Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly good debut
My first real experience of Funeral for a Friend was their set at the 2003 T in the Park festival, and I must say I was a little underwhelmed. Most of the songs seemed a little formulaic, based around the Thursday approved formulae of melodic vocal/screaming/big riff/end. Well what can I say - where did it all go right?! This album deserves to stand along with Hundred...
Published on 15 Oct 2003 by 101jay

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Casually Dressed
Although this album contains several tried and tested F4aF tracks, including Juneau and Escape Artists Never Die, it may prove to be a disappointment. Also, the version of Juneau on this album is the one generally least favoured by F4aF fans - the one with most of the screaming cut out. The vocals for Red is the New Black have been completely re-recorded. While seeming...
Published on 9 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly good debut, 15 Oct 2003
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
My first real experience of Funeral for a Friend was their set at the 2003 T in the Park festival, and I must say I was a little underwhelmed. Most of the songs seemed a little formulaic, based around the Thursday approved formulae of melodic vocal/screaming/big riff/end. Well what can I say - where did it all go right?! This album deserves to stand along with Hundred Reasons' "Ideas Above Our Station" and Hell is for Heroes' "Neon Handshake" as one of the great British emo albums.
The fast paced opener "Rookie of the Year" is a superb start, closely followed by brilliant recent singles "Bullet Theory" and "Juneau"; the latter a masterclass in post-hardcore riffery, the former a menacing yet soaringly melodic track.
After such a storming start, you could expect and forgive a slight dip in quality with the subsequent tracks (for the record, Hundred Reasons were particularly guilty of this). However, Funeral for a Friend only go and pull out the greatest track on the album, "Bend Your Arms to Look Like Wings", a song which is as near perfect as this genre of music can get.
Indeed, the only song which dips below top quality is the rather Funeral-by-numbers "Waking Up", although this may reflect badly due to it following on from the immensely affecting acoustic "Your Revolution is a Joke". And that's not even mentioning the metallic crunch of "Red is the New Black", or the stunning breakdown of "She Drove me to Daytime Television" (great title).
Funeral for a Friend had a lot to live up to, being touted as Kerrang's Best New British Band. And they lived up to it. Oh yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!!, 16 Mar 2004
By 
A. Smith (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
I bought 'Casually Dressed...' after hearing Juneau on the TV, not expecting anything amazing but an album that was entertaining to fill up my minidisc a bit. When i listened to it through the whole time i was blown away. As a fan of heavy music from bands such as Slayer and Pantera and also softer bands like Staind and Incubus, FFAF's album was absolutely PERFECT for me. It combines very musical and melodic songs such as 'Bend your arms to look like wings' with heavierish songs such as 'Rookie of the Year' i loved it.
On the technical side most of the songs are composed of a backing guitar with another one riffing over the top to create a deep, musical feel to most of the songs. This coupled with amazingly heart wrenching lyrics, for example the slow part of 'Escape Artists Never Die' where he repeats "Please someone help me, I'm dying here in front of you". The only song that drags the album back slightly is 'Your Revolution is a Joke' as it is a very soft, acoustic song and seems out of place in the midst of the rest of the songs. That's just my opinion though some people may disagree.
This is a fantastic album if your into emo, with my personal favorites being 'Rookie of the Year', 'Bend Yours Arms to Look Like Wings', 'Moments Forever Faded'. I've still got the whole album on my minidisc and it will stay there for a while yet! Highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funeral For A Friend, The Begining., 10 Nov 2003
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
A fantastic debut by the Welsh quintet, Funeral For A Friend (FFAF) really brings together metal, punk and post hardcore emo into one exhilarating album.
Melody, aggression and pure emotion are one of the many words that spring to mind when listing to FFAF and the album includes new versions of the popular tracks "Juneau" and "Red Is The New Black" which featured on the bands first ep of two: "Between Order And Model"
Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation has been acclaimed by critics everywhere and the music industry has already hailed FFAF as the new Nirvana. Many fans of the band think that the music has been commercialised for the album, but amazing tracks such as "Bullet Theory" and "Rookie Of The Year" show that FFAF have retained the aggression that they are now well known for.
Most tracks on the album are full of energy and emotion, but this is balanced out by "Your Revolution Is A Joke" a surprising acoustic addition, which really showcases the lead singer's phenomenal vocals and adds a much needed breather toward the end of the album.
All in all it is a commendable debut and a definite buy. FFAF are band to watch out for in the future because I foresee very little slowing down this wave of incredibly talented musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your new best friends...., 1 Dec 2003
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
Where to start? These Welsh boys blew me away from the first note with their hybrid fusion of metal, emo and hardcore punk. Opener 'Rookie of the year', in my opinion one of the best on the album, has a punk edge spliced with hardcore vocals and searing riffs. Singer Matt Davies voice soars above the melodic lines in the chorus and makes this a standout track on an amazing record. Other strokes of musical brilliance include 'She Drove me to Daytime Television', 'Juneao' and 'Escape Artists never die'. The latter is a prime example of FFAF's musical genious, and also the fastest tempo song on the album. It provides Matt to throw his voice all over the place, and to great results. In my personnal opinion, his lyrics are usually of a high standard, but there is a dark edge to 'CDADIC', that was not present in earlier EPs. Matt is backed up on vocals by drummer Ryan Richards who provides the aggresive edge in FFAF's sound. Bassist Gareth Davies, brother of Matt, adds the driving force to the band and does a great job of it. The two guitarists, Kris Roberts and Darren Smith do a star performance on axe duty with Kris' soaring, fast riffs complementing perfectly with Darren's de-tuned, aggressive power chord sound.
All in all, this is the best thing to come out of Wales since leeks, and deserves it's rightful place in your record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and full of meaning, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Ian Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
FFAF's best release by a long shot. It's downhill from here. If you like Funeral' then just get this and watch your step on the others...
If you like this I also recommend "Seven Ways To Scream Your Name."

My personal thoughts as I feel that from Hours onwards these guys just get a bit say-me and processed industry rock. But this album is pure soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 20 Jan 2005
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
this album is a must have! first time i heard juno i was blown away the rest of the album is just as amazing. your revolution is a joke shows that theyre capable of coping with acoustics which are by no means whimpy and are strong and holds its place on the album. buy it now if u dont already have it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a band, 29 Aug 2004
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
What can i say..., the first time i heard funeral for a friend i didn't think they were anything special, i finally bought Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation and i have never regretted it. They have redone some of their old EP songs like 'Juneau' and 'Red Is The New Black'. 'Juneau' is a bit disapointing as the EP version is far better. The best songs being: 'Bend Your Arms To Look Like Wings', 'Red Is The New Black', 'Moments Forever Faded' and 'Waking Up in Your Own Paralysis' (or just 'Waking Up'). Anyone looking for a new band to get into then this is them. Funeral For A Friend are one of the best bands at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Debut, 10 July 2004
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
This has got to be the best album of 2003. I've seen them all come and go, the super furry's, the phonics, The manics - this is the best band to come out of Wales in a long time.
I've had the cd in my car for 3 months and am still not sick of it. Every track is out of the top drawer.
Do yourself a favour and buy it - you won't regret it !!!!!!!!
I can't wait for their follow-up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casually dressed and deep in conversation, 5 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
If you are a typical fan of this perticular genre or similar music that falls into the category then this album is a must. There is not a flaw involved, every track has its own individual melody and meaning and I can guarantee you will never get bored of listening to songs like 'Bend your arms to look like wings'. A truly inspirational album worthy of being compared with the greatest of albums imaginable. Surely, it should go down in history: remember; Funeral for a friend received best British new comer in the recent Kerrang awards. $hab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year!!!, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation (Audio CD)
how long have i been waiting for this album!!! i must have been at least a year ago that i heard my first f4af track and was blown away!!! casually dressed and deep in conversation will appeal to anyone out there who has ears!!!. it is true that some of these tracks will have been heard by people who own the previous f4af singles or e.p.s but the band do there best at spicing them up. red is the new black is more powerful than the first time increasing the ferocity of the drumming so it seeps right through your soul and while juneau may be inferior to the original juno it still proves to be an awesome track while escape artits never die still proves to be a soul driving awesome track! with reference to the new tracks rookie of the year leads you strongly into album containing a combintaion of punky anthems and heavy guitar riffs coupled with melodic vocals and all out screaming preparing you for whats to come while bend your arms to look like wings proves to be the most emotional moment of the album containing some beautiful guitar antics from the quintet. your revolution is a joke proves to be an awesome accoustic track containing some beautiful guitar mellodies coupled with soft violin playing which gives the listener a breather before throwing them into the highlight out of all the new songs on the album. waking up proves to be an awesome emotional drive introducing a slow introduction with some of the best guitar playing you will ever hear and the most cathcy chorus of the album. any person wo buys this album cant fail to be impressed it contains everything you expect from a band and more and is one of the many reasons why british music rocks so much harder than our amercian counterparts. funeral for a friend veterens may be disapointed by the lack of new songs on offer but belive you me the re-recordings all sound awesome and the album is worth buying for the new songs alone so GO BUY NOW!!! i promise you wont be disapointed and if you thinks this sound awesome wait till you see them live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation
Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation by Funeral for a Friend (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews