Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto 3 and Vice City Double Pack (Xbox)
I have just completed vice city and I ended up doing the final mission 3 times over because I could not accept that it was over. There is such immense pleasure to be had with this game, it is brilliant in its video scenes, its story line, its characterisation, its humour, it soundtrack, its atmosphere and its diverse range of missions.
I have had this double pack a...
Published on 27 Feb 2004 by MR BENJAMIN D NORTON

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars xbox 360 game
havent had a chance to play this game yet as it requires you to have a large hard drive on your console, it requires at least a 250 gb memory, once you have the large hard drive the game is excellent i have hours of fun playing it.
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by suzy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand Theft Auto 3 and Vice City Double Pack (Xbox), 27 Feb 2004
By 
MR BENJAMIN D NORTON (Perth, Perthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
I have just completed vice city and I ended up doing the final mission 3 times over because I could not accept that it was over. There is such immense pleasure to be had with this game, it is brilliant in its video scenes, its story line, its characterisation, its humour, it soundtrack, its atmosphere and its diverse range of missions.
I have had this double pack a month and a half now. That's not to say that I have completed it quickly or that its easy, its not because in terms of hours I have spent, there have been loads. I have barely touched GTA 3 because I have been so ensconced with Vice City and now I have completed it I look forward to starting GTA 3.
Just Vice City alone is worth double the money it will cost you to buy this double pack. My advice to anyone who has just started or is about to start Vice City is don't rush from mission to mission, take your time, make the experience last and do the various sub missions. It will help your tactical sense and your geographical knowledge of the city thus making the missions more doable.
Jump up and down, scream and kick, do anything to obtain this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new killer app!, 12 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. J. T. D. Lewis "360ite" (Newport , South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
I'm about 3/4's through gta3 on the xbox
It's absolutely awesome. feels like a tiny step backward from true crime in some gameplay respects, but that's quickly forgotten. I ripped the GTA 1 score to my xbox to drive around to. top laughs! The graphics are a vast improvement over the PS2 as long as you turn "trails" off in the setup menu. not sure why that feature exists as it downgrades the graphics to PS2 standard! It's automatically set to "trails on" so be sure to turn it off!
The graphics clean up is quite startling playing with an RGB cable. All the road signs, shop windows, posters etc.are now readable, all characters have lip synched (to a point) moving mouths, they have moving fingers! This is how it should have looked on the PS2 I guess. Whether it's the extra coding time Rockstar have had or the graphic grunt of the Xbox or both..GTA has never looked better.
Sound also sounds good, with Dolby Digital 5.1 used to max effect. Police cars swerving around your head and cars exploding behind you as you run away.... to graze the surface of the surround experience! Lovely.
On options, pump the music volume up to max and the sound effects down a couple of notches for the best setting.
The control system is great and does play really well.
also of note...there is no "on screen" map on GTA3. It's there on Vice City but not on GTA3. It did , however exist on the PS2 .. but don't quote me.
The big bonus of this version over the PS2 is the custom soundtracks. Implemented much better than "true crime streets of l.a", the track remains where you left it when you get out of the car, or get in a new one. Also, it will play everything on your Hard drive and you can skip through the "cds" and tracks. Magic.
Vice city I have yet to sample in depth, but all the points I have mentioned here carry over to vice city too. Including the Map..It's there!
all in all, the 2nd and 3rd "killer apps" now an xbox. up there wth Halo!
for the price of one game..?... I'm looking for the catch.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game has everything!, 22 May 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
Impossible to express just how good this game is. It has restored my belief and interest in the world of consoles games. It has everything and more that you could want from a game. Most games leave me feeling that they could have been better, but I don't see how this game could have been improved upon. There is so much to do and see, apart from the main aspects of the game. Hours can be spent driving around admiring the scenery, performing stunts in the various vehicles, starting gunfights, snipeing people and causing mayhem and chaos. Best of all are the police and the frantic and often hilarious chases. Throughout the game new areas and touches of brilliance are found. The helicopter is great and can be used to fly from area to area over the massive city. I cannot recommend this game enough. Possible the best game ever made. Everyone should play this game and experience gaming perfection. This review is relevant for both of the games, with Vice City probably having the edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Gaming, 4 Nov 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
The Grand Theft Auto series seems to be something everyones played. And it would seem now that many gamers are still playing this classics, that have 'thankfully' been brought over to the xbox. Apart some smoother graphics, and quicker load times, the game keeps what made it so special - a whole world for you to explore. And its yours!

Yep, you don't even have to do the missions to enjoy GTA. Afterall, how many gamers can say they've never been with mates, and made up their own challenges? Whether it be.. "Who can make it across 'that' bridge on GTA 3" or "Who can shoot down the most police helicopters". The game just seems to go on, and you rarely get tired.

GTA III feels and looks alot more darker than Vice City, with it being set in present day, in the grim streets of Liberty City, where it rains, rains.. oh yeah, and the skies are grey! I think this adds to the atmosphere though. The controls are fairly simple, and missions are straight forward.

Vice City takes a different aproach at adding more story, and a whole new atmosphere, as the game takes place in a brihgt Miami Vice style island, where the sun always shines. In fairness, its a good change from GTA 3, and is good for the summer, whereas GTA3 has always been a winter game.

Both games have the same elements - weapons, cars of all types, crazy..crazy members of the public (even crazier on vice city!) and lots of what made it so popular - pure killing.

Got the baseball bat? You can just go and batter a shopper whos walking down the street. Or use a flame thrower to kill numbers of police officers in one go. Or get the shotgun to blow cars up with ease. Vice City improves on the weapons side with things like a Mini gun (its the opposite - a large gattling gun) or if your feeling even more rage, get yourself a machette, or a screwdriver. Or.. why not use the chainsaw, and watch the blood splatter on screen. Its pointless killing, yet incredibly fun - possibly because its so unreal.

The same goes with the AI - you look at the way people walk, and you just have to laugh. A fat guy will waddle slowly, yet if you shoot him, he'll run away as quick as lightening. Or shoot a sun bather on Vice City, and watch them flailing their arms about like kids. The speech is funny too, with some good quotes.

The transportation department is even better on Vice City too - with the help of bikes, mopeds, army tanks (available without the cheat at the army base) and of course my favourite.. the army helicopter! Its doesnt stop eitherm you can get ice cream vans, huge trucks, lorrys.. its endless, and so, so fun.

If their was ever a game you just to had to have on the PS2, it was GTA3. now, for a small price, you can get both games, with improvements, for the more powerful xbox. Ask yourself, is their any reason you shouldn't buy this?....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Precious Gems Still Shining, 17 Feb 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
I have bought both these games twice now, what greater testament can be bestowed upon them, for they are two of the most sublimely diverse and rewarding games in history.
The medley of missions and side quests, as I like to call them, positively ooze with variety and are limited only by the imagination of the beholder, well almost.
These remarkable and prodigious masterpieces must really be seen to be appreciated. They are in essence life itself, only with more violence. A whole world to traverse with different experiences to be gained everytime.
Few other games can offer such rich entertainment and divergent forms of enjoyment in one package. I can only see these games being bested by rockstar itself. What other developer can tackle the earnest issue of violence and crime in such a gratifying and ultimately jocular manner. Marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential re-release, 2 Jan 2004
By 
Harry Carr "carrliadiere" (Teddington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
This re-release of the two most recent GTA games is an absolutely essential purchase for any fan of the games. The reason? The XBox versions are far, far superior to the PS2 versions which preceeded them.
The L and R triggers used to control cars affords you a FAR greater level of control, and the custom soundtrack option, which manifests itself in a CD player in GTAIII and a tape deck in GTA:VC, adds to the game even more.
After a reasonably lengthy and difficult getaway from the police, i completed a jump over a river to safety... just as 'Mr E's Beautiful Blues', one of my favourite songs, kicked in on the car radio, as a custom track. It doesn't get much better than that!
Grand Theft Auto III shines, literally. The character models have had a hefty re-think, and everything is much more defined. The cars are shiny to an extreme, and reflect the city and the light beautifully. The draw distance is also much better than the PS2 version, and there are no points where you see a blue square on the road where the PS2 would be struggling to load the graphics.
When you save the game, it is almost instant. Not as instant as it is on Halo, but FAR faster than the PS2 versions.
What this all adds up to is the tweaking to perfection of a brilliant game. The XBox is the ultimate console for this game, and although Rockstar are tied to the PS2 for the foreseeable future, they could seriously consider XBox versions, as the console offers far more for this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GAME YOU ALWAYS WANTED ON X BOX YOU'VE NOW GOT, 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
The much acclaimed ps2 versions of these games have now become available on the x box. The games are fast highly addictive and have great playability. Vice city adds a new twist to the GTA scene, 8o's beach life bikinis guns and cash. Whether you want to play for 5 minutes or 5 hours, do missions or mess about, GTA's lifespan seems endless. great games with a new flavour added...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still numero uno in my XBOX collection ..., 31 Aug 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
I've had this game for a few months now. In all honesty I can say that this is the only game I have been playing for longer than a few weeks. No matter how many new and interesting games I add to my collection the GTA double pack ends up back in my XBOX DVD-drive at least once a month.
Although the graphics are not really state-of-the-art for todays standard this lack is well compensated by the unique gameplay the GTA series have to offer. The cities are huge and next to the in-game missions there's lots of side action going on as well (driving games, stunts, ...).
This is definately a title everybody with a passion for the xbox should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun! About time xbox owners can enjoy Rockstars genius, 25 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. D. A. Guest "echopark77" (Daventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
Firtsly let me say that this is great value for money as you get GTA3 and Vice City in one £40 pack.
If you have ever played the Playstation2 versions you will have definatley found them entertaining. There is a hughe variety of missions and things to do, shooting driving, stealing and fighting are all here in equall measure. The Xbox has got one over the Playstation2 in terms of loading times which take only seconds compared to the PS2's minutes. Also I found the xbox versions to be slightly smoother and less glitchy in gameplay. Plus you can upload soundtracks to listen to in cars, although the adverts can be very funny.
These are two well established games given new life by the power of the Xbox. The only critisism I have is that it can be very tiresome trying to do a really hard mission over and over again, but i am quite impatient and the mix of mission objectives keeps it fun the whole way through.
You should seriously look at buying this double pack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Senseless Voilence! Brilliant!, 12 Jan 2004
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto Vice City- Double Pack (Xbox) (Video Game)
Nothing beats getting in from a hard day at work, cranking up the Xbox and then running around beating up prostitutes and smashing up as many cars as you can! The escapism this game offers is fantastic and fully demonstrates why this game has an 18 certificate. Do not attempt any of this at home!
Any review under the Playstation 2 fully applies here and the cheats are even the same albeit you will need to find an article which explains the button differences.
I haven't had it long enough to take seriously yet. Finding the low gravity cheat and the one that makes cars bounce was too much fun! Flying Fire Engines? This game has everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews