Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, Beautiful Beautiful South
Well you can tell Paul Heaton is settled down and happy at last!The last two albums, Gaze and Painting it Red whilst superb were still alcohol ridden and melancholic. Thank God for love as Gaze is their finest since 0898. With a country bias they have never been so melodic, they have perfected their harmonies and the lyrics? Well lets just say they dont get better. New...
Published on 20 Oct 2003 by OrwellianDream

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST FROM THE BEAUTIFUL SOUTH.
The album contains 12 songs in its 48 minute running time. Most of the quick tunes (such as JUST A FEW THINGS THAT I AINT) come first with the majority of the slower ballads (like HALF OF HIM) reserved for later. While the songs are generally okay, I found there is simply nothing outstanding which I will remember fondly in years to come like I do for, say, A LITTLE TIME...
Published 3 months ago by Napoleon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, Beautiful Beautiful South, 20 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Well you can tell Paul Heaton is settled down and happy at last!The last two albums, Gaze and Painting it Red whilst superb were still alcohol ridden and melancholic. Thank God for love as Gaze is their finest since 0898. With a country bias they have never been so melodic, they have perfected their harmonies and the lyrics? Well lets just say they dont get better. New female singer Alison Wheeler swifty puts her mark on the album with the stunning "Get Here" - a contender for their next single and a sure fire top 10.
This album has mass appeal and may shut up the many anti-BS people out there - its the sort of album you'd put on to impress a first date, you'd buy your Mum it for Christmas and its a winner. Their back and by God their good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite grower, 19 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
I cannot believe the Amazon reviewers description of Gaze. Granted, there are some very poppy tunes on it but that applies to most albums. The current trend for boyband fluff is ruining the music market. At last, this is a REAL ALBUM with REAL MUSIC from a REAL BAND and written by REAL WRITERS. Where TBS really score is on songs such as Life VS The Lifeless which is commercial based but hauntingly beautiful. Spit it all Out is a return to such classics as Let Love Speak Up itself, Prettiest Eyes, Look What I found in My Beer and on and on. Alison Wheelers voice is beautiful but a little less harsh that Jacqui Abbott and the album suffers for this, however not a lot. She does a great job. Heaton Rotheray pepper their songs with wonderful lines, as always. "Lips dont miss the wish for a kiss" is but one from the amazing Spit it all Out. I know that South fans argue about which is the best album and this ranks up there along with 0898, Blue is the colour, Welcome, Quench and Paint it Red. I cant call it except to say that there is nothing else in the car at the moment and neither has there been since October when Gaze was released. I like it more every day. I even bought a second one for the house. I rest my case. Gaze is wonderful and the South roll on. May it last forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing the trend for amazing music, 16 July 2004
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Following Painting it Red was always going to be a hard job. A collection of 19/20 (depending on the version you bought!) songs which all had their own particular charm that was amazing... No wonder they took a long time releasing 'Gaze'. Of course, there's also the issue of a new female singer. I was sceptical myself, being a massive fan of Jacquline, but Alison is fantastic. Different, certainly, but she adheres to the true TBS ethic. The album itself has catchy tunes, deeply moving lyrics, and Heaton/Rotherhay's classic unbiased viewpoint on life (or at least, it relects my viewpoint...!)
Fantastic album, a must buy for all TBS fans and anyone who values the lyrical content of a song. Especially listen to Pretty (Tk 1), Let go with the Flow (Tk6), Get Here (Tk 5) and of course the fabulous single Just a few things that I ain't (Tk2). I bought this two days ago and have already listened to it 8 times!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great return, 14 Nov 2003
By 
G (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
On first playing I thought that Gaze was OK, but not as good as the last few albums...
Having listened to it a few more times I've changed my mind! Its another album that grows on you and I'm happy to say its as good as any of their others.
New female vocalist, Alison Wheeler has a softer voice than Jacqueline Abbot that lends itself to different tracks. Its perhaps unfair to say which I favour, but rest assured she does a great job.
Theres a good mix of slow, melancholy ballads, such as Sailing Solo and slightly 'bouncier' numbers like Pretty and Let Go With the Flow; which I feel is a highlight along with Life Vs the Lifeless.
As always some very clever lyrics, catchy tunes and all round great listening - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The South Spit It All Out, 28 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
I didn't really know what to expect from The Beautiful South when rumours of this new album began. Would there be a shift in direction now that Paul Heaton has a baby girl, would he be more optimistic? Slightly. The music is probably superior to their last studion album (PIR), the lyrics as poetic as ever but it's harder to pick stand out tracks. Why? Because they all stand out.
If I had to choose I'd go with the beautifully crafted The Gates, the hilarious 101% Man and their next single Let Go With The Flow should be radio friendly enough to generate a top 20 hit.
Great Album, nice new music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'No Time for Lively Discussion' Gaze The Beautiful South, 29 Oct 2003
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
This isn't the same type af album as the previous two, yet becuase of that it offers something different.
I also agree that 'Loneliness' should not have been hidden away.
The album grows on you, till in the end you can't get the thing out of your mind. Thee are some superb tracks on the album, really outstanding stuff. 'Let Go With the Flow' which is the next single is a realy old style song, the sort of single the South would have out out in the early 1990's. It's really catchy if a little corny.
The sinnging is more eveningly spread out which helps the album, we've thankfully returned to Paul and Dave singing together on tracks.
This album is a grower, you will not be dissopointed. It's another quality collection of superb sings from The South.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic rythms, but ruined by some boring ballads, 28 Oct 2006
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
I had never heard a Beautiful South song prior to buying this album, but on a random impulse and the 5 pound price tag I bought it and I couldn't be more thankful. There are some very rythmic songs that you can easily find yourself singing along too without even noticing (Let go with the flow, A few things that I aint). Indeed most of the songs on the album follow this trend. However, Near the end of the album it's like the album is a car trying to stop with only the emergency brakes working. Tracks like 'angels & devils' and 'half of him' just make me switch off completely, and not in a good way.

However, this album is still very much recommended to a newcomer to TBS as it will definetely want to make you buy more, just watch out for those pesky ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will everyone stop moaning, 11 Jun 2004
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
having been a beautiful south fan for what seems like ages and having listened to all but one album (which i plan on listening to- painting it red) it's great to see paul and the guys on top form again. I thought they had gone downhill since quench but one listen to gaze and i know they are back on form. even my non BS fan friends liked it.
Personal favourites are "Just a few things I'm not", "Life vs Lifeless" "The Gates" "101% man" and "forbidden fruit". The new female vocalist is cool (although was a big fan of jackie) and paul seems all happy again.
So stop moaning about the album, it's great and in my opinion is up there with 0898 and miaow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just listen, this is a great album, 18 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Maybe this album doesn't meet the same greatness as some of the previous albums of The Beautiful South, but this collection is a great collection of tracks that keeps the ironic cynicism of the "South" alive and well, and is infinitely more listenable than "Paint It Red" which was clearly written while singer/songwriter Heaton was clearly not at his best. Well he's back now and running after testing himself with the great solo album "Fat Chance" to bring us this instantly likeable CD.
And to answer the question posed by the Amazon reviewer, the world certainly needs a new "Beautiful South" album, just try listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet?, 31 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaze (Audio CD)
Probably my favourite Beautiful South album. Some wonderful harmonies, and almost annoyingly catchy songs. I've not been able to stop playing it since I got it! Just a shame it probably won't get the chart recognition it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gaze
Gaze by Beautiful South (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews