Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate edition... but maybe not for some..
So yet another original bare bones blu ray release finally gets the decent treatment it so rightly deserves.
When Predator debuted on Blu-ray a couple of years back there were some mixed reviews. I actually rated it quite highly, although it could obviously have been better, (featuring a relatively low bit-rate MPEG-2 transfer), that it was certainly a marked...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Deckard

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3D or not 3D, that is the question.
James Cameron's "Titanic 3D" conversion shows that when done properly, films that were not originally shot in 3D, can look fantastic. Unfortunately, "Predator 3D" isn't one of them.
I've always liked this film and was really looking forward to seeing it again when I heard that it was being given the 3D treatment. The jungle environment in particular had me eagerly...
Published 7 months ago by Andrew Odell


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3D or not 3D, that is the question., 24 Dec 2013
By 
Andrew Odell "thedreampolice" (Luton, Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Cameron's "Titanic 3D" conversion shows that when done properly, films that were not originally shot in 3D, can look fantastic. Unfortunately, "Predator 3D" isn't one of them.
I've always liked this film and was really looking forward to seeing it again when I heard that it was being given the 3D treatment. The jungle environment in particular had me eagerly awaiting it's release.
Now I've seen it, it's fair to say that I am extremely disappointed with the results. At times, the jungle does seem to have some nice depth to it, but there are portions of the film that seem to have had no conversion whatsoever. At times watching it, I thought there was a problem with my glasses and had to take them off to check what I was seeing.
The day before watching "Predator 3D" I had watched the "Jurassic Park 3D" blu-ray and like Predator, large portions of the film are set in the jungle, but, unlike Predator, the 3D was consistent and it was an immersive experience.
Predator 3D is a lazy conversion and you can't help thinking that it's release was a half hearted effort, of minimal cost by Fox to rake in money from a film they know would be extremely popular with 3D enthusiasts.
I've now got approximately 150 3D titles and Predator 3D has to be the poorest in my collection.
Picture and sound quality are okay, but again, nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate edition... but maybe not for some.., 2 July 2010
By 
Deckard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So yet another original bare bones blu ray release finally gets the decent treatment it so rightly deserves.
When Predator debuted on Blu-ray a couple of years back there were some mixed reviews. I actually rated it quite highly, although it could obviously have been better, (featuring a relatively low bit-rate MPEG-2 transfer), that it was certainly a marked improvement over the really shoddy looking DVD with it's noise and grain. The other gripe about the original release was of course, the fact that it completely lacked any extras. So now, Fox have recitifed the situation (or if you're feeling more cynical - decided to nick some more cash out the fans back pockets) by releasing an inevitabvle remastered special edition to blu ray.

And here it is, newly encoded, dual layer 50GB disc crammed with all the extras from the DVD including McTiernan's commentary and the 'If it bleeds we can kill it' making of documentary.

So how does it fare? Well, in fairness I think the remastered picture in this edition could well incite the same amount of criticism as the old one, but for the opposite reason. Personally I think it's great, bright, clear, immensely vived and colourful and whereas the previous edition only really looked "Hi-Def" in a number of places, this looks pretty immaculate throughout. Black levels are also greatly improved. However, all of this comes at a price, which some fans may not like, because seemingly to combat the gripes about grain and noise this remaster is pretty heavy on the digital noise reduction. So if you liked the rougher, grittier texture of the original print, you're probably going to be disappointed. Faces look particularly "smoothed over" and a little waxy in certain shots, but I should add that this is NOT the case all the time. In fact facial close ups for example look great, and incredibly detailed, (you can even see the texture of the camouflaged face paint) the jungle looks beautfully sharp and thoroughly alive and generally the print does a good job of masking the dirtier looking scenes. I felt that for the most part the picture looked much more naturally "hi-def" than obviously "tinkered with", but I must confess there were a few bits where I really felt they'd overdone it on the enhancements somewhat, and that's the only reason why i've dropped a star. At the end of the day tho, I think a blu ray where everything mostly looks like a DVD, is far worse than a blu ray where everything mostly looks hi definition. But this I'm sure will be up to what you prefer.

Not sure if the sound has been changed since the last release, but it is still a totally engaing and absorbing 5.1 DTS HD Master audio track. This was my favourite thing about the original release, and it is totally replicated in the ultimate hunter edition. It's a brilliantly balanced track, giving great clarity and detail in the quieter scenes, exploding into hefty machine gun fire and explosions later on that pound your speakers without ever sounding too overbearing.

So all in all, whether this release is for you will come down to the remastered picture quality. If you dont mind the film looking polished, vibrant and, in certain places noticeably artifically polished, you will love it; if you'd rather watch the film closer to it's original intended look, I would hang on to (or indeed go out and buy) the original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best and the worst that Predator has ever looked, 3 July 2010
By 
C. Williams (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm both amazed and appalled at what 20th Century Fox has done with this blu ray, providing one of the most schizophrenic video transfers I've ever seen, which despite its faults still impresses me.

Because eighty percent of the time, it's beautiful.

They must have used a different source print than they had previously. Many scenes that were dull and dark before now show wonderfully vivid colours and much greater contrast. Also, it seems Fox has done a heavy amount of grain reduction, which I know will be an instant deal breaker for some cinephiles, but I do think that Predator benefitted from the treatment. I was astounded at the clarity some scenes have, every piece of foliage is razor sharp, and the Predator himself is so detailed in closeup it's scary. And it doesn't stop there.. From being able to see each bead of sweat on Carl Weathers' face, to the intricate patterns of the lightning effects as Predator decloaks, the new video transfer often presents scenes that look light years ahead of older versions of the film.

But then there's the other twenty percent...

The infamous scene at the start, when Dillon and Dutch lock arms, is one of the most egregious examples of video tampering. Carl Weathers' moustache looks like it's a blurry smudge on his face in this scene, whilst R.G. Armstrong now appears to be made of rubber. Arnold's closeups here are just plain ugly. Certainly not a great start to the movie, and it sets a trend of blurred shots and smudged faces that continues off and on through the film. A scene will be playing out, looking detailed and film-like, then suddenly it cuts to a closeup and we're examining a wax figure from Madame Tussauds acting in a Predator movie. Luckily this doesn't happen too often.

Whilst the Ultimate Hunter Edition is very obviously a cash-in on the new Predators movie coming out, it's honestly a better deal than the last Predator release Predator [Blu-ray] [1987]. Unlike the last bare bones version, this new edition includes every extra from the 2 disc DVD, even the still entertaining text commentary and easter eggs, as well as a brief but nice retrospective with producer John Davis and a quick look at the upcoming sequel.

If you already bought the last blu ray edition, or are unsure as to which looks better, I recommend renting them to judge the quality for yourself. There are a few moments that could have looked A LOT better here, but the film on the whole makes up for it by being much more vibrant and bold than before, and having stunning picture clarity when it counts. Not to mention the always epic DTS HD sound. Overall, I'd say this is definitely the version to pick up if you somehow don't already own this seminal action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Get to da choppa!!", 21 May 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just 10 minutes into this sci-fi action film, it's clear this is familiar, testosterone fuelled, action territory with the sight of Arnold Schwarzenegger sporting in a tight t-shirt, heavy stubble, chomping a cigar and giving the toughest high-five to Carl Weathers you've ever seen, muscles bulging off the screen accompanied by glorious macho-tough talk.

This film is what 'The Expendables' would have been in the 1980s with an all-star line-up working with Arnie. We have Jesse Ventura (former 'Running Man co-star), Bill Duke (former 'Commando' co-star), Sonny Landham, Shane "Lethal Weapon" Black and a post-Rocky Carl Weathers, all armed to the teeth with machine guns, grenades, knifes and even a mini-gun to help save the day. They are likeable, funny, serious and totally memorable for their own reasons; some are vulnerable, some are heroic, all are human, and that’s what makes them entertaining to watch. They squabble, laugh and cry on screen and show their camaraderie as a tightly knit unit. It’s something we don’t see very often in film, and recently in Arnie’s ‘Sabotage’ showing us how NOT to assemble a tough-talking team. The fact our stars don’t play up for the camera to try and be a clichéd character makes them far more believable.
There is a fair amount of humanity sewn through the story as the soldiers are steadily reduced from tough-talking confident warriors to jumpy, paranoid trigger-happy survivors when they see their training counts for nothing against a being so much more technically advanced than them. It actually also shows Schwarzenegger is one of his more “humane” roles, evoking lots of ranges of emotion from pride, fear, anger, sadness and desperation, rather than just a one-man emotionless killing machine or unstoppable cop.

Once we are in the jungle with them, we are teased with the notion they are not alone. The haunting sounds of the jungle, mixed with the growls of the unseen hunter, portray a tense cat-and-mouse hour of action and horror as the unseen villain of the film, the Predator, stalks the soldiers like prey and gruesomely picks them off one by one, spilling blood and taking off limbs as it does. It’s never gratuitous and more times than most we only hear the haunting screams as they succumb to their grizzly fate, the same as what the squad hear rather than see. We are in the same boat as them, as we are never told when the Predator will strike making each kill and appearance all the more effective and shocking.

Arnie and his team work best gunning down the rebels as they discover they've been set-up to actually prevent a corrupt American and Russian arms deal from taking place, but it's so much fun watching the chaos unfold with a brilliantly staged action sequence across the guerrilla camp that just looks like they’re all having so much fun. You’ve never seen an elite team work as well together as you do here, and as one of the very few action sequences in the film, it sure gives you everything you need from an Arnie film; puns, gore and black comedy.

The drawn out finale of Schwarzenegger vs Predator can feel like a lengthy duel, but it's one with very little dialogue, and harkens back to Sylvester Stallone’s 'First Blood', with stealth tactics employed over loud gun-fire. It's a tense finale, and Arnie certainly shows his worth facing up against that "one ugly mother f****r!"

It spawned a disappointing sequel but then a decent further sequel, but you don't need to watch any in order to enjoy this outstanding stand-alone action film. It's one of Arnie's best and is so full of great one-liners from all the stars, it's worth multiple rewinds to catch them, a classic being; "God, you're bleeding." "I ain't got time to bleed!" Special mention also must go to SFX genius Stan Wilson for the brilliant Predator costume and design. Mixing radical dreadlocks, state of the art alien technology and lethal weaponry and a face only a mother can love, the imposing 7ft stature of Kevin Peter Hall created a deadly villain that will always be rendered as one of the greatest in science-fiction history.

At one point during the film, Weathers reminds Schwarzenegger that at the end of the day, no matter what he thinks, he and his team are just "expendable assets". It’s fitting that expendable action heroes are the ones that made the genre defining movies such as this, and nobody does an expendable asset as good as Arnold Schwarzenegger, and no-one probably ever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be careful here, people..., 12 May 2004
By 
Neal Vincent (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Just a quick note to warn purchasers of this new 2-disc set that due to a foul-up by Fox it seems that many copies contain the wrong Disc One. I don't know how widespread this problem is, but in my local shop every single copy was incorrect - and, yeah, I made 'em check! :)
Due to a pressing or packaging error Disc One was the old single-disc edition of Predator - i.e. no DTS, no audio commentary, and a heavily-censored version of the film! Disc Two was correct.
Disc One SHOULD have a large picture of Arnie's face and say "Disc One" on it - the incorrect disc has a fuzzy picture of Arnie with a gun and DOES NOT say Disc One.
Seeing as the previous UK DVD release of Predator was a foul-up on Fox's part in the first place - apparently they mistakenly used a heavily-censored master intended for the German market - you would have thought they'd have taken a little more care this time around...
It's a good film, as I'm sure you already know, and it's good to see that it's finally been given a decent release in the UK - providing you've got the right disc in the pack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A N Y T I M E........................., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predator - Single Disc Edition [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
The direction, the music, even the character names- Predator is simply magnificent. It slow builds suspended all the time in tension, and then it explodes and doesn't let up.

Schwarzenegger's acting is great and he is helped along by the likes of Carl Weathers, Jesse Ventura, Bill Duke and Sonny Landham- who all do a superb job in creating atmosphere. Indeed Ventura and Duke have starred as Arnie's enemies in The Running Man and Commando respectively.

The late great Kevin Peter Hall dons the mask and makeup for one of the most iconic alien creatures of all time. It's a huge movie, blood and guts, action. But it has been scripted well, and directed with authority by John McTiernan. Predator's numerous quotes are stil heard today, and indeed it may well be the most quotable film in action movies ever. We've all heard the story of Arnie and Stallone's fierce competition in the 80s. But on arrival of this monster, Stallone's jaw must have dropped a few miles.

An essential movie to own, indeed regarding it's sci fi action genre- this is definetly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Waxy!!!, 8 Mar 2011
By 
Philippa Leah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you look at the faces on Carl Weathers and Arnold Shwarzenegger early in the film you would think they had been replaced by CGI characters, as their faces look very waxxy due to the type of Digital remastering used. It's less grainy than before, but detail is lost. John McTiernan films are supposed to be grainy, it's his style, check his other films like Die Hard 1 & 3, Last Action Hero etc, they're all grainy due to his camera style.

Personally I'll be keeping my older Blu-ray with no extras as the picture's far supperior and I have the extras on a previous Dvd anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed piece of classic eighties eccess, quality, 10 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Predator [VHS] [1988] (VHS Tape)
It's Arnies best film to date,the tension built up by McTiernans expert direction is a joy to behold,it has lead the way for so many hollywood movies, it inspired a generation. Never have i seen a crack commando unit as good as this since the A-Team. The predator itself is the greatest alien creation this side of, well alien. Such an ingenius idea to be stalked in the most hospitable terrain by a creature invisible to the human eye.Terrific. It's one of my best ten films of alll time. Alot of people won't agree, but we live in a democracy so everyone can an opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Film But Poor Quality DVD, 28 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Predator [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I am a long time fan of Arnie films especially this one and the Terminator Films but unlike the excellent Terminator DVD's this one is very poor.I saw the original film at the cinema and the DVD version ruins it.The film is heavily cut and edited poorly (the censors have had a field day at it). The picture quality is very poor especially in the darkened scenes (it looks like the quality of a VHS tape not DVD).And the only plus point is the audio which is excellent. In a nutshell I would think twice about buying,I'm a great fan and this is one of my all time favorite films but when the DVD's are this poor you have to ask yourself is it worth the money.Get the video version instead more in it, better edited and better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film - not great Blu Ray though, 20 May 2008
By 
Mrs. H. L. Little - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Predator [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ok, first up I love the film. It's one of my all time faves. It travels along nicely with classic "end of chapter" cliffhanger lines such as "If it bleeds we can kill it" and "something's out there waiting for us, and it ain't no man". The action and the pacing of the film are excellent, and despite what the plot is, it's done so well that it's almost believable.
The reason I'm only giving it four stars is because the blu-ray transfer isn't really all that great. It is slightly better than the DVD, but as stated by another reviewer the source material was already a little grainy and the High Def transfer seems only to highlight this further. There are also no extras unlike the DVD, so you really aren't getting value for money. As Blu-Ray's go, it's not one of the better ones, but I love the film so much I can just about forgive it for that.
In short, if you've already got the DVD (probably available for about 3) then you're not likely to feel that you're getting your money's worth here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Predator - Single Disc Edition [1987] [DVD]
Predator - Single Disc Edition [1987] [DVD] by John McTiernan (DVD - 2003)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews