Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your spice rack!
If you are an obsessive compulsive fan like me you will appreciate the contents of this album,as would anybody else who appreciates good music.The cd/dvd is excellent value for money. As well as a selection of great videos there are behind the scenes footage of the band and a commentary before each video by the band members themselves.
P.S Has anybody else...
Published on 17 Nov. 2003 by Sandy the obsessive compulsive fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Personally, I think a mixed collection of good and bad
The Red Hot Chili Peppers are one of those bands that you either love or hate but this greatest hits CD and DVD, personally shows to me that some of their songs were outstandingly great and that some were just out of control noise...
Songs like; Under The Bridge, By The Way, Scar Tissue, Californication, Otherside and Universally Speaking, are classics that will be...
Published 10 days ago by JONATHAN O'CONNOR


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your spice rack!, 17 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
If you are an obsessive compulsive fan like me you will appreciate the contents of this album,as would anybody else who appreciates good music.The cd/dvd is excellent value for money. As well as a selection of great videos there are behind the scenes footage of the band and a commentary before each video by the band members themselves.
P.S Has anybody else experienced problems with the lack of sound on the "roadworks, extra footage"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits for sure, 22 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
From chili fans who appreciate the more recent music-'by the way' to the fans who prefere the older stuff-'higher ground'. This is the album for everyone. It must have been a task selecting just 14 hits from the variety of songs produced by the chili peppers but the selected few do the chili peppers proud. This cd also includes the new single 'fortune faded' and 'save the population', the fourth coming single, which as usual contains amazing vocals from Anthony and much stronger vocals from John- fantastic, sure to be a hit!! This edition also includes a DVD which is great value for money, with a selection of videos including commentary and behind the scenes footage which is absolutely hilarious but the down side is that there is a temporary loss of sound at the begining of the behind the scenes footage which is named 'roadworks'. Even so it is well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the true Peppers fan, 6 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
For those of you who always liked the Chili Peppers, but could never decide which album to buy, this is certainly the one to buy. Why? I hear you ask, well with so many great tracks like "under the bridge", "otherside" and "by the way" in a single album, it becomes all to obvious why we all need buy this either for ourselves or for some other poor soul who hasn't heard many of the chili's greatest tracks.
And then ofcouse, there is the DVD to consider. This is the first time they've released the music videos (that are not from the "blood sugar sex magik" album) on DVD! If i'm not mistaken, this is a limited edition CD/DVD release, so you better hurry and get a copy pretty soon.
Besides, they'll be releasing 2 new songs "history" as well as "fortune faded". Its been a while since the release of "by the way", so there will be new stuff to listen to for all you chili fans out there who's already got their 8 previous albums.
With Flea's funk, John's genius, Chad's beat and Anthony's bizzare and wonderful lyrics, we can only expect pure brilliance from this Californian quartet. Long live the Chilis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10years on 1 Album, 16 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
The red hot chili peppers have been around for 20years and have been rated one of the best rock bands around. Well here is 10years of what they have done and believe me its magical.
There is two new tracks onthis cd FORTUNE FADED and SAVE THE POPULATION this will keep listeners who have all other albums (like me) happy.
On this edition of the gretest hits not only do you get 16 songs (over 1hours worth) but you get a DVD of there music videos to watch, making this a worthwhile deal.
If your thinking of purchusing a Red hot chili peppers CD but havnt yet this is an amazing introduction to what is an amazing band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not all you need, 21 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, and the dvd is brilliant, but anyone who says that, 'this is the only cd any chili peppers fan needs' is talking crap. How could any one forget their first four albums (especially freaky styley (1985), the funkiest album ever, and the uplift mofo party plan (1987), the happiest coolist funnest most uplifting album ever. Apart from the inclusion of higher ground, there is no reference to these albums at all. So, yes it is a great collection of tracks with an absolutely crazy ton of cool extras, but its far from being, 'all any chili peppers fan needs'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot Chili Peppers CD/DVD, 3 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
After contemplating whether to buy the CD alone, then opting to buy the CD/DVD when i found it was only a couple of quid more, i was well pleased with my purchase. The DVD has much much more on than i had ever anticipated. Unfortunately i am having problems playing all parts of the DVD. After playing it through a PS2 console, computer dvd player and stand alone dvd player, i have problems hearing sound on items of the roadworks footage. I have changed my copy and yet again i encounter the same problem on the exact same songs.
This does not deter me from rating a 5 maximum, as i know when i do get this dvd playing correctly, it will be superb.
I recommend everyone who loves the Peppers to buy the CD/DVD set. They will not be disappointed.
I in the meantime, will endeavour to make my DVD play fully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You MUST purchase the version with the DVD!, 2 Jan. 2004
By 
Karlykins (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
I am only a recent convert to the burgeoning hordes that are already fans of the Chili Peppers.
After chancing a purchase of "By The Way" and adoring it, I can honestly say that these chaps deserve all the success they get and the endless lauding given them by the music press does, for once, seem founded.
What really comes across on the "By The Way" album is their adept musical ability - the intricate layers of guitar, bass and percussion each stand out and yet simultaneously gel together perfectly.
I for one wasn't overly keen on what few of their earlier hits I had heard, namely "Give It Away" and "Suck My Kiss"; yet giving them more time of day, and listening to them - along with the other 14 tracks on this Greatest Hits and Videos album - with a more discerning and receptive ear, and after enjoying the albums "Californication" and "By The Way", I can honestly say that it is really good stuff.
The album is worth a purchase alone, but a far better bet would be to fork out the couple of extra pounds and purchase the Combo set, which comes with a 16-track DVD containing pretty much all the tracks on the CD.
With the DVD, one's admiration for the chaps (and the record company) can only be augmented, due to the fine and diligent job made with the disc. For each video there is an option to listen to an always interesting and often insightful commentary featuring the band and the video director(s), also often additional options for each video such as a second commentary and/or a behind the scenes clips. This really does live up to the term: "an essential buy".
So, buy this CD & DVD set, then get "By The Way" and prepare to get funky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST HITS IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
This has to be the best album in the world. They have obvoiusly thought for hours on what songs to put on and by god they've got it spot on. They have included the obvious greats like Califorincation, under the bridge and the WICKED give it away. as well as that they have a variety of funk classics like higher ground to slowed down smoothies like road trippin' and the brand new but amazin save the population. and then just to make it even better they add on a dvd with all the greatest videos including the classic video to californication. DO NOT BUY JUST THE GREATEST HITS. YOU HAVE TO GET THE DVD AS WELL. A MUST CD FOR ANYONE WHO LIKES MUSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What hits?-All hits (bar 1), 6 Mar. 2004
By 
jon (Bristol England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
I got this album as a christmas present, deliberately asking for the dvd set knowing there was some great stuff to be seen and heard, and Im not dissapointed.The album is a great mix of music capturing most aspects of the band's feel- the earlier hybrid rock/funk- Higher Ground, Suck my kiss, Give it away, the playful funk of By the Way, Fortune Faded, Don't stop and Aeroplane. And also the side that all of us loves when it shines through in the form of My Friends, Other Side, Road Trippin', Under the Bridge, Californication and more, with the incredible guitaur of John Fruschiante, Dave Navarro and Flea.
As word got out of its near release, a few friends and i were sat around guessing what would be included, most we guessed right apart from one song (Parallel Universe) which took us all by surprise. Don't get it wrong, I like it, but I wouldnt go so far as to put it on the greatest hits. I would have preffered Can't Stop or something similar, but It doesn't tarnish my view of the album.
Only problem as others have mentioned is that the first page of the roadwork on the DVD has no sound- I've played it on X-box and thats all, maybe it's to do with the copy protection ( which by the way didn't work as I copied the cd onto my X-box as an mp3).
Maybe it's just that I'm still bitter from getting tickets to their Hyde Park London gig in June to find out I can't go and will have to sell them (and before my inbox fills up with offers someone has already got a deposit on them!)
All in all this is a great album, so don't listen to those to tell you to go buy all their other albums instead as they have the same songs on them (thats the Idea of a Greatest Hits album isn't it?) So go buy it before I do for the second time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not all you need, 21 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, and the dvd is brilliant, but anyone who says that, 'this is the only cd any chili peppers fan needs' is talking crap. How could any one forget their first four albums (especially freaky styley (1985), the funkiest album ever, and the uplift mofo party plan (1987), the happiest coolist funnest most uplifting album ever. Apart from the inclusion of higher ground, there is no reference to these albums at all. So, yes it is a great collection of tracks with an absolutely crazy ton of cool extras, but its far from being, 'all any chili peppers fan needs'. Also, I've also had no sound for about the first four on the road bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD
Greatest Hits and Videos - CD + DVD by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews