Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A phenomenal follow-up to 'Those Who Tell The Truth...'
Faced with the difficult task of bettering the superb 'Those Who Tell The Truth Shall Die, Those Who Tell The Truth Shall Live Forever', Explosions In The Sky have done just that with 'The Earth Is Not A Cold Dead Place'.
The tone of the album is more consistent this time around, with predominantly clean, high-register guitars weaving beautiful, intricate melodies...
Published on 4 Nov. 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
I bought this after reading the reviews and listening to the short samples on Amazon. Some reviewers commented on the musicianship of the band and how the music escalates to a climax on many tracks. I,m really sorry but I just cant agree. On every track I was waiting for something to happen and though the music shifts somewhat, it severely lacks melody, direction and...
Published on 24 April 2011 by P. Winthrop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blissful, 15 Jan. 2004
The similaries with Sigur Ros are misplaced. Non-the-less this is a crafted and masterful records. Five tracks weld in to one to create a blissful aural landscape. It is uplifting and life affirming. I listen to it on headphones when I'm around London and it is like a soundtrack to my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album, 5 Oct. 2011
Outstanding band, album is amazing, great album to chill out to. Great to fall asleep to as well. Epic band live as well, not seen a band like them live before, if you like them and you get a chance to see them, GO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good but Very Overrated, 22 July 2004
By 
Craig Evanson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't understand why so many people have such a high opinion of this album. The old explosions magic can be found in track 1, track 5 and the breakdown that occurs three minutes into track 2, but the rest of the album doesn't seem to be anywhere near as moving as "Those Who Tell the Truth Shall Die". The end of track 2 should have been the peak of the album, but fails to hit the mark, having a similar effect to the "dud" track "untitled 7" on Sigur Ros's "( )", where it tries to be emotional and you really try to feel something from it but it just doesn't happen. Track 3 would have been the perfect build up to something special, but then it ends.
Its not as if I gave this album one listen and made my mind up about it, I've listened to it many times since it came out last year. I thought the other tracks might grow on me over the months like GYBE's "Yanqui" did, but my opinion hasn't changed.
I might have expected too much from this follow up, probably because of people saying it was more melodic than the last album. Maybe there is more melody, but those melodies don't come together to create something moving as often as "Who Tell the Truth" does. Maybe if the three middle tracks were on par with the first and last track, I'd agree with what everybody else was saying.
It's still worth buying, just for tracks 1 & 5 alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cy54g, 25 Feb. 2008
Allow me a lazy comparison: The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place is the 3 Feet High and Rising of post-rock. Both have a decent amount of respect within genres that are irrelevant to most, yet not far enough out there to be completely obtuse, and both are relatively unthreatening; ideal for those who want to dip their toe in the water but aren't brave enough to go diving off the cliffs into the deep, vast sea just yet. You can claim to be open-minded too, by backing up your dismissal of Godspeed/Wu-Tang by stating that you like Explosions/De La Soul. It's all down to personal taste and not lack of appreciation, right?

While other post-rock bands indulge themselves in "pretension" (monologues, political references, enigmatic personas, etc.), Explosions in the Sky are happy to just add echo effects to their twangy guitars and increase the pace of the drumming whenever they feel the need to "build". I don't mind predictability; I know what I'm getting with a lot of hardcore punk, yet the sheer joy of listening to a new album makes up for any lack of variety. Essentially, The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place sounds like a jam session by a better band after a hard night of drug abuse. Slap on some beautiful cover art, get a record deal and, bang, you're suddenly the figurehead of a genre.

Relating this back to De La Soul, there is one key difference that makes me bump 3 Feet High and Rising every so often yet leave this slab of instrumental boredom on the shelf: De La Soul are fun. Yeah, for all their inoffensiveness, Prince Paul's fun-lovin', hippy New Yorkers really knew how to make creative music that could bring people towards the style as well as please those jaded, cynical stalwarts in the corner

Hell, when this genre's at its peak, it can shake the very foundations of your soul like nothing else. This just buzzes in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like Prog - but good!, 11 Mar. 2007
By 
Timothy N. Fellows "Salt" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you've ever looked down at yourself in a 3rd person view driving round sweeping roads, or walking along a City River in B&W, or you are in the angst years of 13 - 19 when the world seems dead set against you and only you know it - then this album is for you.

If you are looking for some goddamn loud instrumental music with chiming, soaring guitars and pounding drums and not a lot else - then this is for you to.

Reading this back this doesn't sound like the most positive review - however I really mean it in a good way, nay an excellent way - - This album rocks!

Oh, and if you get the chance, go and see these guys live, they are every bit as they are on disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 20 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
The opening minute to 'those who tell the truth..' (which i only listened to because i like the name of the band and the album) initially m akes you think that they were just going to be Godspeed rip offs. That was until the distortion kicked in and suddenly everything godspeed stood ofr in tension building was ripped apart. I expected the same with this. Although this album didnt do that at all i was in no way dissapointed. 'The Earth is a cold deap place' is 45 minutes of tension building, melodies and a little distortion which makes Explosions in the sky better than any other post rock banc. Imagine Mogwai meets Labradford, only better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars more disappointments than explosions, 15 Jan. 2007
I purchased this album after many friends encouraged me to do so, and after having read many extremely positive reviews on the net. I was very disappointed with what I heard from this CD. My reasons follow;

1. The majority of the songs on offer trundle through a VERY tried and tested formula of quiet to crescendo and back, something that I'd expect from an interesting and cutting edge band many years ago. Now it's more tried, tested, and tired of.

2. The palette of guitar sounds is very limited, every song has the same sounds on offer, which does nothing to give each composition some flavour, character, identity. These guys already use an array of effects, why not use that to an advantage? They're clearly skilled enough to do so, so why not?

3. There is a high dependance on the uplifting/chiming guitar sound, which has been utilised by many other great bands before and since, but these bands have juxtaposed this with other sounds/tones/moods. EITS seem to limit this, resulting in songs being blander than they could have been.

Overall, this album showcases a band who are happy to play 'post-rock' by numbers, relying on old school post-rock techniques. There ARE some nice passages, and a few nice melodies, but it's all somewhat run of the mill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Paul Barclay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Am trying out what is called 'post rock', following recomnedations via Sigur Ros. That led me to Mogwai, which has so far proved interesting, and immediaitely liked. However despite persevering with several listens, I have found this album a bit boring. That applies especially to the first track, which just goes on...and on, and I do normally like long tracks. The following tracks are a bit more interesting, but not stand out so. Perhaps their other albums are better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm and alive!, 28 Jan. 2004
By 
J. T. Brennan (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a huge breath of fresh air drawn in deeply, like the first breath after coma. It's like meeting an old friend you haven't seen for years each guitar stroke a tug on tender heartstrings, like a walk in long grass gently brushing your fingers over the tall stems which sway in the cool breeze, a heart waiting to be broken, dashed by a loved one and wrenched out almost liquefied in a hail of rising chords and in a crescendo of drums, like the beauty of the only moment we were alone. This animal builds up to a rapture which scrapes the very top of heaven itself, before diving like a bird of prey to plumb the depths of the human soul and after what must feel like six days at the bottom of the ocean, drowning in self pity, comes the splendour of something which can only be described instrumentally and without words, feeling like the perfect road trip music as night comes and street lights blur past - a life in perpetual motion. Indeed a memorial should be built for what has been done here, to these men who have arrived like explosions in the sky and without any shadow of fear through an expression of art so absorbing, that when you put your hand in mine we are safe in the knowledge that listening to this proves beyond doubt that the earth is not a cold dead place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place [VINYL]
The Earth Is Not a Cold Dead Place [VINYL] by Explosions in the Sky (Vinyl - 2008)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews