Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic
If you're sat there wondering 'shall I...shan't I', then please take my word for it and buy this CD. You will not be disappointed - simple as that.
This CD contains so much that will enchant even the most casual Christy Moore fan. Songs such as "Joxer Goes to Stuttgart", "Delirium Tremens" and "Casey" will have you smiling, if not laughing out...
Published on 6 Jan 2006 by Stephen Murphy

versus
4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Christy Live
Don't agree with other reviewers - I thought this self-indulgent and unfunny! Not classic at all I'm afraid. I've played it once and it's now in my "not bothered" CD pile!
Published on 8 May 2009 by Mrs E


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to experience Mr Moore, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (MP3 Download)
Christy Moore has a huge volume of work out there on various albums. You might enjoy them.

But the best way to experience his talent is to see him live. Second best is probably this album.

You do get a flavour of his live performance and style. And you get to hear some of his classic songs.

If you buy one of his albums, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live at the Point, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
Like nearly all the tracks. Great to hear live performance and comments in between tracks. One to return to again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb CD, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
I have several of Christie's CDs but I think this is one of his best. The CD is worth the price for simply one track, The Well below the valley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heard this on spotify, and loved it, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
A friend made a folk music compliation tape alternating from Irish to Reggae - I know odd but it worked. There was one track from the Irish selection sung by this rounded baritone with a whisky grating edge to it but no name to identify it. The song was atmospheric, heart felt and ragged. Later a radio 4 programme discussed the work of this very important and distinctive irish singer, Christy Moore - I made a mental note to write it down. Of course I forgot and the years went by when every so often I would play that CD compliation or remember that radio programme. Well spotify came into our lives and I used it as a search engine for all those songs and genres you don't necessarily buy years back as a CD because ot the expense. I found Christy Moore and there he was, that voice, that atmosphere and that "friend". To cut a long story short, I listened to several songs by Christy and found that the ones that really worked for me were on this album. It is live, he tops and tails his set with great, witty and lurid tales and stories and then the songs rock out and the audience rocks with it. Looking forward to blasting this one in the car on those long boring motorway journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (MP3 Download)
I absolutley love this album,it has me jigging in the seat. This is an album I would recommend to anyone who loves Irish music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of live Folk ever, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
the best of live Folk that every live perforner should learn and listen for, best vocsl Folk to enjoy alone to listen to words and tone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christy Moore is a wonderful live performer and this CD captures much of that.
This guy doesn't make bad CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (MP3 Download)
A brilliant live recording full of Christy Moore's humour and reflecting his extensive and varied repertoire. This should be in everyone'thes collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christy at his best, 21 Jan 2013
By 
B. Carey (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
Wonderful album packed with favourites and Christy's own brand of wit. Fairytale of New York beautifully rendered. Delirium Tremens a hoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christy Moore, 18 Jan 2013
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
As ever Christy draws the audience into his wonderful performance of old and new songs. Christy fans will enjoy this as being live includes a bit of banter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Point
Live At The Point by Christy Moore (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews