 3 great solos. It's also seriously cool the way it flows on from By the Way via an outro jam.
Universally Speaking - stripped of it's superflous studio effects, it's leaner, meaner and punchier. Even although it's quite a simple song, John and Flea play brilliantly, and John's little guitar licks make you want to bounce thru the roof when the chorus hits.
Don't Forget Me - just amazing. It's so expertly done, both by the band and in terms of the filming, that it sends shivers up my spine. Anthony's vocals are top notch, and John rips the air apart with some devasting guitar playing. The extra solo that he adds onto the end of the song is haunting and very affecting - just watch Anthony's face as Frusciante tinkles it out across the sea of swaying lighters.
Otherside - maybe my favourite performance on the DVD. Like all of the tracks, it's given extra life by Flea and John's clever licks. Great harmonising, and another simple but affecting solo.
The above though are by no means the best tracks, just ones that I chose to say something about. Every song is brilliant, each with it's own distinguising feature - e.g. the class intro to Parallel Universe, the unbelievable harmonising in Venice Queen, the great solos in the Zephyr Song and Around the World. The list goes on. Well, if you havent guessed yet - this is the best DVD ever produced.
The only things I would say against it are that 1) set list is heavily based on Calaforniacation and By the Way - there's not a lot of older material and 2) after hearing it, when you go back and listen to the album versions of the songs, they seem so stale in comparison!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chili's at Their Greatest, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I watched this DVD i was stunned. I've seen other chili pepper gigs on telly but this was something unbelievable. The thing that made this so special is the jamming in between the songs. John Frusciante poured his heart and soul into this concert, Flea, as always, showed the world that he is the greatest bass player in the world, chad smith was superb and played some thundering drum beats and as for antony keidis, he rocked the whole of slane castle. I loved this DVD and made me truly, madly, deeply appreciate these guys who started back 20 years ago. My favourite song has to be 'around the world' as I loved the bass solo leading into it. If you are chili's fan and you haven't got it, buy it now because you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for anyone who was there or any fan, 28 Jun 2005
By 
Briain (Killiney, Co. Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having seen the Chilis 3 times over the last 3 years, I can say with ease Slane 2003 was the most memorable, electric and unforgettable of the three. Anyone who was there will know what I mean - the atmoshpere that day was unforgettable, the crowd were unbelievable and it certainly rubbed off on the performance of the band. I am glad to say this atmosphere was captured on the DVD, all the memories come flooding back whenever I watch it and as on the day the sheer scale of the crowd & the quality of the performance overawes me.
However I have to leave out one star because for some inexplicable reasons my favourite song of the night is omitted - 'Soul to Squeeze'. Its the only time I heard it live, and it was absolutely incredible (running out of superlatives here) to hear it live. I don't know why it was left out; maybe because John Frusciante broke a string during it? I don't know.
However this is only a tiny blot on an otherwise perfect landscape. If you want to in one sitting learn the value, ethos, power and sheer unforgetability of seeing RHCP live, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chili's raise the roof off Slane Castle and all of Ireland!!, 6 July 2004
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I bought this DVD I was very anxious to find out how good it was as I had never bought a music DVD prior to this. But after watching this I couldn't believe how amazing it actually. There is no doubt that I am jealous of anyone who went to this concert but my god do you feel like you are in Slane when watching this. As usual, the chilis did not disappoint. They started off with a jam that involved an astounding combination of Jon's guitar and Flea's bass and also some outrageous drumming by Mr Chad Smith. After this 90 second act of brilliance, Anthony kiedis cooly struts onto the stage like no one is out there. But then again, they have been around for the best part of two decades. The first song was 'By The Way' which was typically brilliant. During the next song, 'Scar Tissue', I could not believe what I was hearing from Jon's guitar, it was just unbelieveable and unreal. The next four songs, 'Around the world', 'Universally Speaking', ' Parallel Universe' and 'The Zephyr Song' were played how they should be played, if not better. The next song 'Throw away your television' stood out to me like a Bentley in a 3rd World country. I found this even more so amazing as I didn't particularly like the original song on the album. Following this, the chilis cover of The Ramones' Havana Affair was quite frankly exceptional. The next three songs that they played, 'otherside', 'purple stain' and 'don't forget me' were played with brilliance, especially chad's little solo at the end of purple stain. I am amazed how the song 'can't stop' didn't do well in the british charts as it is an outstanding song and this performance proved it. 'Venice Queen' and 'right on time' were brilliant but the chili's had deliberatly saved the best until last. 'give it away' (my personal favourite song) was world class, 'californication' was a worthy live version of the classic and 'under the bridge' truly deserved an oscar. But the chili's weren't finished, they had another remarkable remake of an average album and that was 'power of equality' off the album 'bloodsugarsexmagik'. I have to say that this was the best song of the night and it was all down to the duo of flea and jon. Overall this IS a must have for any chili's fan or for anyone fond of music. The thing that just finishes it is the matrix-style effects throughout the songs. I can't believe how they did this it was remarkable. One thing is for sure, every single person poured their life and soul into this gig and you just have to witness it to believe it. YOUR DVD PLAYER NEEDS THIS DVD, YOU NEED THIS DVD AND SO DOES EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THE WORLD IF THEY ARE TO KNOW THE TRUE MEANING OF LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, The Chilli At Their Greatest., 14 Dec 2003
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This has to be one of the greatest concerts that has ever gone on (in my mind anyway) its got all of your favourite chillis songs on it but with the bonus of them performing it live. They showed great energy in the show, even if they are getting on a little bit. For anybody watching this dvd it would be hard for them to doubt that the chillis are among the greatest rock bands that were ever produced. I recommend anybody who has bought the greatest hits and has it on non-stop, and then their dvd player would also get a decent work out! Great location where the concert was heald and the performance more than matched it! All-in all a fantastic buy the best dvd i have ever bought, no joking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Performance I Have Ever Seen, 2 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The atmosphere all night was amazing, they came on just as the sun was setting behind the castle, fading into the search light lit darkness with the colour interlaced big screen in the background. Flea in his Skeleton jumpsuit, John in is longsleeved t-shirt, Chad... well Chad was normal, and Anthony wearing nothing from the waist up for the most part. The crowd was amazing, an awesome setting, no ordinary middle of a field festival, set on a huge hillside. The music was amazing, by this point in the tour they have the live show down perfect, the vocals the notes. They REALLY kept us waiting, it took them 1h 15min to set up the stage and all the lights... maybe they were waiting for it to get dark. When they started into By the Way, i looked around and everyone i saw was singing back at them. That was how it was like the whole night, it wasn't just Anthony singing all night long, you could hear the crowd around you singing as well. His vocals were AMAZING, one of the best live vocals i have heard, if anything, better than the album simply cause it had that live emotional unpolished edge. Flea was jumping about, John was just the guitar god that he is, Chad was intense. The emotion of Otherside being sang by 80,000 was amazing but nothing can prepare you for the apsolute awe of Don't Forget Me, an emotional song in the dark of night lit up by 80,000 people on a hillside waving lighters and singing back. I just turned round and tapped my friend and went to her "look" and behind us as far us as you could see, a sea of flickering lights and arms swaying back and forward. All around at the end of every song people were just turning to their friends with their mouths hanging open going "oh my god, i can't believe i'm here this is just... wow..." lost for words.
Stand out songs were, By the way, simply cause they had kept us waiting for so long and everyone went nuts screaming the lyrics. Scar Tissue and Overside, the crowd sang every word, added so much to it, John Frusciante didn't just play the straight album versions, there was improv stuff with him and flea, flowing guitar solos. The entire crowd started jumping for Universally Speaking, not just the first 20 rows, the WHOLE crowd. Don't Forget Me was just one of those standing in awe feeling of a lifetime moments if you were there and a chilis fan. The Zephyr song, when they went into that flowing "Fly away on my zephyr" part of the song, with the whole crowd behind you swaying softly singing it, just a total goosebumps moment. Californication and under the bridge, the crowd went crazy, legendary chili songs. Then theres the guinness joke before Havana Affair, the Flea trumpet encore solo, the Chad crazy drum solo and Flea and John's little face to face jamming session. Then the moment where flea started the crowd off with the first line of the irish national anthem and the band just stood back while the whole crowd sang the rest of it at them right to the end.
It wasn't just the music, it was the insane atmosphere... like nothing i have ever experianced. I don't have a DVD player, but when i found out that they were releasing the concert on DVD i immediately went "i HAVE to get a DVD player." If this DVD was 200 i would buy it... if your a chili peppers fan you HAVE to see this concert, the most amazing experiance of my life, i get more chills from just thinking about it than i do when i'm parachuting. The foo fighters and queens of the stone age were on earlier in the day, bands who've won dozens of awards for their live acts, but when the chili peppers came on they were forgotten, the rhcp's were what everyone was talking about afterwards... for the next week all we ever did was talk about how amazing this song or that song was or the feeling when flea did his little trumpet bit or when you looked around to see the lighters during don't forget me and every time we did it was with this complete look of awe. Stunning, amazing band, amazing night and can't be anything other than an amazing DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories...., 6 Jan 2004
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
From the moment I heard this dvd was going to be released I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Slane 2003 was absolutely amazing and for anyone who was there it will just bring the memories flooding back. There are so many bits that just give you shivers when you look at the size of the crowd and remember being in it or see something that you remember from the gig (like Flea and Frusciante's improvisation before playing califotnication). The chili's played out of their skin's that day and this dvd gives them the justice they deserve.
If you were at the concert then this is a must have but even if you weren't there its still worth having as it makes very enjoyable watching. You'll just wish you were there!
The chili's played a good selection of tunes with a lot of songs from by the way and californication but also a couple of their older ones like give it away so if your a fan of the band you will definitly be interested.
The red hot chili peppers are one of the best live bands in the world. Watch this and you will know why!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 31 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was at this show and the one thing that got me was the energy the Red Hot Chili Peppers gave off. This DVD brilliantly captures the great performance and the great energy you would expect from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. If you were there or if you weren't, this is a must buy DVD for all fans of great music. This proves that the Chili Peppers are without doubt the best live band in the world. The DVD also contains half an hour of backstage footage which is always great. Although not as being there, this come mighty close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slane Castle, 7 Mar 2004
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a truly awseome DVD of the chilis. There are brilliant interludes between songs and there is great jamming between John, Flea, Anthony and Chad. If you love the chilis then you should buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 6 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was at the launch of this DVD and was so impressed! It was fantastic. Great sound! I am usually not impressed with live DVD's but I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003]
Red Hot Chili Pepper: Live at Slane Castle [DVD] [2003] by Red Hot Chili Peppers (DVD - 2003)
9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews