Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sup...purr..erb
If you a Stephen King fan then you have to watch this. It shows the true colours of SK's imagination in a film about mother and son who are not human (Sleepwalkers) living in our society who have the ability to shape shift (themselves and their possessions). The mother need virgins blood to survive and sends her son out scouting for them by way of appearing to be the...
Published on 25 April 2001 by tash.royal@lineone.net

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "He didn't have no face"
Mary Brady and her son, Charles, are Sleepwalkers, supernatural creatures who feed on young virgin girls. I may be mistaken, but it appears that Charles sucks out the girls life force and then feeds his mother passed on through sex. When Mary and Charles arrive in a new town, Charles meets a "nice girl" in Tanya. He's in her class at school and it's obvious that they have...
Published on 18 July 2011 by West25


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "He didn't have no face", 18 July 2011
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Mary Brady and her son, Charles, are Sleepwalkers, supernatural creatures who feed on young virgin girls. I may be mistaken, but it appears that Charles sucks out the girls life force and then feeds his mother passed on through sex. When Mary and Charles arrive in a new town, Charles meets a "nice girl" in Tanya. He's in her class at school and it's obvious that they have a mutual attraction, that is until Charles shows his true nature and tries to kill her to feed his mum.

The acting is a mixed bag, Alice Krige gives a good performance and gives off a creepy vibe as Mary. Madchen Amick and Brian Krause are fine in their roles as Tanya and Charles, although both probably got the roles based more on their looks rather than acting ability. It was the support cast that I enjoyed the most, Cindy Pickett and Lyman Ward play Tanya's parents, the same actors that played Ferris Bueller's parents. Ron Perlman is massively underused but good as always, but the stars of the film for me was Dan Martin and Sparks who play Deputy Simpson and his cat, Clovis. Dan Martin is hilarious as he chews up the scenery, revelling in the absurd dialogue he's given. John Landis, Joe Dante, Stephen King, Tobe Hooper and Clive Barker all have very small roles and it's fun looking out for them.

Mick Garris directed Sleepwalker's, he's well respected in the horror genre and it's well deserved as he created the TV shows Masters Of Horror and Fear Itself, but a great director he isn't. I enjoyed his adaptations of The Stand and The Shining, but he's directed some of my least favourite King adaptations which include Quicksilver Highway, Riding The Bullet, and the hugely disappointing, Desperation. I love most King adaptations but I really don't like those, Sleepwalkers is his best.

There's no nudity, and there's not much gore but what little we have is done reasonably well. The creature effects when Charles and Mary transform are okay but not brilliant, but good enough and much better than some recent CGI creatures I've seen. All the cats in the film add a creepy tone, as they continuously grow in number throughout the movie, camped outside the creatures house as if drawn there by other supernatural forces, the good to counteract the bad. It's a rather simple and bland movie that if filmed better could have been awful, but there's so many ridiculous moments that it actually ends up being very enjoyable.

The dialogue is absolutely ludicrous at times, and most characters get their fair share. There's comedy gold to be had here, a deputy that can't hit his target from ten feet away, despite the fact it's a large still target and he gets five or six shots away, cars that explode from being shot once, people getting killed by a corn on the cob, Tanya says at the end to the cat that "it's just you and me now" despite the fact that her mum isn't dead, the dialogue added to this and the last twenty minutes or so is the most I've laughed at a horror film since I last watched the magnificently hilarious Wicker Man remake, a film that was released as a horror despite being the funniest comedy I've seen in a long time. Also just to make things even funnier, the Sleepwalkers house is the same one that the Walton's lived in. Sleepwalkers is pretty useless if you're after a good scare, it's great if you want to watch a film so full of unintentional hilarity it's ready to burst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland and disappointing., 23 July 2013
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Had I seen this 21 years ago(when it was originally made)I would have guessed it was a made-for-tv film.
Having watched it recently my opinion is that it is poor and would be classified as a straight-to-video dvd.
So disappointing. 2 stars because it"s written by the great Stephen King,otherwise it would get 0 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sup...purr..erb, 25 April 2001
If you a Stephen King fan then you have to watch this. It shows the true colours of SK's imagination in a film about mother and son who are not human (Sleepwalkers) living in our society who have the ability to shape shift (themselves and their possessions). The mother need virgins blood to survive and sends her son out scouting for them by way of appearing to be the sickly sweet gorgeous new guy in town looking for a girlfriend. The mother also has a massive disliking/ fear towards cats which are attracted to the sleepwalkers with some very unfortunate results. King himself appears in this film though as usual only has a very small part. Even though the sleepwalkers are the bad guys here you find yourself willing them to survive as they are found out because after all they are only using their natural instincts to survive. The mother/son relationship is not in the least normal but then nor is the film but a definite must to watch, especially if your a Brian Krause fan. (Just one thing though if you are a major cat lover I wouldn't suggest watching this film).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cats!, 2 May 2011
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Giant incestuous demon cats who suck the life force from virgins... sure, why not? That's the concept behind "Sleepwalkers," a Stephen King horror movie that rarely actually manages to be scary -- but there is enough entertaining cheez here, as well as brilliant performances by Alice Krige and Sparks.

Charles Brady (Brian Krause) and his mother Mary (Krige) have just moved to a small town. And we soon discover that they are "sleepwalkers": giant incestuous cats who suck the life force from virgins, and are really freaked out by actual cats (who apparently sit outside their house waiting to kill them). Mary is literally starving to death, so Charles has to find a virgin quickly.

Charles soon homes in on the virginal Tanya Robertson (Madchick Amick), and sets about seducing her -- but when he tries to kill her, he ends up horribly wounded by a cop's cat. Now the sleepwalkers are even more desperate to get their hands on Tanya, and are willing to kill anyone who gets in the way of their food.

"Sleepwalkers" has a really cool idea... but honestly it's not very scary most of the time. Director Mick Garris seems to wuss out on some of the potentially scary scenes (like the rapey graveyard scene), with goofy angles and one-liners. I mean, it's hard to be scared when Madchen Amick is popping her screaming fact right near the camera. Instead, it becomes a massive ball of cheesy, over-the-top gore and rubber cat suits.

Fortunately, a lot of the cheesiness is still very entertaining in a B-movie way, especially when the sleepwalkers stop pretending to be human and go all-out in their monstrousness. I will admit, though, some of the scenes late in the movie ARE very creepy, but that's mainly because Krige's character is absolutely insane. The scene where she forces Tanya to "dance" with her half-dead son is chilling.

One big downside: we never learn much about the sleepwalkers. We know the basics, but no backstory or explanations for why cats hate them or whatever.

Unsurprisingly, Krige gives the best human performance of this movie -- she's creepy, weird and inhuman, especially she goes all angry mama-bear/lover. Amick spends most of the movie crying and screaming, Krause is moderately sympathetic as a monstrous creature who wants to save his mother/lover, and Ron Perlman is criminally underused. Keep an eye out for Stephen King in the funniest authorial cameo I have ever seen.

But of course, there's the scene-stealer and a truly awesome actor: Sparks the cat. I am not kidding. This kitty is completely convincing (such as when Clovis views his dead owner), and he kicks... er, claws butt on not one but TWO occasions.

"Sleepwalkers" isn't scary at all, but it is brainlessly, amusingly gory and cheesy -- and the performances by Krige and Sparks are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't like cats....meeow!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Overlooking the perverse sexuallity of this film it's the story of hunk Charles Brady [Brian Krause] who is having an incestuous relationship with his sexy mother Mary [Alice Krige]. They are both Sleepwalkers—vampire like creatures with a distinct fear of cats, who are able to shapeshift themselves and their possessions or even turn invisble when they have to, who need to feed off the lifeforce of virgin women. Arriving in a new town, enter Tanya Robertson [Mädchen Amick] as their next victim.
The opening scenes are definately not for cat lovers, so beware. Despite it's age [1992] the film still manages to provide good entertainment, but if it's an outright horror you're after then you'll be bitterly disappointed as the film lacks the frights and gore of modern films and is quite tame for a Stephen King story, even the sex scenes manage to get by without nudity. Whilst it is now no longer ground-breaking it remains highly watchable. Some weak scripting in the middle lets it all down a little but it mostly manages to keep quick paced and it all seems to end rather too soon, yet I can't see how it could have been extended. The soundtrack fits superbly with the overall film, whilst the picture and sound quality are good for the time.
Not quite a five star, but certainly recomemned if your looking for a lightweight hooror in the vein of Hitchcocks 'The Birds' -only with cats, and they really freak me out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ridiculously cheesy, almost laughable horror film, 7 May 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Stephen King’s Sleepwalkers is significant for a number of reasons (all of which added together fail to make this anything more than an average film). For one thing, it is the first story King wrote expressly for a movie (his earlier movies all being based on previously published work). Second, there is a wonderful cameo appearance by King himself, and this time he’s not alone; both Tobe Hooper and the rarely seen Clive Barker join in the fun as forensics experts, while John Landis and Joe Dante also sneakily pass in front of the cameras. A third, and by far the weirdest, special little aspect of this film is the really close (and I mean really, really close) relationship between the mother and her only son. A fourth distinguishing characteristic of Sleepwalkers is its overuse of silly clichés and ridiculous dialogue; this serves to negate any chance of the film actually being horrifying. I hate to say it, but this movie is downright silly.
The genesis of this story sounds pretty good, actually. Drawing upon ancient stories and the highly mysterious history of cats, the film brings to life two modern-day “Sleepwalkers,” a mother and son forced to constantly roam around the country as a direct result of their unusual feeding habits. Some places just don’t take too kindly to having their citizens slaughtered and fed off of. The mother is now especially hungry, and she is depending on her beloved son Charles to supply her needs. These needs are rather specific, requiring a “nice” girl, and Charles has found the perfect such paragon of virtue and virginity in Tanya Robertson. His plans for bringing Tanya home to Mother inevitably go awry, and the last half hour of the movie is an anticlimactic torture test and overacting marathon in the form of a story that seemingly refuses to end. Brian Krause and Alice Krige actually play their roles rather well (not counting all of the silly dialogue they are forced to utter), and Madchen Amick is a lovely young woman who played her role of sacrifice-to-be in the brilliantly cheesy kind of way this script seemed to call for. Amick also has the distinction of being the only woman in the world I would pay money to watch sweep the floor.
The talent of one actor can sometimes save a movie from utter disaster, and the real hero of Sleepwalkers accomplishes just such a feat. This unsung hero is named Sparks, and he is outstanding in the role of Clovis the Attack Cat. Clovis is the hero of Sleepwalkers; don’t let anyone tell you any differently. One sometimes wonders if cats are not the real overseers of this world. Everyone knows how mysterious they are, how they seem to live lives of leisure, and how even the best of them interact with the human world on their own terms. Sleepwalkers walk in utter fear of cats, deeply vulnerable to the merest slash from a cat’s claw. By instinct alone, cats recognize Sleepwalkers, and throughout this film they are camped en masse outside the home of our local shapeshifters, patiently waiting for the perfect time to strike and thus, once again, help preserve the lives of human beings who will never realize their indebtedness to these seemingly playful, lazy creatures. Their constant vigil around the house of the Sleepwalkers provides the only remotely creepy aspect of the entire movie. Without the cats, this movie would not be worth watching at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feline fantastic !, 10 May 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
What a great camp romp this is! I loved every grotesque moment. And the cats are wonderful. Honestly some films are made to be hated by the critics who really don't have a clue how to deal with them and Sleepwalkers is just one of them. Okay - it's not Citizen Kane - which is just as well for the majority of the public - what you get is what you see on the tin! A clever tale about "vampire" type creatures who meet their match when pitted against the family moggie. Now what more can you ask for? At the same time it's well directed - has a great music score and some very challenging moments between mother and son - has charismatic performances from the three leads - and stars a fabulous bunch of cats who sort everyone ( or thing!) out nicely. This is for those of us with some sense of humour and who are fed up with the grotesque horrors of SAW 69 and co. - and that's certainly me folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meooooooooooooooooooooooooow!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Stephen King is a legend - this film is totally awesome :) Esp love the fact that even though the film is ancient it's still enjoyable to watch :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a wet saturday afternoon, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I had seen this film before and knew what I was getting - clearly cats are more important that I ever thought they were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its not bad. better than the one stars say it is. and if u r not like me. then this film yes is abit cheesy at times., 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
and im not cheesy nor stupid nor daft. and i know ur reading this text. spying on me. under me. mr paul from london.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992]
Sleepwalkers [DVD] [1992] by Mick Garris (DVD - 2003)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews