Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YMO's first album from the 1970s..
This is the very first album released by Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO). It is amazing to know that someone was actually able to create such a futuristic sound back in 1970s. There are no 'gaps' between the tracks, but are some computerised noises throughout, which was a very new idea in those days. The original arrangements of some famous numbers, such as 'Tong Poo' (by...
Published on 8 Mar 2007 by Marco Rossini

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering Stuff
I still dig out my vinyl copies of YMO albums when I want to remember why I got hooked on elctronic music in the first place after tolerating some of the more bland mass produced records of recent years.
This is an interesting record and still has some gloriously fresh moments running through it. 'Firecracker' still sparkles and stands out as a key moment in the rise...
Published on 16 April 2004 by Christopher Hunter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YMO's first album from the 1970s.., 8 Mar 2007
By 
Marco Rossini "Marco" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
This is the very first album released by Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO). It is amazing to know that someone was actually able to create such a futuristic sound back in 1970s. There are no 'gaps' between the tracks, but are some computerised noises throughout, which was a very new idea in those days. The original arrangements of some famous numbers, such as 'Tong Poo' (by Ryuichi Sakamoto), are just EXCELLENT! The original version of 'Cosmic Surfin' (by Hary Hosono) is also good, but it sounds like almost a different piece if the listener is more familiar with the 1979 US live concert version of this piece. 'La Femme Chinoise' (by Yukihiro Takahashi) must be one of the greatest pieces of all time by YMO, and this original version contains some sexy voice, although I don't really understand what the voice is actually saying... This is certainly one of the 'must have' albums if you consider yourself to be a YMO fan, as this is where YMO came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh pure joy!!, 14 Feb 2004
By 
S. Hawes "stevehawes" (Higham Ferrers, Northants UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
What can I say? This album is simply pure joy. I remember first seeing YMO on the Old Grey Whistle Test more years ago than I wish to remember playing Cosmic Surfin' live and on the strength of that one performance I brought the whole album/cassette and it did not dissapoint at all. For anyone not familar with YMO's music just think of Jean Michel Jarre/Vangelis/Kraftwerk all rolled in together and you get some sort of idea what to expect. I love this album and was delighted to see it on CD with a bonus CD of the tracks for the USA market just about different enough to make it interesting. Buy if you want the very best in synthesier music, believe you me you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, 15 Jan 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
Hehehe. I'm listening to this as I write and it's taking me ages because - oh, excuse me for a moment.

Back. Just had to go and dance around the room for a bit.

Very occasional an album comes along that plasters a silly grin on your face and makes you feel good to be alive. YMO is one such. It's bright, energetic, bouncy and quirky. What set it apart from other electro albums of the time was that it fused Western and Japanese music, so it's electro-oriental. To me it's a wonderful mixture. Just listen to Tong Poo/Femme Chinoise/Mad Pierrot (basically side 2 of the original vinyl) - how can you not start dancing insanely around the room?

To me this was their high point. They went on to make some decent music, but what came after was more westernised, more mainstream, more serious, more Kraftwerk - and a lot less fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering Stuff, 16 April 2004
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
I still dig out my vinyl copies of YMO albums when I want to remember why I got hooked on elctronic music in the first place after tolerating some of the more bland mass produced records of recent years.
This is an interesting record and still has some gloriously fresh moments running through it. 'Firecracker' still sparkles and stands out as a key moment in the rise of electro-pop in the last 70's early 80's. Other tracks are OK but the quirkiness on some of YMO's musical influences can be a tad annoying at times.
YMO are ludicrously underrated in what they contributed to synthesizer music and the re-mastering sounds great, unfortunately the material is dated. Personally I prefer 'Solid State Survivor' as the full monty of YMO output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars relive your mispent youth, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
As amazing now as it was when I first bought it, over 30 years ago.Lay back and lose yourself in a technical masterpeice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YMO, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
A blast from the early eighties - while not timeless it still does not sound dated and will be a classic of the electronic era. 'Firecracker' is a ...firecracker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its soo good to have this on CD, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
This band is one of the leaders of the electric music generation You can hear lots of stuff now that they inference. Enjoyable memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Massively exceeded expectations, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
Although the Public Pressure cover of Cosmic Surfin' is better than the version in this album, that's the only negative remark I can come up with.. Nice how one tune is linked to another ensuring 37 minutes of more or less continuous music, rising to a crescendo around tracks 6 and 7 and tailing off nice after. Yellow Magic (Tong Poo) and La Femme Chinoise are just wonderful and deserve to be listened on a separates system in a large room, there is so much depth in the music....A very tough act to follow and I don't think it's aged that badly either.

excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain blast from the past., 25 Nov 2014
By 
Sparky (Sussex, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
My favorite track on this double CD is :- 6. Yellow Magic (Tong Poo) , on disc 1.

Good quality and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious., 11 Mar 2011
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD)
I love electronic music...Kraftwerk, Jean Michel Jarre, Vangelis etc , even as far back as Tonto .. all produce fantastic music and excellent albums. I have just bought this after being told it was a "must" for anybody into this kind of music. Sorry but I found it tedious, annoying and in parts un-listenable. Two tracks consist of computer games noises. The only track that I would want to hear again is "Firecracker" - tellingly that is the only track written by Martin Denny (i.e. not by a member of the band!).This album may have been exciting and relevant back in the 70's but time is not always kind to music we love. My advice is download Firecracker and leave the rest of the album where it belongs , in the darkest corner of that box labelled as "Best Forgotten".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra
Yellow Magic Orchestra Usa & Yellow Magic Orchestra by Yellow Magic Orchestra (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews