Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars52
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 31 October 2003
In "The Santa Clause 2," Tim Allen discovers after eight years of being Santa that there's another small detail in his contract: In order for him to continue being the Jolly Old Elf, he's got to take a wife.
But first he has to deal with his son, Charlie (Eric Lloyd), who's landed himself on the naughty list. Charlie's principal (Elizabeth Mitchell) wants him gone pronto and is a bit blue because the holidays don't mean as much to her as they once did.
With 28 days to go before the contract expires, Santa's got a lot of work to do. One of his trusty elves comes up with a machine that can duplicate Santa while he's out in the real world hunting for a wife.
Unfortunately, the duplicate takes the Santa Handbook too literally and endangers the very meaning of Christmas. It's up to Santa to rescue the holidays, if possible with a wife in tow.
Allen is remarkable playing Santa as funny, wise and sympathetic, all at the same time. Even a 4-year-old can spot very early on who will be wearing the title of Mrs. Claus, but the ride to matrimony is well worth the trip.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 7 May 2006
Wanna get into the Christmas Spirit? Then watch this on Christmas Eve cause I always do. If you want to get back to being the person you used to be before we all grew up then watch SC2 either the nite before Santa visited or just before you go down stairs to see if the Big Guy with the white beard has decided if you have been naughty or nice. Great cast - Tim Allen funny as usual. Elizabeth Mitchell proving what a great actress she can be with the right film (check out Frequency by the way). Rumour has it there will be a Santa Clause 3. Will I be there. you bet I will.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 26 November 2012
The Santa Clause 2 is a dependably entertaining slice of Christmas fare. Set eight years after the first film it shows Santa/Scott Calvin (Tim Allen) comfortable in his role and shaping up to be the most successful Santa ever. Unfortunately there are 2 flies in his ointment this year. One is that his son Charlie, now a rebellious teen, is on the naughty list. This is primarily because of Charlie's one man crusade against the icily Scrooge-like school principal Newman played by Elizabeth Mitchell. the other problem is that there was an even smaller clause on the business card that Calvin picked up in the first film. This states that Santa has to get married in order to maintain his Santa status. Failure to get married by Christmas will result in total 'desantafication'.

So Calvin returns to take up residence with his ex-wife and her husband for the holiday season (as you do) while he ponders the task of finding a wife. To ensure that the elves don't miss him he allows elf inventor Curtis (Spencer Breslin) to create a plastic clone of himself which is instructed to pretend to be Santa for the duration. Breslin seems to take the head elf role previously inhabited by Bernard (David Krumholz). This is a pity because Krumholz's irascible performance helped to make the first film. Here he is reduced to theatrical mugging whenever something goes wrong.

The film splits into two strands as Allen engages on a hunt for a wife in the USA before falling in love with ice queen Principal Newman while plastic Santa evolves into a despotic megalomaniac back at the North Pole. We get treated to the sight of Calvin slowly transforming back into an ordinary guy whilst plastic Santa has taken over the North Pole using cloned giant Nutcracker soldiers. Having reasoned that all kids are naughty he has turned the entire facility over to coal production which he intends to deliver on Christmas Eve.

The final segment of the film has Curtis escaping to bring Calvin back to the North Pole. A battle ensues involving snowballs, snowmobiles and an aerial struggle between the Santas before Calvin prevails and plastic Santa is deposed. Just time for a quick wedding to stave off the desantafication process and all's well with the world again.

The film has plenty to recommend it. All the original adult cast are present including Judge Reinhold and Wendy Crewson. Stand out scenes are the toe curlingly embarrassing blind date and the revitalisation of the teachers' turgid Christmas party. As a teenager,Eric Lloyd is less saccharine and annoying than he was as a child. Having a council of mythical beings is a nice idea, especially casting big, brick-faced Art LaFleur as the Tooth Fairy. Elizabeth Mitchell does a good job as the slow-to-melt Principal Newman.

On the downside, the annoying young Charlie has been replaced by an even more annoying baby reindeer called Chet and I've already mentioned the emasculation of David Krumholtz's character. The Nutcracker soldiers must be the most ineffective villains since the robots in The Black Hole, mainly acting like skittles to be knocked over by our heroes.

I did wonder whether 3 stars was a little harsh for this film. However, it doesn't have the magic of the first film and it does feel a bit like a made to order sequel. Having said that, it is a solid piece of entertainment, well made with an absorbing storyline. Tim Allen is always watchable and he is well supported by his fellow cast members. I watch this film every year and I always enjoy it. I guess that's the acid test and Santa Clause 2 passes with flying colours.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 September 2005
Having loved SC 1 I recently bought SC 2. It is different, the characters having grown up, etc. since the first film, but still the importance of being Santa Clause is confirmed and accepted by both children and adults alike. As usual though it is the adults who need more convincing. But once alongside their loyalty seems to be total. So there you are, out there, all you adults, this film gives you permission to accept your 'inner child'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I LOVE this film! Admittedly it's not as good as the first but it's still a real Christmas gem. It's set about 6 years after the first film and this time Scott Calvin, or Santa Claus as we now know him, has to find a Mrs Claus or he'll stop being Santa. In the first film we see him become Santa and now we see him start reverting back to his old self. It's a really heartwarming story and makes me cry every time. I must have watched it at least 10 times! Yes it's schulmtzy but it's also very funny. Santa leaves a substitute behind when he goes back to find a wife and the results are hilarious. Tim Allen plays 2 characters in this film and is brilliant in both to the point that I even forget that I'm watching Buzz Lightyear! ;-) If you like the first then I can't see you not liking this film too. As sequels go it's almost as good as the original.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 December 2012
Now a must watch christmas film in our household! A great sequal to the first film and would recommend to get you in the festive mood.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2004
Had its moments where it was very funny, but, Santa Clause 1 was far better!
I only got this as I had enjoyed the first so much, but this was kind of disappointing.
Disney has made this, with a not so great story line.
SC1 had wonderful one liners and a great philosophical bent on belief, which has suddenly vanished.
Tim Allen is good, and delivers his put downs with style, and Judge Reinhold is faultless as Allen's fall guy, but sorry guys that wasn't enough!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Tim Allen movies are always worth a laugh and this one is one of them I loved that they used the same cast from the first one.

I still believe the first one is the best but this one doest fall short. Its a great movie to watch in the seasonal holidays that all the family can watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
For everyone who has seen the first Santa Clause movie and likes this type of family entertaining. The children enjoyed it and I,as an adult, liked the message of not forgetting what being a child is about and not stopping being children inside ourselves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 11 December 2003
I don't know what a grown woman is doing watching Christmas films complete with elves, but I enjoyed the first film and wanted to see what they could do with a sequel. Father Christmas has to get married within the month and, in the meantime, his son is getting into trouble with the frosty and strict school principle. Before you can say "take off those glasses, let down your hair.." they are in love. The romance is too wooden and ludicrous to worry about but events at the North Pole are more interesting. Santa Claus' evil clone stages a military junta, complete with 10ft tall toy soldiers and forces the merrie elves to make coal for everyone's stocking on the basis that all children are naughty. The happy ending is never in doubt but there are some entertaining scenes along the way and it is ideal viewing for an over-fed and over-refreshed family on Christmas afternoon
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Santa Clause Movie Collection [DVD]
The Santa Clause Movie Collection [DVD] by Martin Short (DVD - 2007)

The Santa Clause [DVD] [1995]
The Santa Clause [DVD] [1995] by Tim Allen (DVD - 2002)

Santa Claus - The Movie [DVD]
Santa Claus - The Movie [DVD] by David Huddleston (DVD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.