Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars34
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2002
When Hemingway picked Cooper and Bergman for this 1943 film, he could not have done better. They are heavenly to look at, and the chemistry between them is palpable. The dialogue has retained the style of the book, and they make it sound so natural, which is not an easy feat. Set in 1937 Spain, this Civil War story is an action packed adventure, but above all, it is a love story.
Terrific cinematography by Ray Rennahan, a good atmospheric score by Victor Young, and a slew of interesting character actors (Katina Paxinou won the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress) back the magnificent leads.
Cooper is not only gorgeous, but gives a subtle, lovely performance, and Bergman, looking younger than her 29 years, with short, curly hair, is luminous. I love the scene where she gets her first kiss, and says "I always wondered where the noses went".
Directed by Sam Wood, who a year earlier had directed one of Cooper's most famous films, "The Pride of the Yankees" (and in '45 was to team again with Cooper and Bergman for "Saratoga Trunk"), did a wonderful job with Hemingway's novel...it stands up to many viewings, and is a must for Cooper and Bergman fans.
11 comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 March 2007
"Because I am involved in mankind;
and therefore send to know
for who the bell tolls.
It tolls for thee."

Spain 1937. Robert Jordan (Gary Cooper) came to Spain o fight for "The Republic" (a nice way to say for the commies) and against nationalists. He also had a dislike for Germans and Italians. His assignment was to go behind the nationalist lines and blow up a bridge at a strategic moment. There this stoic hero meets a peasant girl (a much too young for Gary, Ingrid Bergman) with a bad haircut and that barely escaped a train ride. They naturally fall in love which complicates things. Will this jeopardize the mission? Do we care?

Along with this we have the classic mixture of characters that you cannot tell if they are the good guys or the bad guys. The two that stand out besides the hero and his girl are Katina Paxinou (sort of a female Antony Quinn) as the doyenne, and Akim Tamiroff as the once good guerilla who may be bad or just self-centered. Who they were and how the acted was quite a predicable formula.

The story is an adoption from the Ernest Hemingway novel. Of course they could not put everything in the story and took a few liberties. We also miss the dialog that people read Hemmingway for.

The initial credits are in some annoying script (Parchment) make it hard to read at a glance.

The Fountainhead [DVD] [1949] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
This film has got to be one of the classics,in my opinion.Set in the Spanish civil war,it is a story of love and courage and also high drama.The charectors are hugely engaging in both depth and humour.Many have said it is a dark story,and,partly that is true,but,there is also a great depth to the human emotions on show.The action pieces are even by todays standards are exciting giving more than just cgi+pyrotecnics that seem to dominate todays cinema.
All in all a classic piece of cinema,only one more thing to say-BUY IT!.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
I bought this for a friend, and to be honest the film didn't do a lot for me, but the real purpose of my review is to alert potential buyers to an oddity about the DVD that could lead them to believing it is faulty. I sent the DVD back to Amazon because the first chapter (supposedly containing the titles etc) appeared to have sound but no vision at all. The replacement was the same. However I let ths one play on and eventually the opening titles appeared. It seems there is a very long empty gap at the beginning where the screen is completely blank. Normally an overture is accompanied by a colour wash or something visual, but not in this case. Beware!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Another great Hemingway book and fairly faithfully played out on screen, Gary Cooper seemed a little older than he should be as Roberto and Bergman just wrong for me as Maria but that aside the supporting cast are superb, Akim Tamiroff as Pablo and Katina Paxinou as Pilar are brilliant as if they stepped right out of the book. Some forgiveable extra drama to the story in the final battle, and the motorcycle dash to report to General Golz lost the point about internal issues within Republican hierarchy but was still dramatic all the same.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Had to return as l was not aware of "regions" and was not informed when l brought the product by the seller, but l've learned my lesson and do not buy dvd's now unless the region is advised.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
...marvellous acting from Paxinou and deserved Best Supporting Actress Oscar winner. Beautfully filmed and lovely colours although it's a pity it did not delve a bit wider into the Spanish Civil War. Important to remember this film was made in 1943. Bergmann is slightly OTT in her portrayal of Maria...at times you feel like smacking her in the mouth. The film is also better than the really heavy-going (to me anyway) book, which is slow and laced with 'thee' and 'thous' which, even for the period, seems slightly strange. A great classic movie that is well-worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
A golden oldie. Many thanks. djW
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Re-read the book. Had to re-look at the film. Excellent and quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
I always enjoy watching the films of Ingrid Bergman, my favourite actress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)