Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (222)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal Clear Rocky!
Oh, Rocky! It's never going to get any better that this. It looks great, it sounds great. Fox have finally given 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show' (1975) the A/V love and respect it so richly deserves. They've made a few $ from this one over the decades and it was obviously time to give something back.

It couldn't really look an more pristine, the print transfer...
Published on 4 Dec 2010 by Arch Stanton

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film but the extras let it down
As a big Rocky Horror fan I had high expectations of this DVD, but sadly they were not met. I'm not talking about the film, which had excellent picture and sound quality as you would expect from a DVD, but about the extras which were a big disapointment. Yes there are some good bits, some interesting interviews and the commentary gives an extra insight in to the film, but...
Published on 30 Mar 2003 by M. Dexter


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unclassifiably Brilliant, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Rocky Horror Picture Show - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Well, OK, I suppose if you were to try to compare Jim Sharman's 1975 film version of his and Richard O'Brien's classic stage musical to anything else, perhaps an amalgam of Frankenstein (or maybe Young Frankenstein) and Cabaret might get closest. But, of course, with a cult film such as this, all rational thought and reasoning pretty much goes out the window and what you're left with is (for me) an inexplicably invigorating and vibrant piece of 'showbusiness' (in the very best sense) - pretty much unique in terms of 'musicals'.

And indeed, although a film version (even a singalong one at the Prince Charles cinema, for example) can never really recreate the intoxicating atmosphere of a live theatre performance (and I've seen a number in my time), the inclusion of the original Frank N Furter, Tim Curry, is a critical element in the film getting just about as close as it could to its theatre equivalent. If ever there was a man made (no pun intended) for a role, it is surely Curry and Furter (as it were) - the former possessing just about the ideal physique and vocal delivery for his alter ego. Thereafter, Susan Sarandon and Barry Bostwick both deliver perfectly satisfactory turns (she perhaps more impressive than he) as Janet and Brad, whilst O'Brien, Patricia Quinn and 'punk star' Little Nell Campbell are suitably feisty as Frank's sidekicks (respectively) Riff Raff, Magenta and Columbia. Of course, also reprising his stage production role here is Meatloaf as the maverick Eddie, whose rendition of Whatever Happened To Saturday Night (or Hot Patootie - Bless My Soul, if you prefer) is, for me, one of the musical highlights of the film. Jonathan Adams is also excellent as the Dr Stangelove-like doctor Everett V Scott, providing a nice 'stocking and suspenders transition moment' - however, I've always found Peter Hinwood's Rocky to be one the weakest portrayals here (and notably his Sword Of Damocles rendition is excluded from the soundtrack album).

Probably the only (short) period in which my attention wanders during the film is that focusing on Rocky, the period just before Janet's marvellous Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch Me. This is, of course, only a minor blip and with other songs like Dammit, Janet!, Sweet Transvestite, The Time Warp, Hot Patootie, Don't Dream It Be It and I'm Going Home (all with great production values) there is hardly another weak moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars franknfantastic!!!!!, 2 Aug 2005
You must own this! A delightful, decadent display of bizarre, beautiful, transylvanian wackiness! Weird and wonderful. I guarantee you will become completely mesmerised by the sweetest transvestite in town - the delicious Dr Frank n Furter. He will lure you (you lucky things) further into the realms of pleasure with every pout, pucker, and fishnetted strut! All in all compelling entertainment and damn fine fun!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll Shiver, With Anticp...., 1 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...pation!

Rocky Horror fan? Then simply put, this is a must have for your collection.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show has never looked or sounded so good, plus you get some pretty amazing extras to boot.

My only gripe (hence the deduction of a star) is that finding the extras for the first time is quite the chore. I'll not say anymore, but you'll see what I mean. Obviously, once you've located them and how to navigate thru them it's fine, but it's just a shame that it's the one area that let's it down, as it could have been done better with a little care and attention.

That said, overall it's an absolutely stellar package and worthy of anyones collection who's credo is 'Don't dream it...be it'.

Content = 5 stars.

Menu Navigation = 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts on the rocky horror picture show., 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Rocky Horror Picture Show - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
If you like weird, you will like this! I have to say this is one of the best musicals I've seen (or maybe that's just me.) With some great music you will just want to get up and dance to. Oh and it's funny too.
I would have it as a definate in my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's just a jump to the left...,", 23 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It was a cold and rainy night Brad and Janet, had a flat and needed to find shelter and a phone. There was a light. Unknown to them was the particular caste was a meeting place of a unique other worldly crowd. Soon they will have realized their mistake; but will it bee too late?
And where have all the actors gone?

Susan Sarandon from Janet Weiss to Jackie Harrison in "Stepmom (1998)" ASIN: 0767821769
She took her screen daughter to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Tim Curry (who likes to play doctor) from Doctor Frank-N-Furter to Dr. Thornton Poole in "Oscar (1991)"
Oscar is still available from amazon.co.uk

Barry Bostwick from Brad Majors to Det. Tucker Pendleton to himself in "Hollywood Squares" (1998) [TV-Series]

Meatloaf from Eddie to himself in Meat Loaf - Bat Out of Hell (1999) ASIN: B00003XAMG

Richard Milhouse Nixon from Himself (archive audio: resignation speech) to "Speeches of Richard Nixon, The (1995) (V)" (archive footage) he will always be with us.

And where is Denton now?
Do your homework and be sure to get these movies first:

Day the Earth Stood Still, The (1951)
Flash Gordon (1936)
Invisible Man, The (1933)
King Kong (1933)
It Came From Outer Space (1953)
Doctor X (1932)
Forbidden Planet (1956)
Tarantula (1955)
Day of the Triffids, The (1962)
Night of the Demon (1957)
When Worlds Collide (1951)
House in Nightmare Park, The (1973)
Reptile, The (1966)
Brides of Dracula, The (1960)
Man in Black, The (1949)
Night of the Demon (1957)
Forbidden Planet (1956)

First time or 100th time, have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's just a jump to the left...,", 14 Mar 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It was a cold and rainy night Brad and Janet, had a flat and needed to find shelter and a phone. There was a light. Unknown to them was the particular caste was a meeting place of a unique other worldly crowd. Soon they will have realized their mistake; but will it bee too late?
And where have all the actors gone?

Susan Sarandon from Janet Weiss to Jackie Harrison in "Stepmom (1998)" ASIN: 0767821769
She took her screen daughter to see The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Tim Curry (who likes to play doctor) from Doctor Frank-N-Furter to Dr. Thornton Poole in "Oscar (1991)"
Oscar is still available from amazon.co.uk

Barry Bostwick from Brad Majors to Det. Tucker Pendleton to himself in "Hollywood Squares" (1998) [TV-Series]

Meatloaf from Eddie to himself in Meat Loaf - Bat Out of Hell (1999) ASIN: B00003XAMG

Richard Milhouse Nixon from Himself (archive audio: resignation speech) to "Speeches of Richard Nixon, The (1995) (V)" (archive footage) he will always be with us.

And where is Denton now?
Do your homework and be sure to get these movies first:

Day the Earth Stood Still, The (1951)
Flash Gordon (1936)
Invisible Man, The (1933)
King Kong (1933)
It Came From Outer Space (1953)
Doctor X (1932)
Forbidden Planet (1956)
Tarantula (1955)
Day of the Triffids, The (1962)
Night of the Demon (1957)
When Worlds Collide (1951)
House in Nightmare Park, The (1973)
Reptile, The (1966)
Brides of Dracula, The (1960)
Man in Black, The (1949)
Night of the Demon (1957)
Forbidden Planet (1956)

First time or 100th time, have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film but the extras let it down, 30 Mar 2003
By 
M. Dexter "mousey330" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a big Rocky Horror fan I had high expectations of this DVD, but sadly they were not met. I'm not talking about the film, which had excellent picture and sound quality as you would expect from a DVD, but about the extras which were a big disapointment. Yes there are some good bits, some interesting interviews and the commentary gives an extra insight in to the film, but most of the other bits were of very poor quality and could easily have been left out. For instance, the outtakes which were just a couple of scenes that had been shot at slightly different angles, the sing-a-long tracks where the music wasn't in sync with the pictures, the audience participation track that was so quiet you could hardly hear it, I could go on. So, in summary, buy the DVD if you like the film, but dont expect too much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most 'Interesting film' i've ever seen, 12 Jun 2006
By 
M. Harry "Mastergx1" (wales (britain otherwise)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rocky Horror Picture Show - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
the film is fantastic great unbelivable best ever blah blah blah blah blah - BUT everyone I have ever known to watch this film (not excluding yours truly) has always said the same thing the first few times they have watched it - what a load of garbage BUT having watched it no fewer than half a dozen times, they (and I) suddenly have a whole new unimginable appreciation for it. This i cant even explain but there are two things i'm sure of:- 1) if you were to buy this film just down to the reviews, make sure you grab a couple of beers and watch this film every night for one week, you will be a changed (converted even) person. 2) I do not belive there is anyone in the world that does/would/couldNOT uterly enjoy this film. This is more than a must have, you havent lived until you have been hooked on this madness rating - infinate / infinitecimal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Horror Picture Show 2 disc Special - A good buy indeed!, 22 Feb 2010
By 
D. Sutherland "Spitnsawdust" (New Forest UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This double disc special is overall a good buy. Of course the film is the main item which makes it a superb buy at the price anyway.

The additional material is OK. Susan Sarandon's interview is interesting. The 'out takes' bit is useless however - boring cutting floor footage. Nothing funny, interesting or otherwise.

If I knew what I was getting would I have still bought it? Absolutely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful package made by real funs!, 18 May 2004
the movie itself is very, very interesting, music is excellent and simply has to be seen and heard, but my real impression is DVD package with extra futures. Especially for people who are not able to watch show in theatres, this DVD offers a lot. You can choose to watch plain movie, movie with audience interaction, or even to watch some parts as you are in the theater. Really good DVD offer, worth every penny. High reccomendations to potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - Single Disc Edition [DVD] [1975]
£4.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews