Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bohemian bazaar
This is a fantastic, weird and wonderful musical. The songs are just brilliant and the story line itself is so beautifully romantic. This film is recommended for people who like something out of the ordinary and is a softy deep down.
Great film, very well made with a fab soundtrack. Highly recommended.*****
Published on 15 Nov 2004 by Miss N Jhumat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good delivery. bad condition
The item was delivered in good times and didn't take too long to come. However, as the description said like new I was expecting better than a scratched disk and slightly damaged case. Guess you get what you pay for. But I think it should of had a better description
Published 13 months ago by jamesG


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bohemian bazaar, 15 Nov 2004
By 
Miss N Jhumat (Wolverhampton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a fantastic, weird and wonderful musical. The songs are just brilliant and the story line itself is so beautifully romantic. This film is recommended for people who like something out of the ordinary and is a softy deep down.
Great film, very well made with a fab soundtrack. Highly recommended.*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 8 April 2005
By 
Beautiful Freak (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
If you dismiss the premise behind Moulin Rouge (a love story set in Bohemian Paris, told largely through song with scant regard for the restraints of reality) as improbable and almost absurd, you may miss one of the best films of recent years. Only in the skilled hands of Baz Luhrman could such a feat be pulled off: it IS pulled off, and spectacularly so. The film flickers from the hilarious to the dark and tragic, and despite the unashamed flamboyance and craziness of the world of the Moulin Rouge, no character (except possibly the na´ve Christian - Ewan McGregor) is at all simplified. Behind the scenes and beyond the fašade of garish physical pleasure that makes up the Moulin Rouge, we see the human face of the buffoon-like Harold Zidler (Jim Broadbent), the secret hopes and dreams of Satine (Nicole Kidman), the giggling courtesan, and the dark and dangerous core of jealousy behind the apparently absurd and utterly ridiculous Duke (Richard Roxburgh.)
The story itself is extremely powerful, and the use of some of the most famous songs of the last thirty years simply gives it wings. The hilarious take on Madonna's Like a Virgin provides one of the funniest moments of the film, and the declaration of love through Elton John's Song, and the following famous love medley (set in and on a giant jewel encrusted elephant, no less, in which the two lovers dance around a miniature Paris to the crooning of a singing moon) must be one of the most romantic declarations of love in any film, ever. This most powerful scene, however, must go to the 'Roxanne' tango number: the kind of stuff that gives you goosebumps up the back of your neck. McGregor and Kidman actually singing always threatened to be a weak link, but they get away with it, and their acting is solid throughout. While Broadbent gives an excellent comic performance two of the best showings are from Caroline O'Connor, as Nini, and John Leguizamo, as Henri Toulouse-Latrec. The fact that neither of these two are in starring roles demonstrates the depth and consistency of talent that make up the fabric of the film.
Most of all, Moulin Rouge is special because of its cinematography: totally lavish colours and lights make up a surreal kaleidoscope of wealth and depravity. At its heart, yes: it's a story about love, overcoming all obstacles. But it's the storytelling itself that makes this among the most memorable films of recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 3 Jan 2005
By 
Beautiful Freak (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you dismiss the premise behind Moulin Rouge (a love story set in Bohemian Paris, told largely through song with scant regard for the restraints of reality) as improbable and almost absurd, you may miss one of the best films of recent years. Only in the skilled hands of Baz Luhrman could such a feat be pulled off: it IS pulled off, and spectacularly so. The film flickers from the hilarious to the dark and tragic, and despite the unashamed flamboyance and craziness of the world of the Moulin Rouge, no character (except possibly the na´ve Christian - Ewan McGregor) is at all simplified. Behind the scenes and beyond the fašade of garish physical pleasure that makes up the Moulin Rouge, we see the human face of the buffoon-like Harold Zidler (Jim Broadbent), the secret hopes and dreams of Satine (Nicole Kidman), the giggling courtesan, and the dark and dangerous core of jealousy behind the apparently absurd and utterly ridiculous Duke (Richard Roxburgh.)
The story itself is extremely powerful, and the use of some of the most famous songs of the last thirty years simply gives it wings. The hilarious take on Madonna's Like a Virgin provides one of the funniest moments of the film, and the declaration of love through Elton John's Song, and the following famous love medley (set in and on a giant jewel encrusted elephant, no less, in which the two lovers dance around a miniature Paris to the crooning of a singing moon) must be one of the most romantic declarations of love in any film, ever. This most powerful scene, however, must go to the 'Roxanne' tango number: the kind of stuff that gives you goosebumps up the back of your neck. McGregor and Kidman actually singing always threatened to be a weak link, but they get away with it, and their acting is solid throughout. While Broadbent gives an excellent comic performance two of the best showings are from Caroline O'Connor, as Nini, and John Leguizamo, as Henri Toulouse-Latrec. The fact that neither of these two are in starring roles demonstrates the depth and consistency of talent that make up the fabric of the film.
Most of all, Moulin Rouge is special because of its cinematography: totally lavish colours and lights make up a surreal kaleidoscope of wealth and depravity. At its heart, yes: it's a story about love, overcoming all obstacles. But it's the storytelling itself that makes this among the most memorable films of recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome., 6 July 2007
By 
M. Wearne (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
there is only one word to describe this film and that is... AWESOME. i bought this 3 days ago and have watched it 3 times! i just got totally lost in it! this film is amazing and i recommend it to anyone and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Spectacular!!!, 21 Jan 2007
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most beautiful and heartwarming films that I have ever seen. Crammed full of emotion, you will feel happy, sad and you will sing along and feel uplifted! This is the ONLY film that I am happy to watch over and over and over again. It never fails to entertain me.

The film follows a young writer (Ewan Macgregor) in Bohemian Paris, where he meets and falls in love with a stunning courtesan (Nicole Kidman)working at the Moulin Rouge, however love does not always end happily ever after. The ending will have a significant impact on you for a long time afterwards. All of the actors play their roles perfectly and the film is a perfect blend of romance, tragedy, dance and comedy.

SO: Make yourself a hot chocolate, grab a box of tissues if you're particularly sensitive and prepare for the biggest movie feast of all time! This film is truly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The show will go on forever, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Moulin Rouge is one of those rare forms of entertainment that will entice the audience forever. Just when you thought that musicals were done and dusted, Moulin Rouge comes along and opens up a whole new world of music, glamour, cabarets and love. Baz Lurhman has done an excellent job portraying the life at the world famous nightclub, taking you on an exciting ride with the telling of the story.
Altough the start to the film is rather tedious, you are relieved from this as soon as you are introduced to the Moulin Rouge.The choreography is excellent, fast paced to suit the fast editing and you can't help but love the flamboyant costumes and the excellent soundtrack to accompany the film.
This film is an absolute must to anybody who enjoys a soppy romantic movie. Get out your hankies and relive the magic of the Moulin Rouge forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Spectacular it isnt, 7 Mar 2011
By 
M. Paterson "MarkyP" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off let me say that I think this is a great film, I like it so much that I have now purchased the BluRay and it is the disc I am reviewing not the movie.

Blu Rays are the best way to make the most of your expensive HD TV but most Blu Rays tend to be a waste of the format - they just seem to port the DVD copy over to the Blu Ray disc so I always try to buy films that make the most of the format.
For Moulin Rouge I saw that the film had been "redone with the approval of Baz" so I thought - yes this would be good, the amazing colours and extraordinary scenes of this film will really make a great viewing experience.
In my opinion it is a bit hit and miss; some of the scenes have been done in HD while others are left looking very grainy and the colours are much less vibrant

All of the BluRay mini documentaries have all been shot in standard definition and to make this appear less obvious all of these are played within a small window which lets about half your screen go to waste.

The sound quality and various dolby options are fantastic - it is almost worth upgrading purely for the improved sound quality over the DVD.

All in all not the most amazing blu ray but one well worth having if you do not own the DVD, otherwise if you are thinking of getting this be sure you have a decent surround system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit like Marmite really..., 18 Jan 2004
This review is from: Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
You either love it or you hate it. I'm one of those people who love it. The camera work may be overdone in the opening minutes but as the film progresses it slows down to a more enjoyable speed which allows you to take in the full splendor of the lush sets and costumes. The music is wonderfully reworked into a dramtic style and is surprisingly well delivered by the cast. The two leads both have good voices but the actor who surpised me the most was Jim Broadbent, who will make you laugh out loud (or cringe with embarrasment!) in Like a Virgin but who is actually quite touching in The Show Must Go On. The plot, though admitably paper-thin, is relitivly involving and I found myself caring for the fate of these doomed, if somewhat shallow, lovers. The reason for losing a star is partly because the villian of the piece who, dispite the hammy nature of the whole film, is over the top and totally unbelievable (and besides, his eyebrows are a funny shape) but mostly because there are far better versions of this DVD available. If you enjoyed this film I suggest you buy the two-disk DVD or better still, a package of all three of Baz Luhrmans films, which are as good as, if not better than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 28 Jan 2002
I bet that many others who went to see Moulin Rouge at the cinema had mixed expectations of what this film would be like. I was one of them. Before I saw it, I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it, but oh how wrong I was!! This film took me on a rollercoaster ride of emotions, with some extremely funny and sad bits set in Bohemian Paris and made it the best musical on the big screen...ever!! Yes, even beating Oklahoma! :)
The gorgeous Ewan McGregor is fantastic in his role as Christian (what a singing voice!) as is Nicole Kidman. The entire cast help to make this an unforgetable film (good example is the "El Tango De Roxanne" scene!)
I really enjoyed this film (went to see it 4 times at the cinema!), have pre-booked my copy and would encourage those who haven't seen it to do the same!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling, audacious masterpiece!, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I've seen this film 11 times now (8 at the cinema and 3 at home with the DVD) and it is still a great joy and delight to me. If I try and analyse why I'm so in love with it - or why it's such a great film - I end up realising that a logical, critical approach doesn't work, and I'm left with the thought that Moulin Rouge is a modern equivalent to a 30s MGM musical: I almost feel that I'm a closet gay man and that the story of Satine and Christian and the Duke and Harold and Toulouse is, when all is said and done, is nothing less than "fabulous". Critical faculties, and the ability to maintain a detached or ironic perspective, are shattered by glamour, pathos, gorgeous orchestral music, truth, beauty, freedom and, above all, love.
In some ways it's easier to see what's wrong with the film rather than what's so great about it: the story is spare and simple (and corny); there's too much frenetic cutting (one Australian reviewer likened it to being trapped in an elevator with a circus); some of the more complex scenes (the "Roxanne" sequence, and the massive "Hindi sad diamonds" denouement) almost fall apart under their own weight; but these are minor concerns when placed against the sheer emotionalism and filmic energy of this crazy masterpiece. Baz Luhrmann has defiantly established himself as a genius -- in an audacious pantheon of genius that includes Jimi Hendrix, Charlie Parker and Orson Welles.
An example of Luhrmann's brilliant touch is his deft combination of humour and pathos: right in the middle of the film's funniest scene (the most outrageous, burlesque take on "Like a Virgin" you'll ever see) he cuts to a deathly-pale Satine being injected after fainting (I'm not giving anything away -- it is revealed to us at the beginning that Satine is doomed). The music abruptly changes from the Rogers and Hammerstein-like treatment of "Virgin" to a few plaintive notes on the piano backed by a muted and ominous orchestra, then it's back to the madness of the Duke and Zidler. Another example is during the movie's love theme, "Come What May": we see Eric Satie joined by an ever-increasing number of bald men, sitting around a piano playing a hauntingly sad and spare Satie-ish melody, before we return to the climax of the love song (and once again Luhrmann demonstrates his brilliant touch: this dramatic part of the song is sung in rehearsal, with Satine and the narcoleptic Argentinean in costume, contrasted by numerous extras, stage-hands and sundry others wandering around).
This is the film where Nicole Kidman really comes into her own. "The Others" has reinforced her standing as an exceptional film actress, but in that film she was playing a restricted, neurotic character. In Moulin Rouge she runs the gamut of emotions from A to Z: she's beautiful, she's sexy, she's doomed, she's in love. She is just as striking when her face is presented to us as a vision of grief and despair, tears running down her cheeks, as when she is resplendent in gorgeous stage costumes or her "seduction outfit".
Nicole is the greatest of the stars but McGregor is very good as the young and idealistic Christian: he has genuine charm when he sings "Your Song" to Satine and there is real pathos with his tears at the shock of Satine's death. Jim Broadbent is perfect as Harold Zidler, the impresario, who is both manipulative and sympathetic. Richard Roxburgh is hilarious as the Duke but is also able to invest the mainly caddish role with real complexity, as evinced by his dejected posture after uttering "My dear, a little frog" to a besotted Satine: while he is the nasty villain - "a powerful man" with a homicidal manservant Warner - he displays some of the vulnerability of being in love. Those four - Satine, Christian, the Duke and Harold, are the main characters, but John Leguizamo is charmingly affecting as Toulouse-Lautrec (another small gripe I have with the scenario is that we are never reminded that Toulouse was a painter and a very great painter at that), and there are some juicy cameos by Garry McDonald (who utters the classic line "I don't think a nun would say that about a hill") and David Wenham, unrecognisable sans beard and with a black wig.
The music is luscious and a real delight: "Nature Boy" is all pathos and even dread; "Your Song" is sweepingly romantic and thrilling; "One Day I'll Fly Away" is simply stunningly gorgeous; "Elephant Love Medley" is excitingly surprising as we recognise the post-modernist take on such pop classics as "Heroes" and "I Will Always Love You" (on top of that, Luhrmmann chucks in operatic flourishes willy-nilly); "Like a Virgin" is a burlesque masterpiece; "Come What May" is anthemic, corny and irresistible; and "Hindi Sad Diamonds" is a thumping dance track set against the most stunning tableau you'll ever see staged.
It's important to get the DVD for the quality of sound and vision. The extras are many and good but nothing beats just sitting down again, to share with another friend, the joy of this great movie. I'm looking forward to the next "screening" already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9cd81eac)

This product

Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD]
Moulin Rouge [2001] [DVD] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2003)
ú3.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews