Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars75
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2004
The two words i would use to describe this album are heavy and melodic. Every song is heavy and melodic and usually well paced. Some songs have fast as hell parts on them. If you liked the older machine head because of intensity and you like the new machine head because of melodic-eness then you should buy this because its great. 10/10!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
Simply stunning, a metalheads dream come true.
Imperium, one of the finest songs to ever grace a metal lovers CD player. My friend let me listen to this one song, and it simply blew me away and I went out to buy the album the next day. The build up in this song is simply incredible and then the roar from Rob Flynn signalling the return of brutal Machine Head. I would give the album 5 stars even if Imperium was the only good track on it and the rest of it sucked. However the rest of teh album is far from crap. It is simply stunning. From the incredible choruses, brutal guitar riffs and astounding drumming this album is metal perfection. The final track on this album, the semi acoutic, Descend the Shades of Night is remarkable. From slow acoustic chords being played a unbelievable outpouring of emotion near the end of the song from Rob Flynn takes place.
Trust me, you like metal, buy this, you will not be disappointed. Machine Head seem to be the only band in 2003 that returned to their 'old' roots and succeeded with flying colours. Metallica and St. Anger by far the most disappointing album I ahve ever heard, don't get me wrong I like it, but even after 8 months I can't compare it to any of their old albums, even Load. Korn, yes Take A Look In the Mirror was a triumphant return and was simply the heaviest beats to come out of them in a while, it lacked....... the directiona and emotion of their first attempt. Both these classic bands should take a page out of Machine Head's book for their next records.
Machine Head, they rule, yes they do, they are truly the Kings of Metal.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2006
Machine Head have done it again. Through the ashes of empires has got to be their best work since Burn my eyes if not better. This band are pioneers of the way metal should be and are constantly pushing the bench mark in the music industry. They give you a blend of all out heavy riffing and crazy double bass like Vim or Imperium to melodic master pieces like Descend the shades of night. I feel that people can easily relate to this album and this band as there songs are so meaningfull and honest, i personally deeply relate to Wipe the tears because of what i have been through and im sure other people respond the same to this or any of the other songs on the album. This album is the best investment i have every made and once you buy this i garranty you'll feel the same.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
After the Nu-Metalish 'Supercharger', I did not hold out too much hope in this new Machine Head album, but they seem to have found a new burst of energy and heaviness for this release. 'Imperium' gets the album off to a great start. The crushing wall of guitar sound is here, as heavy as they have ever been, but with a lot of intricate little lead lines and harmonics. The song stuctures are more complex this time aswell. But the riffs stand out and are as good as they have ever been on any Machine Head album. Hi-lights are 'Left Unfinished', In The Presence Of My Enemies' and 'Vim'. All are classic Machine Head. 'Bite The Bullet' and 'All Falls Down' have shades of Supercharger (the album) in them, but are still strong efforts. The album closes with the longest song on the album, 'Decend The Shades Of Night'. Clocking in at 7 and a half mins long, it starts with (gasp) a classical accoustic part and then builds up, getting heavier all the time. This track has some of the best guitar work on the entire album, amazing solo's, and then fades out with the classical accoustic riff. Long term fans will already have bought this album, but if you are new to Machine Head and love heavy, but melodic music then look no further. Great Stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2003
Eyyyyyyy! I got the cd, put it on, turned up the volume and was blown away. I'd read in places like the roadrunner uk and machine head websties that this was a good album, but i thought it was just hype. It really is one the best albums out there. The first song Imperium does the job of getting you hooked. It starts with some quiet clean guitars then Machine Head kick in with crazy drums and some of the best guitar riffs we've heard from them yet. The rest of the album follows this pattern and if you liked Burn My Eyes or The More Things Change, your gonna love this.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2003
This new album from Machine Head is a big improvement from their other albums and is a good follow up from Supercharger. This album can be heavy with all the guitars thrashing away but there is more melody and singing in this album. Machine Head fans will love this album and the band, show us again that they are still great writers and performers. Their UK tour, which finished this month, has proven that they are still a great band. This album is a great gift for a big fan at Christmas.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2007
......5stars + if u get the version with 'seasons wither' on it. basically in my opinion this is the best metal album to come out in a long time. i didnt manage to get it with the strangely deleted track, but when i added it to my mp3 player i just added it in as i'd downloaded it.it makes a really good album into the best heavy metal album for a long time! the limited edition (2discs) of this album is real gud too, as u get demos and videos which are both interesting and entertaining. Machine Head and Down it seems produce the best f*king metal albums known to man, so its no surprise that this is absolutely awesum. the riffs are top draw, aswell as the lyrics, really hit the spot. also the drummer i feel is a little underated. All in all well worth your hard earned pennies. please buy it now and experience metal the way it was meant to be played in the 21st century.awesome!!! cant wait for The Blackening!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2006
machine head epitomise metal,i would be lying if i said they always have as the albums 'the burning red' and 'supercharger' didnt rock and rip like the classic albums before them,rob flynn and company let some fans down on 'supercharger' and 'the burning red',but this was just the remedy we needed,metal was restored and chaos and ferocity were the order of the day on here,of course it wasnt all metal,there were ballady moments but they were cracking ballads,some songs are long but they retain interest by strong hooks and memorable chorus',all in all it is metal and thats why we loved them,the memory of their nu metal days is starting to fade now ,thank you machine head
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2003
Apparently Rob Flynn and the guys spent the most time since Burn My Eyes (their acclaimed debut) recording these 10 tracks and it definitely shows! I caught the video for opening song 'Imperium' on digital TV and was simply blown away. My favourite Machine Head song before this was 'The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears' from The Burning Red album but 'Imperium' goes a step beyond. The line "Here me now, words I vow, no f*****g regrets" describes the career of Machine Head perfectly. Crunching riffs, well-structured songs and Rob growling in fury through the mic see Machine Head continue to carve their own path. True METAL music, their best album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Machine Head's fifth studio album Through The Ashes Of Empires was released in 2003 to a mixture of praise from some fans and suspicion from others.

The album was a lot heavier and harder than the two albums which had preceded it, but all the same was not a wholesale return to the style found on the band's first two albums. Some fans of heavier metal may have still been unsure about all the softer moments and mid tempo sections and decided not to give the album a fair chance.

Through The Ashes Of Empires maintained the clean vocals and melodic tendencies which were present on the more recent albums at the time, mixed them with some of the heaviness and groove from the early days of their career and came up with something modern, interesting and enjoyable.

The album has three songs which exceed seven minutes in length and only two which run under the four minute margin. Rapping is altogether absent from the vocal style and there is no industrial or electronic influence to the music or production whatsoever.

The band would later develop and perfect this style on their next album, The Blackening, which mixed in huge deals of dual guitar work and thrash influenced riffs to create one of their most popular and respected works to date.

Early fans who were won back by The Blackening should take time to give Through The Ashes Of Empires a fair listen, and may find a great album they have missed out on.

Standout tracks include the opener `Imperium,' in addition to heavier numbers like `Vim,' and `Wipe The Tears.' Furthermore, additional praise is deserved for the intense and brooding album closer `Descend The Shades Of Night,' which starts in a soft melodic fashion and rises to a dynamic climax.

Overall, Through The Ashes Of Empires is one of Machine Head's better albums and fans who overlooked it at the time should reinvestigate it. For newcomers to the band, it would provide an excellent starting point as it bridges the gap between all of the band's directions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)