Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2009
Well, I must start by saying that Amicus, IMO, produced the best British horror of any period, and that 'The House that dripped blood', is probably my favourite film ever. So, with this set, you can't really go wrong! Having said that, some of the other titles included here are not all Amicus' best works. 'Dr terrors house of horrors' is a great film, one of Amicus' earlier portmanteau's and well worthy of inclusion, as is another anthology - 'Asylum'. However, 'And now the screaming starts' is one of Amicus rare 'period' pieces and one feels it could have been cut down to be a segment of an anthology rather than a full feature. 'The beast must die' is entertaining, and adds value with its renowned 'werewolf break'!, but isnt among the studios best work. It is a good introduction for fans of the genre, but my preference is for the portmanteaus, so i would not have selected the same films for this collection (there was probably some licensing/ownership issues that limited anchor bays selections). The packaging, although a nice gimmick, is not very practical, not least because it damages the spindles on the discs (which anchor bay were, at one time, replacing free of charge), but the extras on these discs are absolutely first rate - which takes some putting together with films of this vintage. I could only wish that a 2nd volume is brought out including the remaining portmanteau films as the current single DVD editions available are bereft of extras and the films deserve better. As this limited edition boxset is now deleted it can be very expensive - i would suggest purchasing the films seperately as they can be picked up much cheaper that way. Also, i would start with the House that dripped blood, Dr Terrors house of horrors & asylum, then jump to The vault of horror, tales from the crypt and beyond the grave, ahead of the other titles on here. Either way, all of the films are very entertaining and easy to watch, and well worth of 5 stars overall. CLASS.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2004
Having bought this box set for a present for my fiancee (she shares my love of the "Hammer-style" horror movies we grew up with), I sat down to watch them with much anticipation!
It's got to be said, Anchor Bay have done a fantastic job in the conversion to DVD; the films are presented (for, I believe, the first time) uncut and in their original cinema format - not the bodged-and-hacked-down versions shown on TV. Although these movies are very tame compared to more recent horrors, all of them provide their fair share of genuinely spooky moments in a way forgotten by today's film-makers - by building suspense and atmosphere with the clever direction and use of lighting, music etc., not by throwing buckets of blood around. It would be unfair to choose a favourite, but Roy Ward Baker's assured direction of Asylum puts the film just ahead for me.
Each film is enhanced by a number of well written and produced extras - biographies, director's commentaries etc.etc - and these add immense enjoyment to the movies, even if you don't class yourself as a film buff there's plenty to interest. The clever "coffin" packaging is immaculate, and adds an old-style spookiness to the ensemble.
The only naff thing is the specially written booklet to accompany the set - it looks as though it has been thrown together in a rush, with paragraphs mixed-up and repeated throughout the eight pages. It is a real afterthought, an insult to the film-makers craftsmanship displayed within the features - and I would rather it had been left out than clutter up the box. That aside, the box easily earns its 4 stars
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
It's a shame to see this box set selling for such huge prices.
I bought this when it first came out but recently wanted to get one for my Father who used to sit up with me in the late 1970's to watch these films on BBC double bills on a Saturday night. Instead I have lent him my box set to watch.
The portmanteau films are my favourites on here. "Dr Terror's House of Horrors" is the best followed by "The House That Dripped Blood" and then "Asylum".
"The Beast Must Die" is a fun film which includes the werewolf break (and no, I did not guess who was the werewolf), whilst "And Now The Screaming Starts" is the only lacklustre film in the set as it's a bit over long and dull.
All five DVDs are house in a cool coffin shaped box and it comes with a booklet on Amicus films.
If you can find it for under £40 then it's worth buying.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
A bafflingly missed opportunity. This only attempt to produce a boxed set of Amicus films inexplicably omits the classic anthologies - Vault of Horror, Tales From the Crypt, and From Beyond the Grave - yet includes The Beast Must Die and Now the Screaming Starts, surely the least memorable films of their output. The stars are earned by the inclusion of three other anthology films, including Asylum. I'm sure the packaging idea seemed like a good one at the design stage, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired - none of the discs stay in place.

One can only hope there will be a new and better attempt at giving Amicus films the same level of respect and accessibility given to Hammer over the years, as many of these titles are becoming difficult to obtain at reasonable prices.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You can't fault Amicus on films like Dr Terror's House of Horrors, The House That Dripped Blood and Asylum. Classic horror anthologies in the company's best style, and with fine stars, such as Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee.

The packaging is insane, however. When you open up this impractically shaped novelty box, the discs flop all over the place, and you end up wrecking the cardboard trying to force the discs out. Mine arrived already falling apart, and had to be reglued.

Unfortunately, not all the titles are yet available separately, so this silly box set will have to do.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Prompt and courteous service. Good condition. This box set brings back great memories of watching witty and well acted British horror movies on dark, cosy winter nights. Without over-the-top violence or hysteria they have quietly shocking moments that stay with you over the years. I remembered them with true affection and was so pleased to see that they have not suffered over the years; they still pack quite a punch!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Screaming, blood, evil, hands that move on there own, twists, turns, werewolves, more blood and Peter Cushing eating Piccillili. Even Herbert Lomb and Roy Castle get a look in!
Seriously what more can you want.
Yes, the box is a gimmick that doesn't work and it doesn't fit in any shelf but that said who cares it's five great films and you can always re box it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
delivery excellent as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
Well Amicus is a great production studio...well maybe a revival should be happen like what is happening to Hammer lately....great collection btw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2005
This is an excellent set of discs - unfortunately someone has seen fit to present them in a gimmicky coffin shaped cardboard package which won't hold the discs securely. After receiving two sets with the discs scuffed and rattling around in the box I decided to give up and wait until they are re-issued in a package which is fit for sale.
Oh - and even if you're lucky and the discs are intact, the case won't sit properly on your shelf either.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse