Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tough girl!
Having written the first review for Sophie's DVD, the ultimate conclusion to her last musical offerings, it only seems fitting that I review this first single from her forthcoming album, 'Shoot From The Hip'. For those of you haven't heard it, there are no real surprises with this track. Which is a good thing. Sophie's classic brand of retro-pop-dance is in full swing...
Published on 30 Sept. 2003 by N. Lewis

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
Far from the undisputed brilliance of "Murder On The Dancefloor", this comeback single is a rather dull affair. It's not a bad tune (a lot better than "Music Gets The Best Of Me" in fact) but being the lead single from her new album we were allowed to expect a bit more...
Published on 4 Oct. 2003 by s-czopek


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tough girl!, 30 Sept. 2003
By 
N. Lewis "flyguynw" (Warrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
Having written the first review for Sophie's DVD, the ultimate conclusion to her last musical offerings, it only seems fitting that I review this first single from her forthcoming album, 'Shoot From The Hip'. For those of you haven't heard it, there are no real surprises with this track. Which is a good thing. Sophie's classic brand of retro-pop-dance is in full swing here, borrowing heavily from tracks such as 'Get Over You' and 'Music Get's the Best Of Me', creating a feel good song that speaks a message to all (especially the girls!).
It starts with an intro influenced by the Human League, and could almost be 'Don't You Want Me' - again, in a good way - but then a distorted ad-lib from Ms Bextor signals that this is, in fact, the polka-dot Princess herself. It is nice to see that Sophie hasn't jumped on the Richard X, Elvis-vs-JXL bandwagon, and has applied elctropop to her own music, rather than splicing it from existing tracks. The song then jaunts nicely along, with Sophie's vocals building up. It's also refreshing to see an artist supplying all vocals to a track, unlike Rachel Stevens or Louise Nurding, who are practically drowned out by session singers on most of their tracks. It leaves you feeling uplifted, optimistic and definitly tapping a toe!
Air play wise, this track isn't getting much, simply because of the R'n'B/Hip-Hop revolution that is happening at the moment (Christina, Beyonce, Justin, 50 Cent et al), which is a shame. This is a really catchy, original and well rounded 'choon', that I just can't help smiling at when I hear it. In a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great new track from Sophie, 6 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
A Rocking new track from Ms Ellis-Bextor, again written by the team of Greg Alexander and Matt Rowe who helped sophie with her last series of hits. A slightly new sound for her but never the less its a good one, lets hope the rest of the new album is as groovy as this track. Get down the bookies and put 50 quid on this being number one soon!! you can only win!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophie delivers again!, 6 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
After a string of hits, Sophie manages another one with ease. One of her latest singles, Mixed Up World has the sassy sound of Sophie mixed with fantastic music. This is sure to be a hit in the clubs, and also in your living room if you’re that way inclined!
Like most Sophie songs, it tells a story and here we are told of a woman reassuring herself (and the listener) that it’s OK if you’re a tad confused, because you’re tough enough to handle it! Sophie vocals have such attitude and really work well with these lyrics, while the beat behind the track really gets you going. Top marks to Sophie for co-writing the song as well!
The “Groove Collision Vocal Mix” is awesome and creates a completely different, and perhaps more suitable, sounds for the single. You are also treated to the Video of the song which is yet another fantastic Sophie clip. Full of eye rolling, attitude, and foot tapping, this clip, and the song for that matter, is one hundred percent Sophie and one hundred percent quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Mixed Up, 15 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
Cool lady of icy pop has returned with a lovely 80's sounding number. It's no Murder On The Dance Floor or Get Over You, but Sophie still has a few things right. Mixed Up World bears the singer's trademark vocals and an irresistable dance groove. And that she has the guts to put this single out with such a great, tongue-in-cheek cover is an extra star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new Grace Kelly?, 14 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
When I first heard this song I thought it was just ok, too much similar to her most successful singles to launch the new Sophie perhaps, but there's something in the lyrics, in the way she sings it and in the melody that makes me more and more addicted to it. And the video is very cool, ironic and as camp as it is supposed to be. If all you see is contradiction and cynicism rules your day, this might be the song for you, but I hope both you and her will feel better soon. I'll keep fingers crossed in the meanwhile. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Up Single, 17 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
From Mixed Up World, I was expecting a more dance-y track like Take Me Home or Murder On The Dancefloor or Get Over You (pretty much all her singles). This was a weird single and not too much of my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 4 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Mixed Up World (Audio CD)
Far from the undisputed brilliance of "Murder On The Dancefloor", this comeback single is a rather dull affair. It's not a bad tune (a lot better than "Music Gets The Best Of Me" in fact) but being the lead single from her new album we were allowed to expect a bit more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mixed Up World
Mixed Up World by Sophie Ellis Bextor (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews