Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars43
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 June 2005
Oh my God! - I have had this album on continuous repeat play for the last week! The beautiful simplicity of the chiming guitars, the glorious washes of noise, even the tribal (almost childish) percussions gets into your head and stays there.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
Forget your Coheed & Cambrias' and Mars Voltas', this is the album of 2003. Explosions in the Sky return with the best post-rock album since gybe! bombarded us with lift yr. skinny fists!.
If you loved Those Who Tell The Truth... on first listen you may be a little disappointed, as this album is a lot more melodic, laying off the well-used distortion pedal. Some would think this would make EITS lose their edge; wrong. The result we have is 5 tracks of pure beauty, with slow builds and superb percussion. Each track draws the listener further in, making you wonder whether the cd can get any better as it progresses. Amazingly, it does, even bringing in the distortion once or twice just to show you they can still truly rock.
2003 has a been a great year for music; EITS make the best of the best.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
This album was my introduction to post-rock. After exploring a little further, it remains one of my favourites, and a great introduction to the genre. It's beautiful, it's loud, it's creative and it's well-produced. The pacing and structure is excellent, and feel much less repetitive than many other post-rock records. The recorded sound of Explosions In The Sky is almost indistinguishable from their live sound in the clean sections. The loud sections sound more compressed, but this does not spoil the atmosphere too much. If you want louder you're going to have to go see them.

To me this is a perfect gift item because for a fiver you have something very accessible, yet deep and a fine introduction to the genre. Great as "background music" but really something special if you play it as loudly as you can get away with on a good sound system and let it wash over you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I bought this item on the 8th of December, specifically choosing this seller because of the UK location - many other sellers were USA based. I was extremely impressed when the item was dispatched within a day or two however was estimated delivery between the 12th-24th of December which is a huge time frame considering it was posted on the 9th or 10th. I waited and waited for the delivery giving the benefit of the doubt that it could arrive on the 24th at the latest and it did not. The vinyl was a Christmas gift therefore I was not able to give it to the person. I am unsure when the delivery did take place as i travelled from my flat back home on Christmas Eve night only returning Sunday 29th to find it at my flat then. I am impressed with the condition and packaging of the vinyl but hugely dissapointed that it did not arrive in time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I bought this after reading the reviews and listening to the short samples on Amazon. Some reviewers commented on the musicianship of the band and how the music escalates to a climax on many tracks. I,m really sorry but I just cant agree. On every track I was waiting for something to happen and though the music shifts somewhat, it severely lacks melody, direction and energy. I suppose it will be ok for background music. The band dont seem to have any technical ability and most songs consist of simple,repetitive guitar phrases without any change of tempo or musical expression. The earth is not a cold dead place but this band arent exactly setting it on fire.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2007
`The Earth is not a Cold Dead Place' is a marked departure in style from its predecessor, the wonderful `Those Who Tell the Truth...' Gone are the swooping and soaring rock guitars, replaced with a more carefully controlled approach.

The new style works superbly on tracks one and five. `First Breath After Coma' layers chiming guitars on a heartbeat pulse before building to a climax of shimmering beauty. `Your Hand In Mine' is anchored with a strong drum pattern before introducing a guitar line after two and a half minutes which is breathtakingly beautiful - a real goose-bump moment of true inspiration.

Elsewhere, the band do let loose with their trademark guitar explosions, but in a far more measured way. `The Only Moment We Were Alone' teases the listener for eight minutes before letting rip spectacularly. `Memorial' finishes with an astonishing burst of noise.

This is a lovely record and beautifully played throughout but the downside would have to be a slight lack of variety. The tracks do sound very similar and the CD takes a lot of listens to fully appreciate, though this type of music by nature is impossible to judge properly after one listen. Track three,`Six Days At the Bottom of the Ocean', threatens to build and climax like track two but never really delivers.

Still a very good record, though. Instrumental guitar music for connoisseurs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
The Explosions' first album was a CD of utter joy; blissful, melodic tones with the most relaxing and calm chords softly plucked on a variety of warm, soothing guitars.
This, the latest LP from the Texan aces of post-rock, takes the concept even further!
It only has five tracks, but the album itself is a good 45 minutes, and what a 45 minutes the CD provides. I played it for the first time whilst stressed about an exam the following day - the stress has left me, 'though I've not revised yet! The music is so calming, yet so inspiring. It makes you physically want to engage in something creative, to achieve, and to enjoy yourself.
It shares a lot of similarities with Icelandic genii Sigur Ros, and is also vaguely reminiscent of some of the instrumental sections of earlier Doves tunes, and some of the soundtrack to top Brit film 28 Days Later. It's mainly guitar-based, but with powerful drum beats, chimes, and little touches of inventiveness in between the octaves.
If you're the type who gets stressed very easily over seemingly nothing, if you're after a CD of spectacularly soulful instrumental music, or simply want a background selection of music whilst you have some friends over for a chat and some drinks, I urge you to buy this.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2006
Sadly the review below seems to have formed a rather strange opinion on this album.

This album takes you away, its carries you away to somewhere and lets your mind slip into deep thoughts. The melodies are beatufil and, if the review below knew just exactly what it takes to get a set of guitars to sound like then maybe he would have more appreciation. plus as he highlighted they did it live as well, how many bands do we go to see that can re-create what they have done - that tells me exactly how good musicians they are.

This is a must have album for all alternative and post rock fans.

if your not maybe you should stay away.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
I first heard 'your hand in mine' on a youtube clip and had to find out the band who performed it. As soon as I did I purchased this album and have loved them ever since. Their music is so beautiful and emotive that I would recommend them to most. Do not be put off by the fact that it is instrumental only. That will not matter once you settle down, relax and just let their music take you away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
This CD is brilliant... BUT if you've got a little bit more money available, i think the "All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone" album is better... but then again it's all personal taste! :)
The CD came VERY fast, a few days MAX.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.58
£9.99
£7.11

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)