Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy as hell
The two words i would use to describe this album are heavy and melodic. Every song is heavy and melodic and usually well paced. Some songs have fast as hell parts on them. If you liked the older machine head because of intensity and you like the new machine head because of melodic-eness then you should buy this because its great. 10/10!
Published on 4 Sep 2004 by AA Roncancio Morales

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars only 2 good songs!
this is one of the most let down of albums i have ever listened to. it is so boring! it starst with imperium which is a brilliant song and after hearing this song i thought this album would be amazing, but most of the other songs try and sound heavy but come of sounding abit cheesy.
Plus there are hardly any decent riffs in the whole album! whats going on...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by rich7881


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy as hell, 4 Sep 2004
This review is from: Through The Ashes Of Empires (Audio CD)
The two words i would use to describe this album are heavy and melodic. Every song is heavy and melodic and usually well paced. Some songs have fast as hell parts on them. If you liked the older machine head because of intensity and you like the new machine head because of melodic-eness then you should buy this because its great. 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt, the album of 2003, 19 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Through The Ashes Of Empires (Audio CD)
Simply stunning, a metalheads dream come true.
Imperium, one of the finest songs to ever grace a metal lovers CD player. My friend let me listen to this one song, and it simply blew me away and I went out to buy the album the next day. The build up in this song is simply incredible and then the roar from Rob Flynn signalling the return of brutal Machine Head. I would give the album 5 stars even if Imperium was the only good track on it and the rest of it sucked. However the rest of teh album is far from crap. It is simply stunning. From the incredible choruses, brutal guitar riffs and astounding drumming this album is metal perfection. The final track on this album, the semi acoutic, Descend the Shades of Night is remarkable. From slow acoustic chords being played a unbelievable outpouring of emotion near the end of the song from Rob Flynn takes place.
Trust me, you like metal, buy this, you will not be disappointed. Machine Head seem to be the only band in 2003 that returned to their 'old' roots and succeeded with flying colours. Metallica and St. Anger by far the most disappointing album I ahve ever heard, don't get me wrong I like it, but even after 8 months I can't compare it to any of their old albums, even Load. Korn, yes Take A Look In the Mirror was a triumphant return and was simply the heaviest beats to come out of them in a while, it lacked....... the directiona and emotion of their first attempt. Both these classic bands should take a page out of Machine Head's book for their next records.
Machine Head, they rule, yes they do, they are truly the Kings of Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Machine head e.g Gods of Metal, 1 Feb 2006
This review is from: Through The Ashes Of Empires (Audio CD)
Machine Head have done it again. Through the ashes of empires has got to be their best work since Burn my eyes if not better. This band are pioneers of the way metal should be and are constantly pushing the bench mark in the music industry. They give you a blend of all out heavy riffing and crazy double bass like Vim or Imperium to melodic master pieces like Descend the shades of night. I feel that people can easily relate to this album and this band as there songs are so meaningfull and honest, i personally deeply relate to Wipe the tears because of what i have been through and im sure other people respond the same to this or any of the other songs on the album. This album is the best investment i have every made and once you buy this i garranty you'll feel the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great return to form, 11 May 2004
After the Nu-Metalish 'Supercharger', I did not hold out too much hope in this new Machine Head album, but they seem to have found a new burst of energy and heaviness for this release. 'Imperium' gets the album off to a great start. The crushing wall of guitar sound is here, as heavy as they have ever been, but with a lot of intricate little lead lines and harmonics. The song stuctures are more complex this time aswell. But the riffs stand out and are as good as they have ever been on any Machine Head album. Hi-lights are 'Left Unfinished', In The Presence Of My Enemies' and 'Vim'. All are classic Machine Head. 'Bite The Bullet' and 'All Falls Down' have shades of Supercharger (the album) in them, but are still strong efforts. The album closes with the longest song on the album, 'Decend The Shades Of Night'. Clocking in at 7 and a half mins long, it starts with (gasp) a classical accoustic part and then builds up, getting heavier all the time. This track has some of the best guitar work on the entire album, amazing solo's, and then fades out with the classical accoustic riff. Long term fans will already have bought this album, but if you are new to Machine Head and love heavy, but melodic music then look no further. Great Stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the Ashes of the Best Album Ever Made, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Average Chris (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Through The Ashes Of Empires (Audio CD)
Eyyyyyyy! I got the cd, put it on, turned up the volume and was blown away. I'd read in places like the roadrunner uk and machine head websties that this was a good album, but i thought it was just hype. It really is one the best albums out there. The first song Imperium does the job of getting you hooked. It starts with some quiet clean guitars then Machine Head kick in with crazy drums and some of the best guitar riffs we've heard from them yet. The rest of the album follows this pattern and if you liked Burn My Eyes or The More Things Change, your gonna love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Improvment, 7 Dec 2003
This new album from Machine Head is a big improvement from their other albums and is a good follow up from Supercharger. This album can be heavy with all the guitars thrashing away but there is more melody and singing in this album. Machine Head fans will love this album and the band, show us again that they are still great writers and performers. Their UK tour, which finished this month, has proven that they are still a great band. This album is a great gift for a big fan at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Machine Head are Back!!, 6 Nov 2003
This review is from: Through The Ashes Of Empires (Audio CD)
The album really does have everything you could want from a metal album - grinding riffs, inexplicable fast drumming, aggressive vocals, melody, mellow tracks... It is Machine Heads attempt at re-establishing themeselves at the top of the pile and my word what a statement it is. The explosive opening track 'imperium', 6 minutes of genius, is utterly jaw dropping with enough guitar changes to make you weep; 'Turns blue to grey' is an emotionally draining song about Mr Flynn's past that hits you like a freight train; and finally 'decend the sahdes of night' an atmospheric masterpiece that gracefully encapsulates what the whole album is about. wow wow wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A year in the making...and well worth it!, 29 Nov 2003
This review is from: Through The Ashes Of Empires (Audio CD)
Apparently Rob Flynn and the guys spent the most time since Burn My Eyes (their acclaimed debut) recording these 10 tracks and it definitely shows! I caught the video for opening song 'Imperium' on digital TV and was simply blown away. My favourite Machine Head song before this was 'The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears' from The Burning Red album but 'Imperium' goes a step beyond. The line "Here me now, words I vow, no f*****g regrets" describes the career of Machine Head perfectly. Crunching riffs, well-structured songs and Rob growling in fury through the mic see Machine Head continue to carve their own path. True METAL music, their best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A crushing return to the "old skool", 30 Oct 2003
Through the ashes of empires - what can i say? i had high hopes for this album following the comments that had come from the band's camp, however i chose not to get too carried away with this as bands alway say, this is a return to our roots album after they have put out a distictly average album. Machine head however, clearly ment it. I have to put this down partly to the recruitment of new guitarist (and former violence man) phil demmel, his arrival has clearly reminded mr flynn that harmonic dualing solos are where its at, and we get these at several points throughout, most notably in when days turn from blue to grey, in the presence of my enemies and vim. This album is littered with track after track that would not sound out of place on that now infamous debut. And in descend the shades of night they have written one of the best tracks in their history, beginning out with a spanish guitar intro (ala tallica's battery) and goes on to form a 7 minute epic with crushing guitars and a great solo.
Infact the only thing stopping this being arguably better than burn my eyes is the track wipe the tears, which sounds like its left over from the supercharger era, it starts horribly and never quite recovers.
still this doesn't detract from the quality of this album. 9/10
welcome home boys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLOODY FANTASTIC, 27 Nov 2003
By 
What can i say, Machine Head are back at the aggressive side of things. I think the departure of Arhue Luster has made the band alot tighter and able to produce such a brilliant album. I recommend Imperium and Left Unfinnished are the best of the song... alot of work has been put on to the album. everyone i kno has the new album..... its just killer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through The Ashes Of Empires
Through The Ashes Of Empires by Machine Head (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews