Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gig was superb, video was great, this is even better
I attanded this gig on a balmy hot August day with my wife (dont laught) all the other bands just didnt have it, AC/DC came on with the sun setting and BHAM!!!
The most intense 2 hours, the power and sheer size of the set was awesome, we left the festival and felt ellated, well I did anyway. When the Video came out it was another classic AC/DC concert everything was...
Published on 13 Oct 2003 by Mr C P Rowe

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not blu-ray
AC/DC are one of the best bands in the world today. I have seen them numerous times, three times in Donington park and i was there at this show in 91. This is a great concert DVD but its not high definition. Do yourself a favor and just buy the normal version. How people can be allowed to pass this off as blu-ray is a disgrace. I bought this expecting to see an...
Published on 28 July 2010 by sateeb


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gig was superb, video was great, this is even better, 13 Oct 2003
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I attanded this gig on a balmy hot August day with my wife (dont laught) all the other bands just didnt have it, AC/DC came on with the sun setting and BHAM!!!
The most intense 2 hours, the power and sheer size of the set was awesome, we left the festival and felt ellated, well I did anyway. When the Video came out it was another classic AC/DC concert everything was there, even I might add some bad notes from Angus, I'm glad he left those in. But as per usual an average Video player and TV just cant give you the power from this gig, well thats about to end.
I got hold of the Led Zeppelin DVD and with DTS and 5.1 it just blows you away, Stiff Upper Lip on DVD does the same. Get this DVD, its one hell of a ride, turn the volume up sit back and lap it up, your in for one hell of a treat..DVD 5.1 and AC/DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC - We salute you!, 15 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Okay, this is filmed around 3/4 way through the Razors Edge world tour of '91. The tour schedule looks hectic, almost a gig in a different city every second night. You know that with that kind of schedule the band might be exhausted, but boy will they know their songs. They do, however, take a 4 day break before Donnington - and it shows - rock solid and excrutiatingly tight, they storm through all the classics with the sound quality so good you could mistake it for the albums. Make no mistake, no one sounds like AC/DC, they are, simply, one of the greatest rock bands of all time, and this DVD is a testament to that fact. This is 2 hours of heavy rock - delivered by the titans of rock, and captured perfectly. On the back of the DVD packaging there is some marketing spiel, "...one of the greatest live concert documents of all time" - this time it's true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, absolutely!, 11 May 2006
By 
Mr. P. Andrews "Old Harry Rocker" (Poole, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Hello all. I must say I'm so glad I bought this - after some of the negative views by others who don't really know what they're talking about... on the question of over dubbing:

The only problem with the DVD is that there is a danger it is a bit over produced - too many cameras and angles, but this can be justified by the size of the stage and trying to cover all of the action (especially keeping track of Angus!)

The other thing to take into account is that these guys have been going 30 years and have developed such a unique and tight sound that it is often hard for people to believe that this is actually a LIVE! peformance (There would be huge legal implications for Sony/Epic if they used studio recordings - believe me, they just wouldn't do it! Especially with the laws on this sort of thing being tightened up)

Also, there are problems with bounce back from the gigantic speakers filling the park which means you'll occasionally get problems with camera angles and the sound matching up.

There have been comparisons with the Led Zeppelin DVD but this is impossible- the settings are completely different, the music is completely different etc etc but both prove that the bands of old just have something that bit extra than all of the current drossy, samey, weak stuff out today.

Angus is know as one of the best guitarists of our time (along with Page and Hendrix) because of the technical, note perfect everytime, genius riffs that he can play for hours on end without ever missing a beat - another reason that this isn't overdubbed.

This is a collosal DVD and well worth the money (disregard the nay-sayers) - It even got my old gran (she's 92) out of her wheelchair and through all of the arthritic pain - she was goose stepping and head banging along with Angus! Sure, I had to call the ambulance afterward, but she had a smile on her face as she was being stretchered out. Young and old, all will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the dogs sparklers........., 22 Mar 2009
By 
W. MacKay (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yep this is more like it..The no Bull blu ray was a bit of a let down as far as picture quality went.This Donnington transition is a breath of fresh air.Firstly the picture quality and the camera work are even more stunning than on my original dvd version.The sound is much more defined on my 5:1 set up.Considering this is an older recording than No Bull,you would think the total opposite.Its a must for all AC/DC fans wanting to see and hear them at their best.It contains all the classic tracks plus more.If you're new to the AC/DC sound or just another old timer like me,buy it you wont be Dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is , undoubltadly, the best live gig I own on DVD! AC/DC rocks generally, but this live DVD makes it all come good. The show itself features some preety cool props:
1) A giant inflatable Angus head with devil horns and a tail during "Hell ain't a Bad Place to be."
2) A huge church bell during "Hells Bells."
3) A giant inflatable Rosie during "Whole lotta Rosie"
4) A simply HUGE inflatable Angus who drops its trousers (pants) during "Let there be Rock", and reveals its Union Jack underwear, and
5) Over a dozen real cannons that fire for about 3 minutes at the end of "For Those about to Rock (We Salute You)."

Now, you might be reading this thinking "Hmm, why haven't they given it 5*?" Well for 2 reasons *(1/2 a * of for each.)

1) The box lies. The cameras do not follow a particular member of the band throughout the concert. There are 3 for Angus, and, as far as I can remember, only one for the other band members, and none at all for the drummer!! And only the ones on Angus actually look at the same person for the whole song; on the others the cameramen always get distracted, primarily by Angus.

2) Bit of a petty complaint, this one. During "Let there be Rock", Angus Young goes to a platform in the crowds for a brief time. Great. Except it takes him 5 minutes to get there, and 5 minutes to get back. I got SO BORED!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you love AC/DC, or just wanna try them out as something new, go for it! Just don't buy it purley for the camera focus thing, and try not to get bored. Just fast forward, because, trust me on this, the rest of the concert is totally worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rock At It's VERY best!!! Fantastic, 12 Nov 2003
By 
alan (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is truly one of the best live performances I have ever seen, an absolute classic. I own Stiff Upper Lip and No Bull but this DVD leaves them standing!!. Brians voice is fantastic and Angus (in my opinion) has never sounded better than this. This is a lesson in how to play rock music and should be watched by anyone who likes guitars and loud music. The scale of this show is immense. Highlight for me has to be the amazing versions of JailBreak and High Voltage. Nice One Lads!!! Can't wait for next tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filmed in 32mm film, 1 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AC/DC are excellently captured on this 1991 Donnington performence, but I think the reason this excelent conecrt has made it on to blu-ray is because it was originally filmed on 32mm film (very high quality), if you have the original VHS tape there will be a huge difference in quality reviled by the blu-ray technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Donington yet, 12 Nov 2003
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Like the other bloke, I was at this gig although I have to say that Motley Crue surprised me by being pretty good on the day. Metallica weren't bad but were, even then, something of a self-parody. Who else was there ... Black Crowes, was it? Bit dull. Queensryche? Oh dear, not their thing really.
AC/DC tore Donington apart with a relentless set, a copy of which is indispensable to those who were there in the days before manufactured rock bands and enjoyed the day as much as myself. If you weren't there, here's the next best thing. Utterly fantastic, even to an old cynic. This is rock'n'roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ??????, 6 Jun 2009
By 
N. Metcalfe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I can't believe what some people are writing about this. The soundtrack to this album was recorded the same way as AC/DC record the music on all their albums, LIVE!!!
This is AC/DC at their finest. Yes you can argue about the two eras of the band (Scott/Johnson), but at the end of the day it doesn't matter. It's a story that can never be changed.
What you have here is a piece of history. One of the world's best ever bands at their absolute peak.
David Mallet has done a fantastic cinematographical(?) job on this. He is the only person that could manage to convey in video form the power and exitement that AC/DC generate. This particular director and this particular band were made for each other. I know that, you know that and more importantly, they know that. Which is why they've worked together for the past 23 years.

If you like your Rock hard and you havn't got this DVD yet GET IT NOW! In fact get it twice and watch it in stereo!!! Your eyes and ears will love you for it.

Also. To person who wrote described Jailbreak as a 'filler'. Is this a wind up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AC / DC Live at Donington, 28 July 2004
This review is from: Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The video is better than DVD !!!
I have had AC / DC Live at Donington on video for about 10 years now and after waiting for it to come out on DVD I am quite disapointed, the sound ( and is it just me ) the picture quality is actually better on the video !?!?
I think the phrase "some things are just best left alone" comes to mind..........( I think they have just tried to hard to make the concert better for DVD )
However saying that it is one of the best concerts EVER and buying the DVD is still worth it so you can flick from song to song easier than video.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Donington [DVD] [2003]
Live At Donington [DVD] [2003] by AC/DC (DVD - 2003)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews