Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Soundtrack
Even though his films were often slated, Elvis can boast numerous number 1 hits from his movie career and also that he was the highest earner in Hollywood for a while.
Although 'It Happened At The World Fair' had only 2 chart successes,'One Broken Heart For Sale' being the biggest hit, the soundtrack has some great music. Ballad fans will love 'They Remind Me Too...
Published on 17 Jun 2003 by David Wallace

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it happened at the worlds fair
Some of the other reviews make me laugh this is not Elvis at his best and 'how would you like to be' is a load of rubbish who ever gave this to Elvis to sing should have been shot.This album is average no stand out songs I'm not saying that they are all bad , just normal the best was released as a single and had this been released a year ago it may have got in the top 5...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by Keith R. Watson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Soundtrack, 17 Jun 2003
By 
David Wallace "daviwallace" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Even though his films were often slated, Elvis can boast numerous number 1 hits from his movie career and also that he was the highest earner in Hollywood for a while.
Although 'It Happened At The World Fair' had only 2 chart successes,'One Broken Heart For Sale' being the biggest hit, the soundtrack has some great music. Ballad fans will love 'They Remind Me Too Much Of You' and 'Im Falling In Love Tonight', but as in most of Elvis' albums there is something for everyone. Feel good songs aplenty on this soundtrack as well as various alternate versions on the 1 CD, its about time.
This album was recorded in 1962 when Elvis was going through a slight transition, but his voice is superb and I would advise all music fans to listen to 'How Would You Like To Be' and see if you dont get a buzz out of it, then listen to the alternate version on the album and see what Elvis was about, while he still had some control over the sound of his movie soundtracks.
There will be a couple of tracks at least on this album that you like, if not more, it caters for all tastes..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just listen to *Elvis*, 6 Mar 2004
A panoramic Hollywood color musical yielded a rather flat movie soundtrack, originally with ten tunes, about half of which were uninspired situational songs. It's been written that many fans were discontented with the album. Well, Follow That Dream hasn't added more titles, but they've given us some nice alternate takes.
If you already own the "Double Features" version, and you're not a deep collector, there's not a strong impetus to pay the higher price - although the booklet is excellent.
The sonics are superb and this is significant in that Elvis Presley's singing is remarkable on all cuts: even on a slight number like the uptempo closer "Happy Ending" his vocal acrobatics become the stuff of Music Appreciation classes across the world. He turns another plotline-number "A World Of Our Own" into something exceptional. The two children's songs, though not for the rockabillies, are beautiful. The two Don Robertson ballads are exquisite. It's not rock and roll, it's not the blues, but you can't say Presley wasn't involved in this music.
Ofcourse we all know about the bouyant hit single "One Broken Heart For Sale." It's gotten a bad rap over the years as the first A-side not to crack the Top Ten, but it's really in the "Return To Sender" class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase have been looking for this album a lomg time GREAT., 3 Aug 2010
By 
Duncan Tasker (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have been looking for this album a long time great to have it and at such a low price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING, 31 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. Flora Holmes (NEWMAINS,LANARKSHIRE, SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
ELVIS...THIS ALBUM GIVES YOU ALTERNATIVE VERSIONS OF HIS SONGS...A MUST FOR ALL HIS LOYAL FANS, AND SO REFRESHING TO THE MAN AT HIS BEST!!!GO OUT AND BUY IT, YOU'LL LOVE IT...LONG LIVE THE KING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars it happened at the worlds fair, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Some of the other reviews make me laugh this is not Elvis at his best and 'how would you like to be' is a load of rubbish who ever gave this to Elvis to sing should have been shot.This album is average no stand out songs I'm not saying that they are all bad , just normal the best was released as a single and had this been released a year ago it may have got in the top 5 but Elvis had been at the top for 7 years and music was about to change a new geration had grown up.If you are a fan of movie soundtracks you will like this if not you will find just about ok.If you want proof compare this to 'Elvis is back' Something for everybody' or 'POt luck', these were albums of quality, this is not, but you have to add it to your collection (just to compleat your collection ) even if its just to hear how bad 'how would you like to be ' really is.I like to be fair in my reviews I understand just because I dont like (or like) something that its just a personal opinion, in other words if I dont like a song /album it does't mean its bad or visa-versa. Several people have given this album 5 stars, well i'm sorry ,it is not in the class of other great Elvis albums, it deserves 2 stars 3 at best but not five.The songs while not bad are not good either thats a fact as well as an opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Happened at the World's Fair
It Happened at the World's Fair by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews