Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chicken's still dancing.....
The story of Factory Records & the Hacienda is a long and complex one, full of urban myths and legends, humour, tragedy and some of the best music ever made.
Inevitably, the film struggles to contain its vast subject matter and was apparently edited down from 3 hours. In the end, Michael Winterbottom has made a film which reflects the myth and the truth of Factory in...
Published on 6 Feb 2003 by T. Robinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Two Halves
Michael Winterbottom's 2002 account of the Manchester music scene covering the (approx) period 1976 to 1997 (when the Hacienda club closed) makes for an entertaining, but slightly mixed, film. 24 Hour Party People stars, and is narrated by, Factory record and Hacienda club founder, Tony Wilson, brilliantly played by Steve Coogan (in, to date, easily his best big screen...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Keith M


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius film, 8 May 2006
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Coogan as Anthony H. Wilson was fantastic. The film starts in 1976 as punk hits Manchester, through Joy Division, New Order and the Happy Mondays. Very funny film, well acted, great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hyped, 24 Jun 2013
By 
P. Hanbury "PeteBear" (tout le monde) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Expected a bit more from this movie.

Did not really live up to the hype
very disappointing
Did not like the way it seemed to glorify Drugs
and reckless / unlawful, behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Memoirs of an eccentric", 23 May 2010
By 
Master Ds Cholerton "Impressive!" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Winterbottom directs this culturally defining, visually insane black comedy which depicts the famous Manchester nightclub scene of the 1980's seen through the eyes of Tony Wilson, the sarcastic, annoying nightclub owner and band manager who foresaw the action that went on during Britain's club scene with dollops sex, drugs and plenty of rock and roll. As Wilson, Coogan excels with a comic turn guaranteed to tickle the taste buds and for fans of his Alan Partridge work, it's a fine performance. Yet underneath all the clouded visuals and loud music lies an unfortunately shallow, soulless affair which will only apply to fans of the mentioned music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distorted Story though Still Entertaining, 20 Mar 2006
By 
MR. E.P. MOONEY (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I was particularly interested to see this film because I was there and a musician on the 1977-1980 punk scene in Manchester. It was fascinating to see the recreation of the Factory / Russell Club venue, ironically filmed at what was originally its rival and extreme opposite venue, Fagins!! They got the ambience right. I appeared at the Factory club with the Accidents and with Eddie Mooney and the Grave, on bills with artists such as Joy Division. I'm sorry to say that their gigs were not that well attended and live they were not great. The film portrays Ian Curtis as somewhat aggressive, though he always seemed quiet and shy to me. I worked with Martin Hannett /Zero and he was a very intense and thoughtful man, not the slightly thuggish character portrayed on the film. And Toni Wilson - certainly not the eccentric and witty person played by Steve Coogan. I recall him being aloof, distant and distinctly unfriendly. Mind you, I was part of the TJM Records and Rabid Records crowd, who were rivals. Not surprisingly, we've all been airbrushed out of the story. No mention of important characters like Tosh Ryan and Alan Wise. That said, in places the film did recapture the atmosphere of the Factory Club and the scenes of the Hacienda were uncannily accurate. Maybe one day a more accurate and informed film will be made. Maybe I should write the book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK film of the Factory story..., 11 Jan 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THis is a strange film, essentially being the Factory story, or more disturbingly a biopic of Tony Wilson- though Wilson's complementary book should also be consulted. My big problem is the film being essentially a star vehicle for Steve Coogan, who displays his limitations by playing Alan Partridge playing Tony Wilson.
The film is episodic and slightly unbalanced- though it does contain some great British talent (John Thomson, Paddy Constatine, Peter Kaye) and some nice postmodern cameos (Mark E Smith, Howard Devoto, Paul Ryder). There is a problem with the approach to several parts: the Ian Curtis element is not satisfying enough. They just occur, and we don't get the interesting tales found in the Heart&Soul liner notes or Touching from a Distance- I would have liked to have seen Curtis's sense of humour (the turd thing) which would have countered the po-faced myth perpertuated by an music critic referred to in Wilson's book. The whole suicide bit to Stroszek is not quite correct, the scene it's cut too is not that long & the suicide note left appeared to be written after seeing Herzog's classic. (As for the stupid Town Cryer sequence!- not in the league of some of the dry comments made about IC's shoes/the tragedy that the remaining members of New Order have made). And the use of JD studio tracks for the live versions makes this film more like Oliver Stone's The Doors- pity as there is a wealth of JD live material to choose from...
New Order are inexplicably sidelined (we get an embryo version of Blue Monday), we move from the opening of the Hacienda, sidelining The Smiths & James, to the over-rated guff of Happy Mondays (while ignoring Stone Roses)- still the club scenes are excellent, up there with those in films like Go and Clubbed to Death (the camerawork by Robbie Muller, who has worked with Wim Wenders & Jim Jarmusch is excellent). The film becomes less when focused on the empty lad myth of Ryder et al (I saw the legendary gig at Wembley Arena, where the drum/bass myth Wilson goes on about was coined: it was f*cking terrible)- though we do get a more human Wilson, which is interesting. Then we have the implosion of Factory, which is kind of sad cos it was the epitome of punk rock and did appear to be founded on Sid V's opinion of the man on the street (and the sleeves etc were as great as the records, frequently greater...).
So, 24 Hour Party People is a fun post-modern take on history, but hardly a work of genius- unlike the records/artists & Situationist (!) attitude behind the most interesting British record label of all time. I'd have liked to have seen the real people (new order, mondays etc) appearing in interviews in the style of Reds/Zelig, which would have made the more ridiculous bits of the film more acceptable. Oh and the vision of Wilson as God by Wilson and the comments on The Smiths/Mick Hucknall are genius & I'm living the Durutti Column comeback already!
Perhaps I'm just too close to the subject matter, having listened to Factory stuff for years- 24 Hour Party People is worth watching, but it didn't blow me away like it could have (or films like Almost Famous did). Still, could be worse- could be Sid & Nancy. I await an adaptation of Julian Cope's memoirs, anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films I have ever seen, 17 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
how they managed to make such a dull and lifeless film about such an exciting period in british music history is beyond me - but somehow they did it. Its got a superb collection of british actors who are totally wasted in the boring storyline. They had the opportunity to make a great film with some great scenes to show the excitement of the rave scene which is tragically wasted. Steve coogan is the wrong sort of actor for the lead role and looks as out of place as is possible in film making. Overall the whole film just sucked - BIG time. Watch Human Traffic instead which is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing!, 5 Oct 2007
By 
ZE Jordan "zothepro" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Love mr Coogan generally. But this film BORED my little toosh off! to be honest. If you are a genuine music lover and buff - then I'd say for you. But if you want an entertaining film, this is not for you, in my oppinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 17 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a totally pointless movie.
It doesn't tell you either an entertaining or accurate story of the Manchester music scene. There is no mention of the music scene's origins within the northern soul scene of the late 70s. Nor is there any mention of some the most important bands of the time such as the Fall or the Stone Roses and even New Order's career only gets a very brief mention.
All it tells you is the story of rather sad, insignificant little man who made his fortune out of other people's trajedys or making a buck out of a night club who's success was build upon a drug dependant thug culture which was mirrored by wilson's own sad descent into cocaine fuelled self-indulgence through out the 80s and 90s.
It does make me wonder what kind of people a documentary like this appeal to? Maybe people who read gory biographys on people like Jim Morrison or Kurt Cobain?
Wilson once told us that "death sells" declaring that Ian Curtis's death was the greatest thing that happened to him.
Unfortunately by the success this rather dull documentary has had already ... it seems he may be right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it s a good thing we deaf, 26 Mar 2009
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
well it also be a good thing to be blind concerning this half movie documentary style fiction style rubbish style fashion like
it s actually quite difficult to find a more boring film with nothing at all okay some footage of concert but apart of that better of to buy the concert dvd etc
it s so stinking snob, the people describe are so imature , so full of themselves it hard to believe that anyone can be intersted to watch some looser like that , the only thing you expect from start til the end is a 48 tons truck crash on their heads but unfortunatly it s not even happen
if you r bared and want to get more bored get this movie what else to say ...did i said already it s the worst boring movie . i was actually surprised that in the field of untertainment and music such boring movie could be possible i mean if it was a movie about foot ball i won t even review the obvious but music they even get the sex pistol man get the great rock n roll swindle it can t be worse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD]
24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] by Michael Winterbottom (DVD - 2004)
18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews