Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic
If you're sat there wondering 'shall I...shan't I', then please take my word for it and buy this CD. You will not be disappointed - simple as that.
This CD contains so much that will enchant even the most casual Christy Moore fan. Songs such as "Joxer Goes to Stuttgart", "Delirium Tremens" and "Casey" will have you smiling, if not laughing out...
Published on 6 Jan 2006 by Stephen Murphy

versus
4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Christy Live
Don't agree with other reviewers - I thought this self-indulgent and unfunny! Not classic at all I'm afraid. I've played it once and it's now in my "not bothered" CD pile!
Published on 8 May 2009 by Mrs E


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 6 Jan 2006
By 
Stephen Murphy "madmonkey999" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
If you're sat there wondering 'shall I...shan't I', then please take my word for it and buy this CD. You will not be disappointed - simple as that.
This CD contains so much that will enchant even the most casual Christy Moore fan. Songs such as "Joxer Goes to Stuttgart", "Delirium Tremens" and "Casey" will have you smiling, if not laughing out loud; whilst others, such as "Black Is The Colour" and "Ride On" are sung with a touching sincerity that defies belief. "Fairytale Of New York" is different from the Pogues version, but no less magical. Not a duff track on here, and the between-song banter is delightful too. Amazing that one bloke and a guitar can create such alchemy.
All in all, the best live album I've ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live passion in all its glory., 2 Nov 2000
By A Customer
"Live At The Point" is probably the best live recording you`ll ever hear and captures Christy in full flight. I`ve been lucky enough to see Christy before his "retirement" and this c.d. perfectly captures the full range of emotions Christy can take you through when he`s on fire.You`ll laugh;cry and be moved to an an out of body place !! Not one track is weak but,for me,the standouts are "Natives";"Nancy Spain";"Fairytale of New York" and of course "Joxxer" which takes me back to that magical day my newly born daughter and I watched "Ray Houghton bust the net" !!!!!!!! Ride On forever Christy,the Mooneys love you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Christy Moore CD!!!, 3 Jun 2006
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
I have several and this one is my favourite (though they are all very good). Even if you don't like live recordings, this one may change your mind. You can sense the magical connection between Christy, the musicians and the crowd on the night this was recorded. Just hearing it puts you in a good mood. I would have loved to have been there ... and the Joxer song ... hearing the crowd go wild at the line 'Till Ray Houghton got the ball and stuck it in the net!' still brings tears to this Irishwoman's eyes ... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!, 2 Nov 1999
By 
Charles Nullens (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I went on a business trip to Dublin a wee while ago and, as I usually do when I visit a country for the first time, picked up a random selection of CDs of local/national songwriters at the airport. This CD was one of them.
'Natives' is a perfect snapshot of life as we (unfortunately) know it today : it starts as "with all our languages, we can't communicate..". How true.
There is humour, dark humour, Irish humour and a lot of home truths to boot.
You will laugh (Delirium Tremens), cry (Ride on), won't know whether to laugh or cry (Joxer goes to Stuttgart).
Well worth the punds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best folk album ever, 1 Feb 2000
By A Customer
Every once in a while, an album comes along which captures the hearts and imaginations of an entire nation with its musical genius. This is one of those. I'd wager that every household in Ireland has a copy and ask any true Irish man, woman or even child and they'd know the words of not just every song but of all Christys subtle jokes and jibes on this album. It strikes a chord with everyone and goes through every possible emotion. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical Genius, 3 Nov 2006
By 
D. A. Shearan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
What a treat this CD is - despite not including many of his best songs, it is worth the money alone to listen to the rousing rendition of the all-time classic 'Joxer Goes to Stuttgart'. Just like the occassion it was written about, the song will be played over and over again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christy Moore - Live at the Point, 28 Oct 2003
This review is from: Live at the Point (Audio CD)
I had been looking for this CD for a couple of years now, ever since a friend of mine played Christy’s version of ‘Fairytale of New York’ in the pub one night. The danger with CD’s you’ve been building yourself up over finally listening to, is that they often disappoint.
This doesn’t.
Recorded live at The Point in Dublin, this CD brings over the magic of watching Christy play live, covering both the quite intimate moments (and he really can make it seem intimate, even to a room of thousands) and the more raucous sing alongs, with a fair smattering of his stories in between. Covering both his own songs, as well as a few traditional songs and covers, this CD is a joy to listen to, and in fact I prefer the live versions of some of the songs to the slightly over-produced versions available on the studio albums.
If there’s a slight niggle, it’s that you don’t hear anything of the two other people he mentions in the first song (maybe they were his support act I don’t know, but it’s clear the CD doesn’t cover the whole gig). That besides, this is a wonderful CD, which should be a must-have for all Christy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real spirit of Christy ..., 15 July 2005
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A recording that really captures the spirit of Christy Moore in live performance. He later said he gave so much on the stage that he could easily have died - and that's true. A man with the gift to speak for a people in changing times and with eloquence, love, intelligence ... and a thoughtful and passionate musicality. Wonderful knife-edge versions of songs like 'Black is the Colour' and 'Natives'. Track down a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best ever, 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
This album by Christy is just the best ever.....an absolute must for any Christy fan. I was lucky enough to see Christy live in Manchester on the tour for this album, I wouldn't have missed it for the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like his concerts, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: Live At The Point (Audio CD)
If you are teetering on the edge about buying this CD or wondering if you should take the plunge and go to one of his concerts then this CD will tip the scales and convince you to do both.
Have to warn you that his records and concerts sell out very fast ... (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Point
Live At The Point by Christy Moore (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews