Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, Beautiful Beautiful South
Well you can tell Paul Heaton is settled down and happy at last!The last two albums, Gaze and Painting it Red whilst superb were still alcohol ridden and melancholic. Thank God for love as Gaze is their finest since 0898. With a country bias they have never been so melodic, they have perfected their harmonies and the lyrics? Well lets just say they dont get better. New...
Published on 20 Oct 2003 by OrwellianDream

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST FROM THE BEAUTIFUL SOUTH.
The album contains 12 songs in its 48 minute running time. Most of the quick tunes (such as JUST A FEW THINGS THAT I AINT) come first with the majority of the slower ballads (like HALF OF HIM) reserved for later. While the songs are generally okay, I found there is simply nothing outstanding which I will remember fondly in years to come like I do for, say, A LITTLE TIME...
Published 5 months ago by Napoleon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet?, 31 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Probably my favourite Beautiful South album. Some wonderful harmonies, and almost annoyingly catchy songs. I've not been able to stop playing it since I got it! Just a shame it probably won't get the chart recognition it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 101% Percent Mangificent, 28 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Yet Again - the Beautiful South have not failed to impress with their new album - 'Gaze'. The tracks that stand out are 'Life vs. Lifeless', 'Get Here', 'Let Go With the Flow', '101% Man' and 'Pretty'. Having said that all the tracks are good and there is not much to fault.
The album is extremely keyboard orientated compared to previous material. The only problem I have with Gaze is the lack of Liars Bar type songs. (-:. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to hear what pop music should be all about.
Tom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last, and worth the wait!, 28 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Well the south return and what an album. The first time i listened to it i have to admit i was not all that impressed, but the second and third times the album really grew on me and now every song seems like a gem! If your a fan of any of the souths previous material then this will go down a treat!
Low points 101% man high points the rest of the album!! BUY NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful!!!, 27 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
It's been a long wait but it was most definitely worth it! Probably not quite their best album but right up there in their top 3. The music is generally a bit happier sounding (pretty, just a few, life v lifeless, let go, 101% man are all upbeat and genearlly quite jolly sounding), this may well be as a result of Heaton giving up drink before writing it. I really don't have any criticisms with this album, the singing is shared out quite evenly, Dave Hemmingway sings a fair bit, Alison is fantastic on her debut. I think though they should have put Loneliness as it's own track rather than a hidden track because it's really very good. This album deserves a number one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy are they back, and with a big BANG!!!!!!, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Just got a promo copy of this album and its more then lived up to expection. It is Paul Heaton at his witty best, its been 3 years the the last beautiful south album "Painting It Red", since then we have had a paul heaton solo album and dave rothers has made is own band (homespun), which we both good but werent the beautiful south. This album is in part more country then any other south album, but has some very upbeat songs aswell. The single Just A Few Things I Aint is their best since Perfect 10, 101% man has quickly become one of my favourite all time beautiful south songs, other stand out songs include:
1. Pretty Things
3. Sailing Solo
4. Life Vs. Lifeless
5. Get Here
6. Let Go With The Flow
7. The Gates
8. Angels And Devils
10. Half Of Him
11. Spit It All Out
12. Last Waltz
13. Loneliness (hidden track)
damn thats the whole bloody album,
but honestly this album is brilliant and i recommend it to you, it is up there with their best... there really isnt a week track, so pre-order this album now and get it where it deserves to be
No.1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
I agree with what everyone else has said this is really quality, what else can I say? Each track is something special. My favourite is Let Go With The Flow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Of The Good Old Same, 30 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. Simon D. Hunt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
"Gaze" is a good, solid Beautiful South album which both meanders and experiments less than "Painting It Red". Alison Wheeler isn't as impressive a singer as Jaqui but she is fine and her voice grows on you, being especially effective in the stand-out track "Half of Him".
The rest is as you'd expect, best tracks being "Get Here" and the great singalong "Let It Go With The Flow". Unfortunately, there is a distinctly mid-tempo feel to the album overall and closer "The Last Waltz" is a lesser song than previous showstopper "Your Father & I". Worse, it's hard to see where future hits are going to come from as there's nothing with the clout of "Perfect 10" here. As long as they don't release the contrived, uncomfortable "101% Man".
It's a good enjoyable album and you know what to expect. But it's even less varied or progressive than usual and you get the impression the odd risk wouldn't have done it any harm. Also short of a big landmark duet like "Til You Can't Tuck It In" or "A Little Time" if the Top 10 is going to be troubled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Monday morning mourners club...", 22 Oct 2004
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Fabulous album, the Beautiful South really are coming back with their old style, I love it! After seeing them in Manchester on the Gaze tour I rushed out to buy this album and haven't regretted one second of it, my only regret was not purchasing it before the gig so I would have knew the words to the new songs. Well done guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent comeback album from The South, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
A great return to the music scene with this new album featuring the new female vocalist Alison Wheeler. Every song on this album is a classic. From the first track you realize this is going to have a more country feel to it and is very keyboard orientated.
The second song was the single from a few weeks ago. Its upbeat and lively , a typical BS track. Dave Hemmingway has his fair share off songs here starting with Sailing solo a typically melodic and harmonically pleasing song.
Life vs the lifeless is a particular favourite of mine especially the chorus. The opening piano passage is comparible to the opening of You can call me leisure from PIR.
The mood of the album softens for Get here and then another lively number with Go with the flow. Angels and devils is a nice duet between Heaton and Hemmingway. Alison Wheeler makes her mark in the thought-provoking Half of him. 101% man is a comical look at homosexuals without being offensive!
The album ends with the jazzy The last waltz which leads to the hidden track- Loneliness, a sad emotional end to the album.
Overall this is another classic from The Beautiful South which is well worth owning if you liked their previous releases. It also provides an accessible introduction to their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trained to the ear, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Summary of Beautiful South when you want to relax and absorb The Time, reminds me of Van Morrison and that period of descriptive life music, the entire The Band, Dylan, Van, Neil Young, their colleagues is summed up in this Hull version of life travelling and singing family and friends so the East Coast has its share and is as represented as The Likely Lads did for the NE, something we grew up in at Bath at School ... trained for industry, all working in some other profession rather than the workshop floor lathe turning, but having been there one does not forget the work teaching and friends who did use skill trades for the best provisions, daily round, common task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gaze
Gaze by Beautiful South (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews