Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars above the below
well,this 44 day stunt in a box with only pure water has come out on dvd,I would give this 3 1/2 but i cant,its got special features of hospital recovery,45 minutes of his vertigo stunt,and street magic.
Above the below has been on one time on bbc2 and probably more on sky,and i believe it is on again on the 22nd december so I think yu should save your money if you...
Published on 5 Dec 2003 by matthewharris538

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little magic
Boring boring boring! I'm quite a Blaine fan, but this DVD is incredibly dull. The Above the Below section is just Blaine in a box. Having said that, Vertigo's quite good- not worth the admission price though- oh, and there are hardly any magic effects on here, so if you're expecting Street Magic, then go elsewhere (David Blaine Mystifier is pretty good)
Published on 17 Jan 2004 by Ian Roe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very little magic, 17 Jan 2004
This review is from: David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] (DVD)
Boring boring boring! I'm quite a Blaine fan, but this DVD is incredibly dull. The Above the Below section is just Blaine in a box. Having said that, Vertigo's quite good- not worth the admission price though- oh, and there are hardly any magic effects on here, so if you're expecting Street Magic, then go elsewhere (David Blaine Mystifier is pretty good)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars above the below, 5 Dec 2003
This review is from: David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] (DVD)
well,this 44 day stunt in a box with only pure water has come out on dvd,I would give this 3 1/2 but i cant,its got special features of hospital recovery,45 minutes of his vertigo stunt,and street magic.
Above the below has been on one time on bbc2 and probably more on sky,and i believe it is on again on the 22nd december so I think yu should save your money if you get board easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Blaine Above The Below, 6 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good dvd. It is David Blaine endurance test in London. He stays in a glass box for 44 days without food surviving on water.It also includes lots of extra features in cluding verigo where he stood on a pole for about 35 hours. It also has recovery of David Blaine since he left the box. A must buy video if you like David Blaine and the magic and endurance tests he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 1 May 2005
By 
Neoconartist (Fallujah, Iraq) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great in many ways that are hard to put into words.
If you are a Harmony Korine fan, you will love this because it is an extension of his other films and he really captures the beauty of what David Blaine was trying to accomplish with this stunt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars who knows, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my Nephew for his birthday. It arrived quickly. well packaged and must be ok as he has not complained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 Dec 2007
By 
Mr Benjamin J. Ellis (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] (DVD)
This is a strange and incongruous movie (i.e. Above the Below). Included, for no narrative reason, are moments where David Blaine takes a series of blows to the stomach from a South Londoner with no explanation given. There's another insert where Blaine tells about 12 naked women a joke about a deaf mute, which is immediately followed up by their slow-mo nudie dancing for five seconds while he stares into the lens and holds a deck of cards. Um... what?
As for the stunt of being in a box for 44 days, well the movie depicts that, shows a lot of the screaming fans around the box, has a few moments from inside the box when it's hit by projectiles from the Tower Bridge crowd. Apart from that, the movie seems to recoil from going into Blaine's reasons for starving himself in a perspex box. Perhaps this is meant to pay homage to Kafka's short story, "The Hunger Artist", but it's one for uncritical fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD]
David Blaine: Above The Below [DVD] by Harmony Korine (DVD - 2003)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews