Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 22 April 2004
By 
sheeshkabab (luton and caerphilly) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
the pure emotion in matts voice with the crushing screams make this an essential album for every one the best tracks are art of american football, kiss & make up and this years most open heartbrake this is the best ep to come out of britain for a very long time the album will be just as great aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before they went pop., 17 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
I was a Funeral for a Friend fan very early on, from the first time I saw the 10:45 Amsterdam Conversations video on Scuzz. I only saw it that once. The next thing I knew, having frequented their boards for a couple of years, the Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation album had broke them, and suddenly I was seen as a bandwagon jumper.

Seven Ways To Scream Your Name is an inviting prospect. Consisting of six of the eight songs from their two EPs, plus the extraneous 'Getaway Plan', it is made up of the band's seven best songs, without exception. In their early days, the band were heavier, younger and brattier. These seven songs crackle with wonderful energy, and drummer Ryan's extreme vocals take as prominent as place as Matt Davies' doleful melodies.

'10:45 Amsterdam Conversation' opens the set; it's arguably their best track, but there is not an ounce of fat on this short compilation. With both EPs out of print and going for hundreds on eBay, this is the closest most will get to hearing the earlier material. Compared to both of the studio albums (Casually... featured several watered down versions of EP songs, including Juneau, a reworked Juno, without the screaming) this EP is totally essential.

If you're a FFAf fan and have both albums, then buy this next and realise how good they really were before. If you hate the pop-metal they're peddling on MTV2 these days, then do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little album/EP, 15 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
Good little album/EP, what ever you'd call it. Shows the great raw energy of Funeral for a Friend in their early days as well as demonstrating clearly where they were going to go as an band. This band has evolved over time, in some cases changing immensely (not necessarily always for the best) and other cases just maturing the sound that is present in these tracks into a more defined emotional/heavy sound. Great for fans of FFAF to get to reflect on their sound then and now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any FFAF fan, 1 Jun. 2007
By 
A. Firman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
This cd is a must have, it contains some of their best songs. They are alot heavier and raw then in most of their other songs on their later albums. It contains red is the new black and escape artists never die which are on casually dressed. But includes 5 other amazing songs. The Getaway plan is an amazing song and the vocals sound alot different as Matt Davies was experimenting with his voice. All in all it contains the best songs FFAF have ever written. Buy It!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic FFAF, 2 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
Personally I much prefer the rawer sound of their first album "Casually Dressed and Deep in Conversation" and this 7 track EP keeps that raw feel and expresses nicely how the band has grown. I'd say it goes nicely for any FFAF fan but if you don't like Casually Dressed and only their newer, more processed record-label-advised material then you may not like this from-the-heart, what-they-chose-to-produce record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new release,old releases from these ever rising stars, 30 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
'Seven Ways To Scream Your Name' is a mix of songs 3 from 'Between Order and Model' and 3 from 'For Way To Scream Your Name', and a previously unreleased track 'Getaway plan'. Driven by there flowing guitar riffs and awsome vocals this is a certain must buy. This ep is only available in USA or on order so get it as soon as possible!!!
Best song: Art of American Football
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the best of by the group themseves, 7 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr. C. P. Voyce "blatnoi1" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
If you were ever in any doubt about what the UK has given the music world - then get your hands on this Cd and play it to all your friends - shout to everyone you know about this Cd. Me well i just like it so much that everytime someone comes round the house i say 'oh by the way have you heard funeral for a friend' and then i let them have it between the ears.
If you have never heard of this group then this is the place to start - then go find whatever else you can by them - get everything - buy buy buy....... one day you might just look back and think 'why on earth didn't i get that when i had the chance'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven ways to scream HORRAY!, 12 May 2004
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
Seven Ways is one of the greatest records we've heard in the United States within the past coupal of years. The songwriting is emotional as well as sophistocated, and the lyrics are smart and honest. But I dont need to say that kind of stuff really. I just need to say that it bloddy rocks and its a must have for anyone, and i repeat anyone, who likes melodic, catchy, heavy and intelligent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funeral for a Friend -Seven Ways To Scream Your Name, 6 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
Well i would say this band is one of the best i have heard in a long while, the welsh quintet are lighting up the UK rock scene along with bands such as Hiding with Girls and Million dead. The bands use of emotional lyrics combined with a great vocals of Matt Davies makes a great album. Get your Grubby hands on it, its worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ffaf, 10 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Seven Ways to Scream Your Name (Audio CD)
pure brilliance. amazing band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Ways to Scream Your Name
Seven Ways to Scream Your Name by Funeral for a Friend (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews