Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect preserver
I disagree totally with Christie Thomas's review. I have used these for years and find that an open bottle will keep in perfect condition for days after a couple of squirts of gas are added.

Bemused by her statement that it does not work with screwtops; it's fine with them. I also disagree with her commendation of the rubber stoppers - I found them to be...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by David Shamash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as great as other wine preservers
Is an okay product, just not as good as other ones I have used (that you can't seem to get in the UK). It doesn't seem to be as effective.
Published 4 months ago by Anne C


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect preserver, 24 Feb 2011
By 
David Shamash "davidat34" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
I disagree totally with Christie Thomas's review. I have used these for years and find that an open bottle will keep in perfect condition for days after a couple of squirts of gas are added.

Bemused by her statement that it does not work with screwtops; it's fine with them. I also disagree with her commendation of the rubber stoppers - I found them to be utterly useless.

David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
The gas does what it says, it stops wine going off and tasting funny after a few days.

I can now drink one glass a day over 5 days with the last glass tasting as fresh as the first.

This works on screw top red and fizzy red shiraz with a replacement cork top I use from an old sherry bottle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best device avilable, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
I too have used these for years and would agree that they are the most effective affordable method for preserving opened wine bottles on the market. 100% better than vacuum based devices and equally fine with screwcaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wine/Spirit Preservor Review!, 21 Oct 2013
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
Originally designed for wine i can also confirm that this works with Whisky. Often my girlfriend and i have some wine left over from dinner and consume it the following day, i simply spray a small amount in the bottle using the tube/straw supplied (like you use with a WD-40 can) and quickly put the cork or cap back on. I can confirm that it does keep the wine fresh for a few days and in case of whisky a good few weeks (months if you seal the top well with tape).

It's not cheap but considering wine and even more so whisky are expensive these days i would say it's worth the money and as a result we have not thrown a bottle of wine or whisky away since using this product. As for the claim that it will last 120 times, this is subjective to the bottle size and amount of air in the bottle i.e. more air in the bottle means i put slightly more preserver in. I can also confirm it does not react or change the character of the wine/whisky, it just preserves it!

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
Having tried both vacuum pumps and pure argon to preserve leftover wine I can say that this product is much better than the former (it's almost impossible to gauge how much air should be removed from the bottle to ensure the remaining contents are properly protected) and is significantly cheaper than the latter.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the gas is heavier than air and will therefore remain in the bottle whatever method of closure is used. Even if you have thrown a cork away and you are going to be moving the bottle around you can always stretch a bit of cling film over the top to make quite sure the gas doesn't escape. You can also squirt it into a decanter if you don't want to move the wine back and forth to the bottle.

A first-class product that will properly preserve the contents of dozens of part-emptied bottles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the can..., 13 July 2011
By 
S. Holmes (St Johns, Newfoundland Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
Have been using this for a couple of months. Wonderful. Went away for 3 weeks and a bottle of wine I had left half full was perfectly drinkable when I got back. As it works on heavier-than-air inert gasses covering the surface of the liquid, it matters not if you have a cork or a screw top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works!, 21 May 2012
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
With exhortations not to drink too much ringing in ones ears and for those living alone, but who fancy a glass or two of wine but feel guilty about discarding the rest of a bottle of wine, this is product is a boon. It really works. I have found that I can taste the deterioration in the quality of a wine that has been opened, if the remaining wine is merely re-corked and stored in the fridge. Some wines more than others, but more often than not there is a change. Whereas, pumping some of this gas, mainly argon, which is heavier than air, into the bottle after some wine has been removed provides a protective layer over the surface of the wine, that would normally be liable to oxidation (the enemy of wine). Inject the gas, re-cork as soon as convenient and store upright. I've tried this regime with several different wines, including a delicate German Kabinett that is susceptible to spoiling and found it kept perfectly over 3 days as I took a couple of glasses each day. After each day's ration I re-introduced the gas. There's up to 120 uses per can. A disconcerting feature of the product is the can feels empty even when "full". But I recall from chemistry classes that when a liquid expands to a gas when pressure is reduced the volume increases by over 1000-fold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This actually works and lasts, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
This has saved so many bottles of wine going off. If you're only the occasional drinker - a glass or two now and then, rather than a whole bottle at once - this is perfect. So much better than the rubber 'vacuum' stoppers which aren't effective for more than a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as great as other wine preservers, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
Is an okay product, just not as good as other ones I have used (that you can't seem to get in the UK). It doesn't seem to be as effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than Vacuuvin, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Preserve Wine Spray | Wine Preserver Prevents Oxidation of Wine, Inert Gas Aerosol for Wine & Liqueurs (Kitchen & Home)
I bought a can before Christmas, and now 5 months later it still hasn't emptied although I use it several times a week. Excellent product, works much better than Vacuuvin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews