Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Successor to a Much Earlier Britten/Pears Recording
I have particular interest in the main piece on this CD, Britten's 'St. Nicolas' cantata, because a choir I sing in will be doing it later this year with our local professional chamber orchestra; interestingly, a previous performance of it by this group was so successful that a repeat has been requested. Britten, of course, wrote the work for amateur chorus and a...
Published on 13 July 2004 by J Scott Morrison

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Britten St. Nicholas
Although the performance itself was good enabling the essence of the work to come across, the quality of the recorded sound was very poor and prevented the listening experience from being enjoyable.
Published 20 months ago by Telemann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Successor to a Much Earlier Britten/Pears Recording, 13 July 2004
By 
J Scott Morrison (Middlebury VT, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
I have particular interest in the main piece on this CD, Britten's 'St. Nicolas' cantata, because a choir I sing in will be doing it later this year with our local professional chamber orchestra; interestingly, a previous performance of it by this group was so successful that a repeat has been requested. Britten, of course, wrote the work for amateur chorus and a professional tenor soloist, in this case his long-time lover, Peter Pears. Enough time has now passed that, although Pears/Britten recorded the work, it is appropriate and welcome that new forces give it a go. Philip Langridge, the tenor here, is actually a better-sounding singer than Pears, although no one would ever question Pears's musicianship. And I say that even as I am one of those who long since have found Pear's idiosyncratic voice to be more than acceptable. This performance was issued earlier (mid-1990s, I think) on the now-defunct Collins Classics label. Naxos apparently has obtained license to re-release a number of Collins Classics recordings of Britten's music; I've raved about earlier releases of 'Albert Herring' and 'The Turn of the Screw.' Steuart Bedford, the conductor on all these releases, is certainly the reigning Britten conductor, having succeeded Britten at the helm of the Aldeburgh Festival.
'St. Nicolas' tells the story of an early church saint, Nicolas, the 4th-century Bishop of Myra, not 'jolly Saint Nick' but another fellow entirely. Not much is known about him so librettist Eric Crozier had leeway to invent much, drawing on the legends surrounding him. Among the interesting episodes is the charming (and weirdly grisly) story of 'Nicolas and the Pickled Boys.' Most moving is the penultimate episode, 'His Piety and Marvellous Works.' Most immediately appealing is the jaunty 'Birth of Nicolas.' Britten asked the congregation to join in at two points when the choir is singing straightforward arrangements of the hymns, 'All people that on earth do dwell' (the 'Old 100th' doxology tune) and, at the end, 'God moves in a mysterious way.' The choir is the magnificent Tallis Scholars, accompanied by the English Chamber Orchestra under Bedford. This is a fervent, lively, moving performance, marked by sometimes catchy, sometimes solemn and always expertly crafted choral/orchestral mix. There is little choose between it and Britten's earlier recording (except Naxos's exceptional price).
The other two works are a very early work, the a cappella 'Christ's Nativity' (from 1931, when Britten was still at the Royal Conservatory) and 'Psalm 150,' an occasional piece written for Britten's old school, Lowestoft. The former is performed by the BBC Singers. The latter is a joyful work and fun to hear throughout it's four-minute length. It is sung by the New London Children's Choir accompanied by the London Schools Symphony Orchestra.
TT=66:00
Scott Morrison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Clear Recording., 8 Oct 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
Like many others, I was looking for a recording of St. Nicolas to help with singing it in a choir - this is a popular work for amateur choirs to perform with professional soloists and orchestra.

This recording is very clear and allows you to hear every nuance of the singing. The orchestra sounds a bit "lightweight", but that is in part down to how Britten scored this work - to make it so that the vocalists were not drowned out and every word could be heard.

This is wonderful music that has elements of the British choral tradition, but also has a 20th Century twist with dischords and atonality. It is popular however, as it tells a story and brings people together. The climaxes are brilliant and all the more felt, as they emerge as beacons of tonality from the murky complexity of the part writing.

Overall this is a good package of Britten's choral music - some rarities and sixty-six minutes of interesting music on a very reasonable mid-price CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, 5 Aug 2013
By 
L. A. Taylor-Guthartz (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
I sang St Nichlas at school (and Psalm 150) and have loved them ever since. Good performance, at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely recording, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
very enjoyable and helped my choir learn the work for performance this centenary year - concert in two weeks time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars concert, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
always helpful to listen to the music you are singing. this recording arrived promptly and is just what was needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Britten's St Nicolas, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
I wanted to hear this as I was going to be performing it myself and I found it a very faithful recording with mostly very fine singing and playing on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Britten St. Nicholas, 20 Dec 2012
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
Although the performance itself was good enabling the essence of the work to come across, the quality of the recorded sound was very poor and prevented the listening experience from being enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sing along St Nicolas, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 (Audio CD)
I bought this recording to learn the work while driving, as we are performing it soon.
The variation in dynamics is impossible. It starts so quietly it can't be heard, then in the loud bits I need to turn it down.
It is not much better when played at home.
The performance is good, despite this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150
Britten - St Nicolas; Christ Nativity; Psalm 150 by Benjamin Britten (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews