Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique piece of early 70s culture
Looking at this film thirty years after it was made, the first thing that hits you is how much bolder film makers and musicians were then. Even with all the technical advances that have taken place since 1972, no-one would dare to make a film like this now, even if they could get the financial backing.

The original version of the film (which features as an...
Published on 10 Sept. 2007 by Simon Harper

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but...
I have to admit it is a very good DVD. I only recently got into Pink Floyd, and having read some reviews here i opted to watch the original version first before the directors cut. You have to bear in mind that the directors cut was not supposed to be a REPLACEMENT for the original, just a sort of, different version. So dont get too angry about it as the original is still...
Published on 11 Feb. 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique piece of early 70s culture, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
Simon Harper (Aldershot UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Looking at this film thirty years after it was made, the first thing that hits you is how much bolder film makers and musicians were then. Even with all the technical advances that have taken place since 1972, no-one would dare to make a film like this now, even if they could get the financial backing.

The original version of the film (which features as an extra on this DVD) is superb. The rather dated cinematography only adds to the period atmosphere and the audacious concept of playing a live concert in the empty amphitheatre at Pompeii with just the film crew there is just perfect for early Pink Floyd music and makes most other "performance" films seem pretty tame by comparison.

The director's cut is a disappointment. The newly created footage is incongruous and irrelevant. The clips of the Abbey Road studios during the recording of Dark Side of the Moon are interesting but only serve to break the flow of the Pompeii performance. They should be available separately.

Other extras are OK but it is the original film that makes this a crucial purchace for all Pink Floyd fans and fans of rock cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but good .... VERY GOOD!!!!, 2 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Floyd at their best. The now classic performance at the Pompeii amphitheater certainly is one of the highlights of Floyd's career. I have had the video for years (becoming pretty worn out) so I was really pleased with a DVD release. The 'directors cuts' is somewhat ... well, let's say surprising, but when listening to the interview it makes more sense.
And for the hard core purists, there's also the original movie included :-)
Very much recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you want?, 28 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't believe people are moaning about this. Perhaps it is after the Apocalypse Now Redux, which they have now re-released in the original format on DVD, producers seem to have finally realised most people just want the original version that they know and love. So on this DVD they have given us BOTH versions and if you are watching the Directors Cut and get bored with the interview part press the 'step forward' button and it takes you straight to the beginning of the next song. Perfect! Well done! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD But Lousy Directors Cut Default Version, 21 Jun. 2009
By 
D. Turner (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this film on VHS some 25 years ago and now I've finally laid that to rest after investing in this top quality DVD release. The only fly in the ointment is the dreadful 'Directors Cut' version which had me asking 'WHY?' numerous times whilst viewing it. It might appeal to some, but for me it's a bit like painting a smile on the Mona Lisa face and was totally unnecessary. After all if something isn't broken, then why try to fix it? But don't despair as the original 1971 film version is on there, even though you have to go into the 'Extras' to locate it and it really should have been the default version. Either way it's worth buying, although I'd have thrown it at 'The Wall' had the original version not been present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., 11 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit it is a very good DVD. I only recently got into Pink Floyd, and having read some reviews here i opted to watch the original version first before the directors cut. You have to bear in mind that the directors cut was not supposed to be a REPLACEMENT for the original, just a sort of, different version. So dont get too angry about it as the original is still there and the picture and sound quality is definately good bearing in mind the fact that its pretty old film!
My main problem was the complete obsession the camera seems to have with Nick Mason, the drummer. 3 quarters of the film must be focussed on him, and there is very little of Dave Gilmour at all which is unfortunate! Thus the DVD is not brilliant for this reason of the over-focus of drums which eventually just gets boring to watch. A little variety would have been nice (I would listen to the albums if i just wanted to HEAR it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would like to have on Blu-Ray, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to revisit this "concert", was the first visual thing I ever watched by the Floyd back in the '80's, though even then it looked from a different era. The Director's Cut is mostly awful ,as mentioned, the whole computer graphics of Voyager going through the solar system etc.., is pants, so grateful there is the original version on the DVD.

However, it's worth buying just for Gilmour's guitar solo on Echoes, though it's all very dated now. Only one track is unwatchable; "Mademoiselle Nobs" which is a blues riff with Waters on Gilmour's guitar and Gilmour playing the harmonica and a stupid mutt howling into a microphone. Fast Forwarded it in the '80's, now at least I can get past this rubbish quicker with the DVD..

Would really, really love to have a BluRay version of this as I can't help feeling that my original taped off the tele VHS version and CRT TV from the 1980's had a better quality then our 21st Century LED flatscreen and DVD player....Hmmmmm....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at Pompeii - The pinacle of Pink Floyd, 11 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
If you like the earlier Pink Floyd, before Roger Waters politicised the band, then this video is a must. Shot before the release of the hugely successful "Dark side of the moon" at the amphitheatre of the ancient city of Pompeii, the band performs some of the greatest music they have written. Songs such as Echoes, Careful with that axe Eugene, Set the controls for the heart of the sun, One of these days (I'm going to cut you into little pieces) etc. My only (slight) criticism is that although the setting of ancient Pompeii is an excellent venue, it would have been better performed at the site of the pyramids and the Sphinx in Egypt.
The film also portrays the band in a series of interviews and also shows the making of Dark side of the moon.
If you're a Pink Floyd fan, this is a welcome addition to your music/video portfolio, but if you're an early Floyd fan, then this film is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pink floyd - live at pompeii dvd, 25 Oct. 2003
By 
N. lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
like so many floyd fans who have been waiting to update there worn vhs copy's of ' live at pompeii ' this release was eagerly
awaited on dvd , so it came as some surprise that ' the director's cut ' version of the film basically translated as' the directors cut in lots of new and at times ' irrelevant 'footage !! .
beatles fans would be none to pleased to find ' richard lester ' ( director ) cutting in new cips onto ' a hard days night 's dvd release so why ' adrian maben ' ( pompeii director ) felt the need to update this classic rock movie does raise alot of questions , and the never before seen black and white film of the band in paris , included in this dvd , would have made a more interesting addition in the dvd extras in its entirety , than in short parts between songs on the main feature .
although the original version of the movie is also contained on the dvd , the second version of the film with the clips from the band recording ' dark side of the moon ' at emi studios is the version fans were expecting to get on this dvd in its original form , and not alot of interfearing ' rockets taking off 'clips and computerised pompeii scenery !
a classic early seventies rock film , with a a disappointing remodel !! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Genius, 25 Sept. 2001
By 
Pink Floyd at their best? I think so, filmed nearly 30 years ago and it's still up there with anything around today. No modern day band could possibly produce this kind of performance, worth every penny of the wonderfully low price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original film great...new version horrible...No proper 5.1, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Sir Elias Dee "Doctor of Phanerothymology" (My physical being is on the earthly plane) - See all my reviews
You need the original film included as an extra (oddly...) since it is one of the best things PF have ever done. Unfortunately the Directors Cut is a re-edited version with additional footage (badly) inserted including totally unnecessary modern NASA footage.... Destroys the original concept of a gig on film and ruins the flow of the performance. I have it on good authority the band could have obtained the original multi-tracks of the sound and done a proper 5.1 mix...but didn't so for that they only get a 4...It could have been so much better..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at Pompeii [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC]
Live at Pompeii [DVD] [US Import] [NTSC] by Adrian Maben (DVD - 2003)
£21.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews