Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Compilation, 4 Dec. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very often when you have experienced something in the flesh and you look forward to a souvenir of the occasion you can be disappointed. I was lucky enough to attend performances of four of the annual Folk Blues tours. I have waited long enough for a video recording to make its appearance. We already have the boxed set of CDs of the concerts which added to the original LPs. This DVD is a superb bonus. Revues elsewhere suggest that the surroundings subdue the performers. Take my word for it that people such as Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters, John Lee Hooker, Howlin' Wolf or any of the others were totally unfazed by their surroundings. I have seen many of them in clubs as well as concert halls and dance halls. They always ignored their surroundings and this comes across in these performances. If you buy no other video for a year, make this the one. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blues gold, 24 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
iam a blues fan, there are not many blues archive film or dvd for us fans ,i bought this on spec ,there are 18 tracks of pure gold,from t bone walker to the great muddy waters band ,the sound is mono and crystal clear this is part of a two disc set volume two is on sale now, do yourself a favour, boogie on line and order a copy now i promise it will not dissapoint, the genius of these old guys is breathtaking ,hot,cool,and soooo classy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are so very lucky..., 1 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
... to have these recordings. Criticsm can only come from someone too tired and jaded to appreciate their uniqueness. For all other grateful blues fans, these are examples of what greatness there is in raw talent, simplicity and blues innovation. These performers were amongst the first and best to record.
I can only hope that the UK TV recordings of the tour receive the same superb treatment and release, very, very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great old blues footage, 4 May 2014
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The American Folk Blues Festival was a series of tours of American
blues musicians in Europe starting in 1962. The recordings on this
volume were from 1962-1966. The tours were organized by Horst Lippmann
and Fritz Rau with the help of Willie Dixon, who played very important
roles in getting the American musicians on board and also, as one can
see in various videos, as a musical director, in addition to his bass
and guitar playing and singing. Some of the recordings are staged for
TV, some are from concert settings. It's all very interesting in one
way or another. A few personal highlights for me in this volume: I
finally got to actually see Lonnie Johnson play. I gained greater
insight into how important Willie Dixon is. There is some great
footage of Earl Hooker, who deserves to be more widely known. The
first is some hilarious backstage footage in which he goofs around,
playing a country tune and immitating a redneck. Then, he goes onstage
and really cooks, playing some great blues, situated at the modern
edge of Chicago blues, with a 60s edge to it. And then there's Junior
Wells, and T-Bone Walker, Sonny Boy Williamson and Muddy Waters,
and...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really IS essential blues, 28 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If I were cranky, grumpy, whining nit-picking person, I would say it's a pity these SENSATIONAL recordings are not presented chronologically - you get songs from 1962 to 1969 (excellent bonus tracks of Earl Hooker) - but who cares?
Sonny Boy Williamson, Otis Spann, Big Joe Williams, T-Bone Walker and the rest of the crew is captured at (or darn near) their creative peak and the footage is beautiful (although I tend to agree with the comments that stress the inadequacy of fake-rural setting for an artist such as T-Bone Walker)...
My favorite performances of this DVD (after only watching it twice) are given by Sonny Boy Williamson ("Nine Below Zero") and Sippie Wallace ("Women be Wise"), but there's no weak track here.

Additional joy is when the blues giants introduce each other (T-Bone introduces Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee, McGhee introduces Memphis Slim...) and I should mention that they accompany each others features (T-Bone Walker and Willie Dixon play for Memphis Slim, Otis Spann and Dixon play for Lonnie Johnson, Buddy Guy plays for Eddie Boyd, Boyd and Guy play for Walter "Shakey" Horton...)...

p.s.
The design of the DVD and the liner notes are excellent, but it seems to me that the same booklet is used for volumes 1 & 2 (and probably for vol. 3, but I haven't bought that one. Yet.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Promt delivery of this record of rare performances., 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Excellent record of early performances by Negro Blues Singers. Contains mostly of TV shows but this should not put anybody off investing in these recordings. Need to buy the set of all 3 DVDs to fully appreciate this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD 's 1,2 &3 blues series, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I write in respect of all thre DVD's which have collated a wonderful thre sets of old footage of the early black blues.singers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Satisfeito
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The American Folk Blues Festival Volume 1 - 1962-1966 [DVD] [2003]
£7.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews