Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We've been waiting a long time ,and..........
This is worth the wait! This album REALLY shows the songwriting skills of Mick Hucknall,what a talent!!The first single 'Sunrise'
shows the clever use of sampling a classic Hall and Oates song, but as the background, with Mick giving it an up to date twist.
The title track 'Home ' must surely be the next single.
This album shows that Mick has a timeless...
Published on 11 April 2003 by Moira Stewart

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, the disappointment......
With the exception of the title track and current single "Sunrise", this album is really something of nothing. I've been a fan of Simply Red for ...... well, simply ages. Eversince, in fact, Hucknall's extraordinary white-soul vocals first took the UK music world by storm in 1985. Gosh.....am I really THAT old?! I've bought all their albums and saw them live in the early...
Published on 28 Mar. 2003 by Ms Catherine M Shergold


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We've been waiting a long time ,and.........., 11 April 2003
By 
Moira Stewart (Airdrie Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
This is worth the wait! This album REALLY shows the songwriting skills of Mick Hucknall,what a talent!!The first single 'Sunrise'
shows the clever use of sampling a classic Hall and Oates song, but as the background, with Mick giving it an up to date twist.
The title track 'Home ' must surely be the next single.
This album shows that Mick has a timeless voice and an incredible knack of choosing the right tracks to cover,You make me feel brand new',is even better than the original!
All in all this album gets me in the mood for Simply Red's forthcoming tour,my only gripe is that the album isn't long enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY RED; SIMPLY THE BEST, 22 April 2003
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
After a long abscence, Mick is back with an album that was well worth the wait. His unique voice and with excellent backing we have Simply Red back with a bang. 'Home' is undoubtably the best track on the album and will surely be the next single. Mick always mixes covers with originals with fine balance on his albums, with his covers as good as, if not usually better than, the originals. This album is no exception, my favourite by far being the Dylan classic 'Positivley 4th Street'. 20 years on simlpy Red are still simply the best and fans new and old should buy this album and enjoy.
As a Simply Red fan since 1984, I can recommend this album without hesitation, with not one bad track to be found. Roll on the tour.

Good Old Red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mick comes "Home", 28 April 2003
By 
stephen clifford (Bedworth, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
Being a very varied listener to all kinds of music, I had mixed feelings about " Home". After love and the russian winter I wondered if Hucknall could ever deliver. STOP, if you have not bought this yet make it your next choice. From the catchy sunrise right down to you make me feel brand new, Mick delivers brilliantly. It has been a long long time since I wanted to play a record over and over, but this is one. Like an old pair of slippers simply red are still comfortable in the right mood.
buy, buy, buy,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A melodic and happy return of Simply Red, 27 May 2003
By 
Giordano Luna Venegas (Santiago / Chile) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
Great melodies and beautiful lyrics configures an stupendous job of this British band. With this new album, Simply Red returns to the own origins of R&B, just like you can listen in “A New Flame” or “Stars”.
I recommend specially, the following tracks: “Home”, “Fake” and “You make me fell brand new”. This last song is special for a romantic night with your girlfriend or boyfriend.
Enjoy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mick comes Home, 6 April 2003
By 
stephen clifford (Bedworth, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
As a former punk rocker who listened to all kinds of music ( strange,I know) I find one band that I can sit and relax to are Simply Red. Home to me is a worthy cd which kind of reminds me of the old classic singer. Every now and again they pull one out of the draw.Mick excels with Sunrise, with obvious influence from Hall and Oates. A couple of worthy cover versions, which are at least sung and not trashed like most these days. Although not the best album they have made Home is what the title says. Home, a place to sit down, relax and chill. Like your old pair of slippers, getting on in life but still comfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on Track, 4 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Home: Limited Edition/+DVD (Audio CD)
After several years in the wilderness, Simply Red are back doing what Simply Red do best.
The problem with many acts which become mega-successful is that they either mistakenly believe their fan base will follow them down whichever fanciful road they chose to lead them, or they foolishly try to distance themselves from their past in order to 'reinvent' themselves. This is the mistake Simply Red made.
Just why Mick Hucknall thought it would be good to jump on the Fugees 5 minute bandwagon is anyone's guess. The millions who had bought 'Stars' were never going to appreciate it and the Fugees fans were hardly likely to welcome Mick Hucknell to their urban bosom. All Simply Red managed to do was alienate their fans.
However, 'Home' sees Hucknall back on track and finally back to doing what they do best - making well crafted pop/soul which wears its influences on its sleeve.
Of course not all of 'Home' hits home (excuse the obvious pun), but most of it does, and when it does, boy is it good.
Yes the album features an uncomfortable number of covers, but when they are as good as Simply Red's version of The Stylistics 'You Make Me Feel Brand New' you can forgive them. Mick's voice simply stuns.
'Sunrise', built as it is on a sample of Daryl Hall & John Oates 'I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)', could hardly fail, while 'Something For You' is pure 70s west coast Americana which could have come from the pen of classic Doobie Brothers or Steely Dan. Magic! So much for "They don't write 'em like that anymore".
It's good to see Mick Hucknall back on track and using THAT voice as it should be used. Welcome Home Mick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 4 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
I am always waiting for Simply Red's new cd's a long time before they arrive. This time I was so pleased, again. It is one of the best albums they have made. The more I listen, the more I love it. The sound is more like the music they made in the beginning. Which is the sound that made me love their music in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real music at last!, 18 Mar. 2003
By 
barrie (Nottingham,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
This is their best album in ages. It sounds like Mick is really enjoying life again and singing magnificently. My favourite song is the reflective title track 'Home', and the Stylistics cover 'You Make Me Feel Brand New',which Hucknall nails. I don't know how they came up with the single 'Sunrise' but it really works. Listening to this album is like seeing an old friend who you really like but haven't seen in ages. The band sound on great form and i think this album will head towards the top of the charts like a heat seeking device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOW GOOD IT IS TO HEAR MICK AND THE GANG AGAIN!!!!, 10 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
This cd is not available yet in the us ,but i couldn't wait so i ordered it from the uk and i am certainly not disappointed.Mick and the band sound as good as ever."SUNRISE" is the stand out cut in my opinion and "POSITIVELY 4TH ST." and "HOME LOAN BLUES" follow behind;though all the songs are good.The HALL & OATS sample on "SUNRISE" is used brilliantly! and Mick delivers great vocals on the cover of "YOU MAKE ME FEEL BRAND NEW".My only complaint is that both the song "SUNRISE" and the total cd is not long enough.They left me wanting more,which i guess is not necessarily a bad thing.DEFINITELY WORTH BUYING!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply not the best, 29 Mar. 2003
By 
Jay Marsden (Chichester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home (Audio CD)
Simply Red have returned with this new album Home. It has some
good songs on it but a couple of them rather let the album down
a bit. Nevertheless the other 8 make up for it. A good attempt
Mick but not your very best i am afraid. Still it is not the
worst album though. As artists get older they somewhat lose it
a bit! Sunrise and Something for you are my favourite tracks on
this album. The title track is fair, while Positively love street
is probably my least favourite song. However if you are a Simply
Red fan you must buy this otherwise approach with caution. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home: Limited Edition/+DVD
Home: Limited Edition/+DVD by Simply Red (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews