Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would have been the best album of 2003...
For those of you that don't know the story, when Ryan Adams presented what was intended to be his third proper solo album (excluding last year's Demolition - a collection of demos rather than a coherent album), entitled Love Is Hell, it was turned down by his record company, on account of it being "too dark" and "not his best work"...
Well, we all know what record...
Published on 10 Dec 2003 by palettec

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars xmas Present
Unable to rate this item as it is a christmas present fore someone else and therefore they would have to rate it
Published 24 months ago by Glynne W. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would have been the best album of 2003..., 10 Dec 2003
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
For those of you that don't know the story, when Ryan Adams presented what was intended to be his third proper solo album (excluding last year's Demolition - a collection of demos rather than a coherent album), entitled Love Is Hell, it was turned down by his record company, on account of it being "too dark" and "not his best work"...
Well, we all know what record companies know about music, and this just goes to prove it... While Rock'n'Roll, the album released as Ryan's official solo album is an effective piece of fun, but little more, Love Is Hell, released as two EPs instead of a full length album, is spectacular - deep, dark, emotive, tuneful, intelligent, and altogether rather wonderful - everything you'd like from an album, and everything you might expect from a songwriter with Ryan's prodigious talents...
This, the second of those EPs, more than lives up to the promise of the first, and stands up to his earlier highly acclaimed albums, Heartbreaker and Gold... Particular stand outs are "I See Monsters", and "English Girls Approximately", in which Ryan sings "Said you didn't love me, you didn't want a thing, English girls can be so mean..."
As with the first EP, the international edition comes with two bonus tracks, making it almost the equivalent of a stand alone album in terms of length, and more than value for your money...
Together, Love Is Hell Parts 1 and 2 would be the best album of the year - undoubtedly blowing Rock'n'Roll out of the water, as well as all the other great albums released this year... As it is, Ryan's record company has made a massive misjudgement of the quality of this material - don't be guilty of the same thing - this is certainly some of the most compelling and beautiful music made this year... Well done to Ryan for making sure this got a release at all, albeit not the way he might have wanted...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Song for song one of his best, 10 Feb 2004
This review is from: Love Is Hell Part Two [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Three albums at once (classed EPs the Love is Hell's are far from it) is alot to take in. Rock & Roll is great but not the lyrical standard we've come to expect of adams. out of the two love is hell discs, this is better song for song for me. although my favourite songs are on pt1, pt2 is more consistent and has some real beauty, fragility and defiance in it. he may be petulant and not the best guy to talk to (according to various journos) his music is better than brilliant at times. buy this, its cheaper than albums yet is longer than most and is adams at his melancholic, honest best, if thats how you prefer him. which i do. it rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock'n'Roll seems like distant bad dream already..., 10 Jan 2004
By 
DP Stone (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
Forget all the record company wrangling for a minute, forget the unweildy beast that is "Rock'n'Roll", and concentrate on "Love is Hell Part 2" as a collection of songs in its own right. This is Ryan Adams back at his best, recapturing the Dylan-esque beauty of "Heartbreaker". I should get my one grievance out of the way first, and that is, the bonus track "F*** The Universe" - not a necessarily bad track, but out of place on this album compared to the nature of the rest of it.
The rest of the album though is sheer listening bliss, the ending of a love affair proving to be the greatest muse a songwriter can have! The thinly veiled letter to a former lover that is "English Girls Approximately" stands as the highlight, with a knowing wink to Dylan with its title, and an opening acoustic riff that wouldn't sound out of place on "Highway 61". Other delights are the opener "My Blue Manhattan" with its bar-room piano opening, and the fantastic lonesome blues of "Hotel Chelsea Nights".
Taken along side Part 1, "Love Is Hell Part 2" showcases some of Adams' finest writing to date, firmly establishing him as the foremost singer/songwriter of his generation. The boy from Jacksonville done good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record companies can be so mean, 11 Dec 2003
By 
Gavin Bell "Gavin Bell" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
"They say that love is hell, but I've been laughing ever since I fell".
So sings Adams on the track Gonna Make Me Love You from his outstanding 2001 record Gold. It's a sentiment likely to be echoed by those who listen to this new effort.
Love Is Hell pt 2 is the second of two EPs of material from Adams's third album proper, which was inexplicably rejected by Lost Highway as being 'not his best work'.
Sure, it's a good deal more downbeat than the FM rock party that is Rock and Roll, but songwriting this accomplished could never be described as uncommercial. It's more varied, too, with My Blue Manhattan evoking images of a late-night jazz bar, Please Do Not Let Me Go harking back to this alt. country roots, and standout tracks like Hotel Chelsea Nights and English Girls Approximately that would be at home on any of his albums.
Put together with the equally superb part 1, Love is Hell is probably the most accomplished work Adams has done to date (no small praise). Rock and Roll, the simultaneous label-approved release, is a hell of a lot of fun, but this is Ryan Adams at his best.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good end to the album, 9 Dec 2003
By 
E. Holt "bobmarshall" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
As a seperate EP, Love is Hell Part 2 works less well than its predesessor, however when seen in context of being a continuation from love is hell 1 after track 8 (Tracks 9 & 10 were not included in the album tracklisting) this really is ryan adams at his best. The two bonus tracks are what lets this cd down as a single release, leaving 7 tracks for your £9. However i believe tracks like ' I see Monsters and 'english girls approximately" are worth the money alone.
Buy this and Ep1, instead of Rock n roll and show the record company what kind of albums you think should be released, this is Ryan adams making music on his own merit, not trying to copy, echo & the bunnymen, the Smiths and Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not dark yet, but getting there ..., 11 Dec 2003
By 
Mark Bradley "Leadgate Len" (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
With the possible exception of one music magazine who now seem to have it in for our Ryan, most people welcomed Part 1 of Love is Hell as a return to the form that brought Adams to our attention through his 2000 'Heartbreaker' release. Signalled as a dark, brooding, murderous, miserable twin sister to 'Tonight's the Night', what we actually found was a varied, engaging piece of work, showcasing the bloke's uncanny ability to slip from genre to genre without showing the seams.
Part II is at first listen much more of a scary listen, with the guitars high in the mix and echo/reverb so screamingly loud at times, that you get an insight into the downer our Ryan was on when he put this down on tape. However, after several listens, it's a grower. From the 'Blue Valentine'ish strains of the opening track to the charm of English Girls Approximately and 'F the universe' which sounds like it sent Ryan down the road that led to his 'Finger' punk rock release, it's a perfect partner to part 1. It's raw, occasionally flawed and certainly void of warmth and affection, but it grabs your attention and doesn't let go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars troubadour excels again, 4 Dec 2003
By 
J. Baglin "Pork Bean" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
This is the second dose of 'Love is hell' the album Ryan wanted to follow up 'Gold', but his record company had other ideas.
And so with the rock by numbers 'rock'n'roll' out on the shelves to please the record bosses, witness 'Love is Hell ptII', downbeat, delicate and damn good.
Adams is a modern day Bowie, able to adapt to many styles with unnerving ease and yet still retain his character on the tracks. This is where he really excels though, as perhaps the greatest singer-songwriter of our generation, with his guitar, piano and his beautiful words.
This is a worthy follow up to the first ep 'pt1'which came out a month ago, 'I see monsters' a highlight with its fluctuating strums and that awesome voice at once fragile yet defiant.
Ironically, both this and the first e.p are better than the officail new album 'Rock n Roll', but knowing Adams, he probably wanted it that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What you've been waiting for, 30 Jan 2004
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
I've always thought I "should" like Ryan Adams, he's got the right voice, right style, nice jangley American guitars, a bit of an attitude, etc, but he's always managed to avoid all my favourite notes 'till now. I heard this in a record shop, asked who it was and bought it straight away. That happens once a decade for me. Think of it as an EP rather than an LP and you'll be happier. It's crammed full of delicious little tunes, gorgeous acoustic guitars, and heartbreak melodies. This is the sound of Ryan Adams moving in the right, heart breaking, direction. An almost lo-if approach to the playing (there's mistakes all over it) but with a velvet "money mix" (high quality) production bringing it all together, gives it all a real, honest feeling. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love is definitely NOT hell!, 2 April 2009
By 
Mr. Peter B. Dean (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Is Hell Part Two [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Ryan Adams CD's 'Love is Hell' parts 1 & 2 have some of the most sublime lyrical and musical content produced in recent years. With the theme throughout of love affairs and their consequences, Adams says all you need to know about the heartache of breaking up. His music matches the lyrics. It is breath-taking in its beauty. The most outstanding tracks of these outstanding recordings are 'This House Is Not For Sale', 'World War 24' and 'Avalanche'. These songs really get to your soul.
'Love is Hell' should be in everyone's CD collection, if you have felt love slip way. A real must have product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars part two of under rated masterpiece!, 4 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Love is Hell Part 2 (Audio CD)
After hearing the record company's rejection of the whole 'love is hell' material i was stunned at the quality of part one!now after hearing the second so called 'e.p' i am surprised at how wrong the record company got it! Opting for 'rock and roll' as the official follow up to 'gold' they have bypassed two cd's worth of fantastic material from arguably the most prolific musician on the planet!
'Part two' didnt grip me as much as the first installment but this isn't much as a criticism as it still holds some of his best songs to date. Most noteably the beauty of 'i see monsters' and my personal favourite 'english girls approximately'.
This half-album, e.p, collection of songs or whatever it can be classed as shows all the best qualities of previous Ryan Adams work, such as the variety of sounds and brilliant Adams poetry!You can really see what he was trying to achieve after the critically acclaimed 'heartbreaker' and the mass sell out of 'gold', its a shame the people that should know him best (record company) didnt pick up on this masterpiece that will be under valued due to the promotion of 'rock and roll'.
If your a fan of part one then part two definately wont dissapoint. 'Love is hell' is definately an indication of a musician at his peak of creativity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Is Hell Part Two [Us Import]
Love Is Hell Part Two [Us Import] by Ryan Adams (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews