Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Nicholson at his best!! Absolutley hilarious and worth every penny!!
How anybody could not like this film is beyond me! It's a very funny film, with a good ending and generally just enjoyable!

Adam Sandler plays a good part but no where near as good as Jack Nicholson. Nicholson's potrayal of the doctor who tries to cure Adam Sandler's character is fantastic! Nicholson's jokes are hilarious and his general manor and quotes are...
Published on 23 Jan 2007 by xxFilmloverxx

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good performances by two talented entertainers
The two central peformances are the only real reason for watching this film. Sandler is endearing and Nicholson is in his most showy mode. His performance is reminiscent of Daryl Van Horn fom The Witches of Eastwick (1987). This is not great acting, but it is the work of two talented entertainers.

Some scenes in the film are very good indeed. The scene on the...
Published on 19 Jan 2007 by Greshon


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Specs, 24 April 2008
By 
Mark "Great Deals On Blu-Ray" (Chelyabinsk, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
1080P 2.40:1 Widescreen
English and Portuguese (Brazilian) Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround
Czech, Hungarian, Polish (VO), Russian, Spanish (Latin American) and Thai DD5.1 Surround
English Audio Description 5.1
Subtitles: English, English HOH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese (Mandarin Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Korean, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Romanian, Slovak, Slovene, Spanish (Latin Am), Thai, Turkish
Commentary with Adam Sandler and Director Peter Segal
"Skull Session" Behind-the-Scenes Featurette
"My Buddy, Jack" Featurette
Deleted Scenes
Gag Reel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boredom Management, 12 Feb 2004
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The only reason I agreed to rent this film with a friend was because the amazing Jack Nicholson is in it. I have always hated Adam Sandler and I thought "maybe my opinion will change after watching this"... I couldnt have been more wrong. I can safely say that I will NEVER watch a movie with his name in it again. It was only mildly amusing, and Adams acting was cringful. Even Jack was a bit bland, it isn't his type of charcter. If you are looking for something that is highly funny, energetic and good fun- this is not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Adam Sandler Classic, 29 Jan 2005
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have just watched this film on TV. And it has not let me down, as a Adam Sandler fan. I have previously watched all Adam Sandler movies including; Billy Madison, Happy Gilmore and The Waterboy and many more. This movie has not let me down. The movie starts off with David (Adam Sandler) asking for a pair of headphones where the assistant takes her time, they all get very serious and he ends up being sent to court. During this movie you do not know what is going to happen next, at one stage i was thinking that the guy who is supposed to help him is not helping him at all. I don't want to reveal too much about this movie so i don't spoil it for you.
In my opinion this again is another Adam Sandler classic, if you have liked previous Adam Sandler movies this should not let you down.
Fives Stars for Me.
Hope this is a help to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 30 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There was something delightful about Adam Sandler's first two movies. Proudly goofy and delightfully stupid, they still managed some great bits and Sandler threw himself into every routine with the kind of energy he showed on Saturday Night Live. It was when Sandler tried to mix actual romantic/dramatic plots into the usual comedy ("Big Daddy", "Mr. Deeds") that things started to turn sour.
"Anger Management" is another in a long line of similar Sandler characters, only this time the film seems to be more concerned with the fact that "Hey, we got Jack Nicholson, too!" than actually crafting anything much that's very funny. There's a ridiculous amount of potential here, but nobody involved seems to really care much. Cameos - a staple of any Sandler movie - barely raise a laugh (Bobby Knight's kinda funny) or are just embarrassing (Woody Harrelson as a German transvestite).
Sandler stars as Dave Buznik, an assistant who gets into some hot water on a plane flight to St. Louis. It wasn't his fault - as the trailers give away, he was just asking for some headphones - but the judge doesn't see it his way. He's assigned to Dr. Buddy Rydell (Nicholson)'s anger management group - Rydell just happens to be the passenger that was sitting next to him on the plane. That doesn't help though - one of his fellow group members gets him into a bar fight that includes a blind man. This, while not funny in theory, leads to the film's funniest moment, where Dave's lawyer (Kevin Nealon, terrific) tries to prove that the blind man isn't that blind.
So, instead of being thrown in jail, Buddy suggests to the judge that Dave be assigned to him for thirty days. What Dave doesn't realize is that this makes Buddy his roommate. Prime comedy material, right? Wrong. "Anger Management" plays it safe, never going beyond that in its attempt to put Sandler and Nicholson against each other. The idea that Buddy is more in need of some serious work than Dave is potentially decent idea never really developed into anything too hilarious by the script, which nevertheless tries to milk that one joke again and again (and again).
Again, I like Sandler. "Happy Gilmore" and "Billy Madison" took clever, silly ideas, some classic lines and made the most out of the characters. "Wedding Singer" was funny, if forgettable. "Punch-Drunk Love" didn't go over well with some audiences, but I thought Sandler provided a fine performance, and I liked that he was moving his career in another direction with a better director than he usually works with. In "Anger Management", however, he seems to realize that he's playing the least interesting version of a character that's he's done so many times before; even the slow-burn rage that Sandler has made famous really isn't shown here that much.
It also doesn't help that he's overshadowed by Nicholson (who seems to be at least trying to add some energy to a movie that desperately needs it), or the fact that the two don't have much chemistry. The movie also manages to fit Marisa Tomei (looking better than ever) in a few scenes as Dave's girlfriend, but she's criminally underused. If there was a "Most Thankless Role" award at the Oscars next year, she'd be a lock to win.
The film seemed even a bit more promising, given that Peter Segal was directing. Segal has previously been responsible for "Tommy Boy" and "Nutty Professor II"; neither a classic, but the former moved along and had two great performances, while the latter was an improvement over the first film. Here, he shows little style, poor sense of pacing and the kind of comedic timing that the previous two films showed is not seen here. To his credit, the screenplay is terrible, but Segal doesn't try to make magic out of mediocrity.
While I do admit that "Anger Management" throws out a few good bits (many of which you've already seen in the trailer), there are an alarming amount of jokes here that fall flat (having the two characters stop in the middle of rush-hour traffic and sing "I Feel Pretty" is just painfully unfunny and, like several of the film's gags, just stops the story in its tracks), go on longer than they should, or the punch line is made far too obvious. In addition, it occasionally seems like a scene transition or two are missing.
Again, there's so much potential here. Both stars could have been so capable of turning this situation into a delightful comic nightmare, where Buddy's methods got increasingly weirder and Dave finally started to lock horns with his new therapist - in other words: the whole thing, much angrier. The film's worst step was making Dave really not in need of anger management, finding himself in a situation he shouldn't have been in. The movie could have made this into a delightfully dark nightmare, but it doesn't. In a better version, Dave would have been as implosive - if not even more - than he's described as being.
Now that would have been funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious Humourous bundle!, 10 Dec 2003
By 
Ben (UK, essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Oh God! This made me laugh loads! It is so good and i recommend it greatly! Adam and jack are brilliant in this film about how adam sandlers character is "ANGRY" with a great twist at the end! It is funny, rude and emotional, a great package and i urge you to see it! 5/5 comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nicholson and Sandler connection, 8 Dec 2003
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The question in everyones mind about Anger Management was how would Nicholson and Sandler collaborate. The answer was as simple as 2+2, irresistable. The film is hilariously funny and works on so many levels. Nicholoson is a genius and Sandler is superb, they connect beautifully and have the audience in tears almost every 30 seconds. The comedy has a basic plot - easy enough for a gym teacher to understand. Nicholson sets out to cure Sandler's anger problems, does he succeed? Find out! But i warn you, pack a spare pair of undies, because this ones a howler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Temper Is The Only Thing You Can't Get Rid Of By Losing It!, 21 July 2005
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
After a mixed up year at the box office in 2002 with the success 'Mr Deeds' and then a bit of a flop with 'Punch - Drunk Love', Adam Sandler went on to do this movie, 'Anger Managment' feeling that maybe the pairing of himself and one of Hollywood's most respected actors, Jack Nicholson, would be enough to ensure him a box office hit. Unfortunately it wasn't, although what we are left with is still a very entertaining and at times funny, little movie.
When Dave Buznik, a very quiet, passive guy who designs clothing for over weight cats for a living gets a little hot round the collar on an airoplane after being ignored completely by an air hostess, he finds himself in court and sentenced to a period of anger managment. He finds himself under the care of Dr. Buddy Rydell, a rather crazy man, who decides to move in with Dave in order to keep a close eye on his progress. The doctors methods are simply to confront every situation head on and has Dave beating up old school bullies amongst a whole load of other things.
I think one of the problems with this film is that it tries just a litle to hard to be funny and while at times it is, occassionally the jokes fall flat, unlike some of Sandlers other movies. We also feel quite sorry for Dave as he seems like a nice guy who is put through a lot of nonsence for no reason other than to build his confidence - surely there is a better way than this. Despite all of this however, i still thoroughly enjoyed the film and was entertained the whole time.
We see Sandler playing a slightly different type of character than we are used to seeing him playing, in Dave Buznik a quiet, passive clothes designer for fat cats. He plays the role well and fans can still see that Sandler hunour shining through. Jack Nicholson is good in his role as the crazy Dr. Buddy Rydell who is quite likeable when you find out that all his unconventional methods for all for a reason. The lovely Marisa Tomei is on hand as Dave's girlfriend and many of the usual Sandler gang are there also.
There are a number of nice extras on the DVD, that include: two nice featurettes; 'Skull Session' a making of documentary and 'My Buddy, Jack' a look at Jack Nicholson from interviews with other cast members etc, deleted scenes, a bloopers reel (outtakes), a feature length commentary with both Peter Segal the director and Adam Sandler, a number of trailers for this and several other movies out at the same time, and finally a little animated quiz to test whether you need anger managment as well. All give the DVD a little more depth and an insight into the making of the film etc.
Overall, while 'Anger Managment' isn't in amongst Sandler's (or Jack Nicholson's) best work, it is still quite funny and indeed entertaining in places with some of that Sandler humour fans love. The pairing of him and Nicholson i think works pretty well and with a nice twist at the end, this film is certainly worth a go. If you are a fan of either of the two then i should take a look at this film and see for yourself what you think. If you take away nothing else from it, remember: "temper is the only thing you can't get rid of by losing it!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst story lines i've seen since flinstones the movie, 31 May 2006
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Well.....where do i start....this film was so bad that i stopped watching it and chucked it out of my laptop in a rage of dissapointment and anger after only 25 minutes (the scene on the bridge!) I found this film to contain horrible acting, a highly unbelievable story line and it actually made me angry just watching it. I mean unless a film is a Sci-Fi i believe the storyline should be fairly believable, but the events in just the first 15 minutes of the film were so unbelievable that i could not bare to watch any longer. From the cop over reacting about nothing (playing on the stupid hype of the need for increased security since 9/11) to an angry psychiatrist trying to teach someone how to control their angry. I feel this film might of been much more enjoyable and actually watchable should the storyline have just of been more realistic.

If this doesn't put you off, i think the saying "you get what you pay for" says it all, and how can a film, that you can get brand new for just over 2 end up being any good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anger Management, 29 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Anger Management [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
For me there are only 2 types of people in the world, those who love adam sandler's movies and those that hate them. If you dont like adam sandler you wont like this movie, simple. If you have seen Sandler's work before it is on the same lines, with many of his Happy Madison crew joining him for the film. Also Jack Nicholson and John Turretto are on fine form with lots of great gags and witty lines.
Its a Sandler movie, you know what to expect, expect laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Anger Management [DVD] [2003]
Anger Management [DVD] [2003] by Peter Segal (DVD - 2003)
2.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews