Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2000
Frank was one of the early finger-picking singer/songwriters and influenced a whole bunch of people: Paul Simon, Al Stewart, John Renbourn, Sandy Denny.... I'd borrowed it when it was first released and loved it but by the time I got round to buying it, it had been deleted. So I bought it now for nostalgic reasons; but it's amazing how it stands up, mainly due to the quality of his voice. The more recent tracks, heard for the first time, are very poignant in this regard, with his voice deteriorating markedly: but when you read his history it's hardly surprising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
I discovered Jackson C Frank via a radio programme on him which was absolutely fascinating. He was a creative, flawed, and eventually tragic figure. His music is strongly evocative of Simon and Garfunkel (Simon produced his first album, Garfunkel was the teaboy - so presumably actually their music is evocative of his.) Some tracks are stunning - some less so. Nonetheless delighted to have this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2000
This album was famous in its day and is re-released now with a few extra songs of Frank's from the 70s. It was produced by Paul Simon and the quiet potency of the songs add weight to the excellent lyrics. It is all just Frank and the guitar, and is well worth buying if you are into folky music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Jackson C Frank had escaped my radar. Having heard the very sad documentary about him on BBC Radio 4 and Blues run the game, time to catch up on his recordings. Around in the english folk scene at the time of mentor Paul Simon and Bert Jansch. The underlying sadness echoes through his songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Jackson, Jackson.... Could have had it all; inspired many of my heroes: Paul Simon, Al Stewart and many more. The old story, I'm afraid - too much, too young. You can detect from this classic CD the influences he had on so many others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
A good blast from the past, very evocative especially the title track - both versions. Well worth the time invested in listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
A beautiful classic album.. every lover of 60's folk should own it !!! An excellent buy... 2 cds.. many tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
This is a safe buy for anyone who likes melancholic sing and song writers like Nick Drake, even though (or maybe thanks to) Jackson C Frank is sadder than anyone else.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
not at all good to listen to - but we all have one bad album hey?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£10.17

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)