Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chicken's still dancing.....
The story of Factory Records & the Hacienda is a long and complex one, full of urban myths and legends, humour, tragedy and some of the best music ever made.
Inevitably, the film struggles to contain its vast subject matter and was apparently edited down from 3 hours. In the end, Michael Winterbottom has made a film which reflects the myth and the truth of Factory in...
Published on 6 Feb 2003 by T. Robinson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Two Halves
Michael Winterbottom's 2002 account of the Manchester music scene covering the (approx) period 1976 to 1997 (when the Hacienda club closed) makes for an entertaining, but slightly mixed, film. 24 Hour Party People stars, and is narrated by, Factory record and Hacienda club founder, Tony Wilson, brilliantly played by Steve Coogan (in, to date, easily his best big screen...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by Keith M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The film Factory might have made about themselves, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. A. Simmons (Welsh border) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Playful, subversive, self-referential, pretentious, all that good stuff. Coogan is excellent as Tony Wilson and the rest of the cast turn in solid performances too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fake documentary, 13 Feb 2013
You'll laugh, you'll understand the context of a specific moment in music, you'll learn a lot about Factory Records, and you'll enjoy 80's music from at least two influential Madchester scene: Joy Division, and the Happy Mondays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sex, drugs & Punk Rock with a humorous twist, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Bernice Battams (Cranbourne North, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Though many have compared it to the likes of 'Studio 54' (Lord knows why), '24 Hour Party People' is a far better made and more effective film. Based on a true story, it takes place during the time when punk rock was subsiding and new kinds of music were born in England. Shot with a digital camera, in documentary style with some use of live footage and narrated by Tony Wilson, (who leads a double life as a TV reporter and music producer), Michael Winterbottom takes us into the rave culture in Manchester, that of sex, drugs and rock and roll. We see it all from Wilson's point of view and we are amused by the layers of his character. Coogan breathes life into Tony Wilson and brings an excellent humor in his portrayal. Paddy Considine and Shirley Henderson stand out too. Pretty much all the performances appear authentic. Watch out for cameos by Andy Serkis, Simon Pegg and Marsha Thomason and by real band members. The portrayal of the Manchester culture, the scenes inside the club and the bands look very real. Winterbottom infuses loads of energy and craze to 'seduce' the viewer. He cleverly injects dry humor which only supports that this is more than just a documentary-like movie. The soundtrack is a must-have and for those who love movies about music, this is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rave on....., 3 Dec 2012
Having been born in 1982 and therefore being too young to have experienced at first hand the era in question and the music that defined it, i went to see this film (at the pictures on a warm late spring evening in 2002), with no idea of 'the real story' - therefore i wasn't bothered when i later learnt about how this film is not entirely accurate. Steve Coogan is brilliant and, while i can see how someother reviewers have associated his performance with a hint of Alan Partridge, the more you watch (at, for example, Tony Wilsons reaction to Ian Curtis' death) you see that that isn't entirely true. Being a Manc himself, Coogan paints a picture that is very North Western (I'm from Stockport, so i can vouch for this).
As the years go by, we see the blossoming of the Madchester scene, the onset of rave culture and the tragic decline, heralded by the closure of the Hacienda:another bit of theatrical license as the audio commentry tells us, there wasn't a 'last night' as such. The audo commentries are invaluable to the muso nitpicker, we have the made up bits put in their proper context.

Not sure i can really articulate just how much this film rocks....
It just.... does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 24hr Party, 30 Nov 2012
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best of the films recreating the 80's 90's but the music is good eventhough the story is pretty shallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 24 Feb 2007
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who genuinely loves music this film is the Holy Grail. I was a student during the Madchester era and had grown up on New Order, Joy Division etc and this film reminds me of why I still love all the bands who feature. The script is hilarious, poignant and touching. It documents a fabulous piece of musical history in a genuinely affectionate way. It has become one of those films that I can't help quoting in the pub and the use of profanity in the film is as funny as it is realistic. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film. If you're interested in Tony Wilson, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film.If you're interested in Tony Wilson,the Manchester scene and chemical enhancement,you'll probably like this.Well acted and post modern-buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, steve coogan showing how good he is ..., 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
great film, steve coogan showing how good he is at approximating real life quirky characters. a must see for fans of the madchester scene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb biopic, 20 Aug 2006
By 
Stu M (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't have many expectations before watching this film, but it's one that I found I was glued to. I was at Uni during the Madchester revolution of the early 90s and it took my right back - especially the Mondays part.

Tony Wilson - who I've seen on TV a number of times - well, it kinda confirmed my opinions of him! Steve Coogan is superb as him - his mannerisms and his speech - very good indeed. Acting is superb, the musical content (though could do with a little bit more in the soundtrack, I'd say.. minor quibble).

The film, I don't think, wants to be totally accurate - it's simply entertaining and certainly worth viewing and, particularly if you were around at this time, a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but accurate protrayal of Mancunian history, 25 Feb 2003
By 
Whitehatter "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have read a lot of nonsense regarding this film. Generally from people who glanced at it and decided it was rubbish. Let me set one particular issue straight.
Coogan is constantly saddled with the "Alan Partridge" issue. His performance is berated as being too Partridge-like.
Steve Coogan is from Middleton, North Manchester. If anything his portrayal of Alan Partridge is liberally laced with the personality of Tony Wilson!
That out of the way, the film itself is a flawed gem and all the better for it. A full and faithful telling of the whole New Wave and Madchester story would take up many hours. This movie has its omissions and inaccuracies, but is just as flawed and beautiful as the period itself. If the viewer takes the stance that Coogan is playing Tony Wilson, who was the source of much of the Partridge character, it becomes much more watchable.
Watch the film. Buy the book. Then watch the film again. The whole tragedy and joy of the story becomes even more real. And th ose little flaws are more than compensated for by the attention to detail which shines through on a second viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD]
24 Hour Party People - Single Disc Edition [2002] [DVD] by Michael Winterbottom (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £4.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews