Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This IS the Director's Cut!
Just to let everyone know this is indeed the Director's Cut of Daredevil, and a nice release it is too.

Matt Murdoch is a morale driven lawyer in New York by day, but at night he transforms into a superhero, Daredevil, a man guided by sound alone, as he lost his sight during a toxic accident as a child. He's in love with Electra, but he has to make things...
Published on 30 July 2009 by DL Productions UK

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marvel still on form
Before i went to see this film i was a bit sceptical about the thought of Ben Affleck being this type of character, he just never seemed suited to it. I was wrong however as he played the role very well, even the blind bits. In fact, all of the actors played their parts well, even though some like Jennifer Garner (who is sooooooooooo fit) as Elektra and Michael Clark...
Published on 10 May 2003


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the devil has left the building, 30 May 2004
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I has very eager to watch this film becuase of two reasons .I love comic books and i wanted to see what sort of a spin Hollywood would put on the classic comic book hero. After wacthing the film i came out of the cinema thinking that it was brillant .However i later realised the films many flaws . The film had a gritty and dark tone to it which i enjoyed because usually comic book storys are glamed up. The fighst were quite cool exspecially when a one on one with daredevil (afflec) and bullseye(farrel) however these are the films positive moments which are horribly out numbered by its flaws.
afflec is pretty crap actor and he tryed hard in this film to pull it out the hat but he didnt ,so his performance left me with the feeling u get when ur watching one of ur mates playing on a computer but he wont give u a go .
Alought daredevil is a "super hero" he has no real super powers.OK fair enough he has super sense's but why should that mean that he sould start jumping off sky scrapers !he must have thought " Well ive got my eye sight back and i should count my self lucky but oh wait coz im a complete retard im gonna try and save new york !" I think daredevil represents the average bloke trying to survive in mordern society but the average bloke dosen't suddley decide to put red leather on and try fighting new york when he realise that he can still see after sum idoit spilled some radioactive liquid in his face .
i would suggest that u buy this film only becuase there are a few moments of enjoyment in it .
the only way that this film can be described is its like a porsche with out an engine .It might look good but there is nothing in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Daredevil, 23 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having never been a fan of 'Daredevil' (or Marvel comics as a whole - 'Spiderman' notwithstanding) I wasn't sure what to expect.
I was not surprised therefore when this turned out to be just awful. Really, really that bad. Over long, po faced, very poor special effects, bad choreography and Ben Affleck.
Jennifer Garner brings a whole new meaning to the word 'wooden'. And why oh why did they feel the need to shoot each of her day scenes as if she was meant to be the new Flake Girl???
Oh, and Michael Clarke Duncan as 'Kingpin'? No charisma whatsoever.
The saving grace(s) came thanks to Colin Farrell for his sneering, mincing, campy performance as 'Bullseye' and the sonar 'DD' uses to 'see'.
Boring and best watched on fast forward. We've seen this all before - the damaged hero but 'Batman' did it SO much better and without the sugar coating plastered all over this banal movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Style no Substance, 12 Mar 2004
By 
J. E. Bamber "JJJJJ" (Seattle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There is no doubting that this film is extremely stylish and very well made, but to me it seems like thats all the film is, there no story or meaning behind it. As a boy Mathew Murdock was blinded in a freak accident, but whilst losing his sight all his other senses where heightend. As he goes on through life he learns martial arts (which Ben Affleck is definatly not built for) and diffrnt fighting skills. As he grows up he become a hard talking silk tounged lwayer, but by night he becomes Dare Devil the tightly leather cladded superhero who is determined to rid the world of crime. Now that all right but then the story really goes down hill with the exception of the charecter Alektra played by the brilliant Jennifer Garner who did all her own fight scenes and by the sounds of it put in the most time and effort into her role than anyone else. Although i do like Colin FArell I dont think that he personally or his charecter truly add that much to the film. This Marvel comic book is definatly darker than films like Spider Man or X-men and is probably not as sutible for children, for me that doesn't add to the film indeed i think it takes away. Most of the 80 million pond budget went on speacile effects and costumes it seems like, the speacile effects are very good but they can be a bit cartoony and unrealistic expecialy when Bullseye and DearDevil and climbing up the organ tubes.
the charecters in large are well developed but the two best charecters KingPin and Elektra really do suffer from not having enough screen time which is a crying shame, the only charecter that is not very well developed is suprisingly DareDeil himself, they give him all this wonderful back story about his accident and his fathers tragic death, and then dont show Mathew Murdock as having any real emotions or feelings.
All in all this film is worth a look but excpect any thing truly speacile beacause the charecters arnt developed enough the story is sometimes holy but all the acting is very good Especially jennifer Garner, Ben Affleck could have put a bit more emotion into his performance but its not that bad,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing movie, 9 Oct 2012
By 
D.G. (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Daredevil - Single Disc Edition [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The action in this is okay but to be honest a little formulaic. There is nothing stunning here and no sense of wow factor. Affleck and Garner and quite bland, although Garner is very good looking. Colin Farrell chews the scenery as one bad guy whereas Michael Clarke Duncan is excellent as the other.

A very middling film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars After this, DAREDEVIL needs the re-boot!, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Catman (NRW Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daredevil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
DAREDEVIL is one of my favorite MARVEL superheroes, but the movie adaption here failed in cast and story.
Maybe Ben Affleck a good looking actor and suitable in the DAREDEVIL costume, but played a worse blind lawyer named MATT MURDOCK.
Jennifer Garner as actor also never fit as ELEKTRA, that she looks more mediterranean woman in the comics. Also, what was the idea to make KINGPIN as afro man?
BULLSEYE had the the worsest costume far away from the original.
Both villains were silly - not to say really evil!

At the end the director's cut made this not better.

I have bought this movie to have the features about DAREDEVIL as comic character and complete my MARVEL movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorest of the Marvel films, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The naff leather suit put me off watching this when it came out and the fact that the Kingpin looked more like a rapper than a crimelord (well, he is black in the film!). After a few people saying it was quite good and it being available so cheap I thought I'd give it a try on the Director's Cut as these are often better but nothing could salvage this film. If you've read the comics then give it a miss as you are almost bound to be disappointed. Apart from the naff suit and a black Kingpin who is nowhere near as powerful or imposing as his comic original some of the dialogue is so cheesey it is ridiculous. I feel sorry for Colin Farrell though as he does do a really good job as Bullseye but the plot, dialogue and acting of other characters are a real letdown. The real shame is the trendy way Matt Murdock's character has been updated that somehow loses the feel of the original. Whatever. I'm sure some people really loved this film but for me it was pretty much a waste of 2 hours and if I've saved someone else fom this fate with this review then I'm happy for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not quite good enough, 23 July 2008
This review is from: Daredevil - Single Disc Edition [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Having just finished watching this I realised that its taken me three days with breaks to finish this. If I was gripped by the film I would have finished it in one viewing, therefore I have to say that I didn't enjoy this at all. I wanted to, I really did, I think Ben Affleck is great, and yes, though it's embarassing to say I do actually quite admire Colin Farrell's screen presence, however the two just didn't work here and I kept waiting for that fantastic moment where I'd finally realise that the film was worth while after all - it never came. I can understand people who are into the cartoon strips that show these stories and maybe me having an alien concept to cartoons doesn't help but I just felt something was really lacking here, and I am sorry to say I never found it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another masked hero fighting justice (yawn!)....., 10 Dec 2003
By 
N. Oliver ""pinky"" (barnstaple, devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daredevil [VHS] [2003] (VHS Tape)
Just how many comic book heroes are there? This is the tale of ANOTHER one - a man without fear. Played without much aplomb by Ben Affleck, we are meant to believe that he is a lawyer by day and a masked crusader by night, but to be quite honest, Affleck just does not convince. The fight sequences are aided and abetted by special FX - even that cannot save it from being a poor man's Matrix with some Batman stuff thrown in for good measure.
The only one to come out of this mess with any dignity (and we aren't talking very much of that!), would be Colin Farrell. As Bullseye, he excels and revels in the amusing one liners and, knowing it is only a bit part, lets you know who is in charge during his scenes with Affleck/Garner.
If you watch this video, don't expect anything too ground-breaking in the FX or story department. It's all been done before - and much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A daring title...., 24 July 2004
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When i first saw trailers for Daredevil, i i couldnt wait to go see it. Now i have to admit the first time i saw it I thought it was a very good effort, good acting, fight sequences and special effects.
But then after i'd seen it acouple of times, it got alot more over dramatic and yes i know super hero films are supposed to be dramatic and exadurated, but this seems to just go that bit too far on the subject.
But other than this complaint, the film overall was pretty neat, with some heart clenching moments, brilliant action scenes and an awesome soundtrack, this film is great.... yet lacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best, 5 Aug 2003
This review is from: Daredevil [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Yeah this was an action packed movie but come on people it was a terrible performance plus it was soooooo cheesy. For example Bullseye (Colin Farell Portrayed Him Brilliantly As Always) was throwing the glass at him (I think it was glass havent seen it in ages.) And Daredevil starts doing some somersaults while saying things like Hiii-Yaaa. I think it'd be best to call this Movie a violent version of power rangers. I think it wasn't bad thats why i've given it 3 stars but it was so cheesy I wanted to be sick. It was a great plan of amovie that could of been plotted and though about better. Maybe it deserve a 3.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3494edc)

This product

Daredevil - Single Disc Edition [2003] [DVD]
Daredevil - Single Disc Edition [2003] [DVD] by Mark Steven Johnson (DVD - 2003)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews