Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way back when it was still fun to do !
In 1983 I returned from a holiday in France and waiting in the porch was a small brown packet from Barfko Swill. This was the original short version of a longer film by Frank Zappa called “Baby Snakes” At the time this cost $68 including the shipping to the UK and it was worth every cent! The chances of seeing Zappa live in the UK dwindled dramatically towards...
Published on 14 Dec 2003 by N. J. Weedon

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zappa at his most self-indulgent.
The first thing I should say is that I'm a huge Zappa fan. Huge. I love Zappa, from the early Mothers stuff (before he digitally remastered and wrecked it) until around '79. I've seen 200 Motels too. Zappa was an amazing composer, musician, and band leader. A director he was not, and over the years I've grown tired of his self-indulgence. And this DVD is a huge example of...
Published on 15 July 2011 by G. R. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way back when it was still fun to do !, 14 Dec 2003
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
In 1983 I returned from a holiday in France and waiting in the porch was a small brown packet from Barfko Swill. This was the original short version of a longer film by Frank Zappa called “Baby Snakes” At the time this cost $68 including the shipping to the UK and it was worth every cent! The chances of seeing Zappa live in the UK dwindled dramatically towards the end of the 70’s and early 80’s and this was going to be the next best alternative. Over the years my tape was viewed to near extinction, the content still managed to remain fresh and as anticipated it proved to be a reminded of those rare occasions when I would end up with another ticket stub for the collection. A longer version of this film was issued some time after with an extended track list, but even more by way of the amazing Mr Bickford and the back stage antics of Roy Estrada. “Regular folks could upgrade to the full version for even more money”
Here we are in 2003, just in time for Christmas 20 years later and you can own the full 3 hour version on a pristine new DVD for peanuts! I have just finished comparing my old VHS tape with the DVD and am delighted by the care an effort that has gone into this issue, my only criticism and perhaps I am being a too harsh is that the sound seemed a touch over processed to my ear, maybe it’s because the VHS Tape audio quality was never particularly good and I am hearing extra detail for the first time outside of the superior audio only offerings of similar material? Guess I got used to the old washed out grainy colour and muddy compressed sound. Let’s hope the Dub Room Special and Roxy shows (see the trailer) will follow quickly. “GO BUY IT NOW before it goes out of print” You will kick yourself if you don’t.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Dec 2003
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ah Baby Snakes! We've waited SO long for Zappa's films on DVD that I almost cried when this little puppy flopped onto my doormat. Not only does this DVD have some of the most amazing live musical events you'll EVER hear, not only that but also some of the most amazing animation you'll EVER see. If you're a Zappa fan you've probably clicked 'buy now' without even reading this here review, if you are not a Zappa fan YOU SHOULD BE so click 'buy now' anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Insight - almost 3 hours long, 26 Dec 2004
By 
Nigel Marsden "Max Zappa" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ok folks, its boxing day in the UK, I spent much of my post Xmas dinner watching this fantastic DVD. Its an absolute treat and almost 3 hours of it, at that.
For the uninitiated, Zappa is a master composer, guitarist and sattirist. In short a genius.
The DVD offers to some degree only glimpses at Zappas mastery of the guitar, as he is often without it, directing proceedings or simply singing with microphone in hand. That said the glimpses are fantastic and worth the cost of the DVD alone.
Listen to the guitar on "Black Napkins" and "Punkys Whips", and take in the mastery of the drummer Terry Bozzio in the solo at track 11. Zappa attracted only the finest musicians, take a close look at all of them in this brilliant insight, into the man himself.
Also check out the albums Joes Garage Acts I,II&III, Sheik Yerbouti, and You Are What You Is. Not forgetting to mention the most fantastic and mesmerizing Zappa track of all time, "Watermelon in Easter Hay", which is on Joes Garage Act III. The track needs some getting used to, but is really the essence of the man, in musical form. BLESS YOU FRANK !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 Jan 2004
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am a fanatical zappa fan, and have been for 17 years (since i was 14) Unfortunately i am too young to have seen the great man live, which is something that i will allways feel sad about.
This DVD is terrific and i feel that in a way i have seen zappa live now. Before this DVD all i had to watch was the BBC2 docs and 'does humour belong' video, which are ok but dont really typify the live zappa concerts i have heard.
Those who are Zappa fans will be familiar with the material on it as it features on some of the live CDs, but to see the perfomance as well as hear it is great. Seeing 'audience participation' for the first time nearly brought a tear to my eye.
For people new to zappa, i think this is a perfect introduction. I think they will understand zappa better, and the show largely comprises his humourous 70s stuff, so they will at least laugh.
I hope similar high quality DVDs of zappa concerts are released, and they will be if this sells well, so buy it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless Frank Zappa, 28 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. D. Shearer (Thurso, Caithness United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This DVD is totally Outta sight....
First The extras are fantastic, you get 3 BBSNX trailers and one for the Roxy shows.
Second - The show itself is pure genius, filmed on Halloween night it has Roy Estrada dressed as the pope, assorted freaks trying to dance to the black page no2 , FZ acerbic commentaries on modern civilisation to Warner brothers.
Third - The music - that speaks for itself.
Just to reiterate what others have being saying if this goes out of print you will kick yourself - so BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aww I knew you'd be surprised....., 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Some of the concert footage on this film is a must for Zappa fans like myself, but you also have lots of filler material--backstage stuff, rehearsals etc. which adds nothing to the overall impact, hence only four stars. Great to get some footage of this fairly short-lived line-up playing live, with Adrian Belews' performances, particularly on 'City of Tiny Lites', making me wish he hadn't departed to join King Crimson so soon. Don't get me wrong, as a Crimson fan too I was delighted when he joined them to become an intrinsic part of the band for many years, but I cant help thinking it would have been great if he could have hung around with Frank just a little longer. FZ always liked to have band members who could perform a little comic act onstage to complement his bizarre compositions, and drummer Terry Bozzio takes up the mantle on 'Punkys' Whips' and as the Devil on 'Titties and Beer' with great confidence and more than just a little lunacy. They say that Animal, the drummer in The Muppets was based on Keith Moon but just watch Bozzio here and you can see some simarlarities for sure! Also there are plenty of Bruce Bickfords' bizarre clay animation sequences, which look like Wallace and Gromit on acid at times - the music and the models were just made for each other. As I said, this offering is padded out with lots of stuff that you want to just skip through but Zappa fans are unlikely to quibble too much about that with Frank being his usual cool, detached yet amusing self onstage, and the master of his guitar and the band around him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars frank zappa, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I have three of his dvds & all of his cds comedy music i usually play them at night well funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic live show, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Great footage of one of Zappa's best lineups, adrian belew on guitar and vocals + terry bozio on drums, and more amazing musicians. Awesome show. Tracks are split up with clips of eccentric zappa+band weirdness plus a mesmerizingly psychedelic stop-motion animation.

These extras can be skipped, however. Although they are surely worth a watch or two for the personality demonstrated by zappa and his band. Also included are humourous cut-out glasses to shield a viewer from the corrupting effect of rock-music-videos, and more novelty material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Zappa-Baby Snakes, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
An absolutely excellent dvd/footage, very impressed its so entertaining even for a non-Zappa fan!...and an must for the collection if you like your ZAPPA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally awe-inspiring, 19 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
artistic , mind blowing , entertaining , funny , musically superb ... the list is endless of what i could write .
dunno if its notalgia or the fact Frank aint with us anymore but the guitar solo on Muffin Man brings me too tears ..totally awesome .... buy it and try it .... 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009]
Baby Snakes [DVD] [2009] by Frank Zappa (DVD - 2008)
14.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews