Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Raw and Brutal sonic experienced, but lacks originality., 25 April 2001
By 
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
The new Zyklon ablum (not to be mistaken for Zyklon B despite Samoth's appearence) will certainly appeal to fans who enjoyed the more death metal aspects of the last Emperor album. Also I feel that this album is reminiscent in style to Morbid Angel or the later Behemoth albums. The band impress with their tight, fast riffing and well structured songs which flow well. However the album is neither as technical or original as the above mentioned bands including Emperor. This might dissapoint some, but all in all this is a brutal, mature output from some very experienced participants of the Norweigen black metal scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker, faster, harder, 31 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
Mein godt!
This album is like the so called 'holocaust' over again. It comes up from the pit, spewing darker and much harder detrius than you would imagine possible. Or palatable.
What Zyklon remove from Emperor in tunefulness they surpass in unbridled agression and ferocity. And damned speed!
This is THE best black metal album since Emperor's own IX Equilibrium - it may even beat it. Certainly it is better than COF's Midian, although to be frank with the arrival of 'World Ov Worms' it is clear the two bands are in a different genre entirely.
A new level of extremity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very heavy thrashed up speed/death metal, 9 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
this album is one of the most heavy albums ever, the lyrics have very deep meaning, the band will make you want to get up and hit someone and jump up and down like a raving lunatic, sometimes the vocals can be rather incomprehensable but that adds to the enjoyment. When you get hard on into 'CHAOS DEATH CULT' you beggin to realise what very good value this CD was and how good the music really is. this album is not for people that like happy, joyful rabbelings about acheiveing stuff, its for people with love for hate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New breed of black metal, 18 Oct. 2002
By 
Carlos A. Palavicini Cham (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
I first listened to "World Ov Worms" expecting something like a not-that-good copy of Emperor (Zamoth's here, after all), but after 10 seconds I was completely amazed and shocked: Zyklon are not a copy, they're a whole different band in theirselves and the music they deliver is by far what black metal has to be nowadays. Just listen to tracks "Hammer revelation" and "Zykloned" and you'll see! Black metal as we know it, in its purest way (Immortal, Emperor, Darkthrone, etc.), has evolved into something that agrees with our times.
Zyklon reunites great musicians with a really one-of-a-kind songwriter, the infamous Bard Eitun, best known for his murder and arson history. Both, musicians and Bard, had created a creature that defies music extremes, shocking our ears with desperate hymns of destruction, desolation and apocalypse, yet reinventing melody.
If I'd have to state a best-of list of my black metal preferences, Zyklon's "World Ov Worms" will definitely be there, among Emperor's "At the nightside eclipse" and Immortal's "Battles in the North".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zyklon rule, 20 Feb. 2004
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
world ov worms is the first and best album by zyklon to date. i am usually far more of a death metal guy than a black metal guy but this album despite being described as black metal crushes many a skull, as it were. zyklon are a wonderful blend of many genres particually death black and industrial metal. the guitars are certainly very death metal-ly but the vocals are a mix between death and black a bit more growled than screamed. the drumming is superb, nice and fast. a couple of the songs have wierd industrial sections which at first listen provoke a response of 'what is that doing on here?' but listen again and it is clear that these sections fit in very well and contribute greatly to the overall quality of the album. all of the songs are good , the first, third and last are great. in each one you cant help but bang your head.
a truly great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avatara's review of Zyklon "World Ov Worms"., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
This is Zyklon's debut album and is awe inspiring to say the least. Sammoth and Trym of Emperor fame are the founding members and they have brought their "A" game to this album. The album is Death Metal of the highest order and has to be heard to be believed. When I heard this album for the first time it totally blew my mind! This album is the perfect Death Metal storm and a must have for any self respecting Death Metal fanatic. You can buy this album with total confidence, it is a masterpiece and deserves to be in every Death Metal Fanatics collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Masterpiece, 3 Sept. 2005
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Limited Edition Logo Embossed Tin) (Audio CD)
i first heard deduced to overkill and it blew me away.theres so much passion in the music.they take on different styles throughout the album and it works very well.if you dont have this in your collection then get it.an excellent pick up for the true death metal fans amoung us.buy it now.you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caution: Will Cause Head Explosion!, 22 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: World Ov Worms (Audio CD)
Having heard little (only that three-quarters of the band make up the group Emperor, this is minus Emperor front man Ihsahn) of Zyklon before, I thought I'd give them a try. Little did I know that I was letting myself in for the extreme black metal ride of a life time!
Zyklon's style can be best described as a mixture of Slipknot, Cradle of Filth with the speed of Atari Teenage Riot. They dress in the style of Matrix fashion, sunglasses, long leather trench coats with black being the order of the day. Zyklon clearly are a band with an emphasis placed on the future, the future perhaps of extreme metal.
The initial thought is of the lightning fast pace and pure evil aggression expended on the singing, lyrics, playing the drums, guitar into one inch of their lives combining together to form the most unquie sound you will have heard! They have to be heard to be believed.
This would be highly recommeded to those seeking something extreme and new - but is clearly not for the faint hearted!
Zyklon is said to mean a 'destructive force,' if this ablum is anything to go by, then that definition is as accurate as they come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews