Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure DVD: The Videos
As a fan of the band, I'm glad to see that they finally released a complete collection of every Erasure video on DVD, all 38 videos, not 35 as listed, they've hidden three. Go to Disc Two and on the main menu, if I'm not mistaken use the arrow keys to find the Hamburg Mix for Who Needs Love Like That. On the same DVD go to the Rare Videos and hit your arrow key right and...
Published on 29 Feb. 2004 by R. DiClemente

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What remastering?
If you're a fan of Erasure and want to complete your collection
then you'll probably buy this DVD package anyway. For sure it's great value in terms of content.
Remastering for DVD is a different matter altogether. The whole point of DVD is to get the very best from the visuals and sound,
but Mute have made no effort whatsoever to remaster the audio or...
Published on 1 Dec. 2003 by Mark Walton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure DVD: The Videos, 29 Feb. 2004
By 
R. DiClemente (Wheeling, WV United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As a fan of the band, I'm glad to see that they finally released a complete collection of every Erasure video on DVD, all 38 videos, not 35 as listed, they've hidden three. Go to Disc Two and on the main menu, if I'm not mistaken use the arrow keys to find the Hamburg Mix for Who Needs Love Like That. On the same DVD go to the Rare Videos and hit your arrow key right and find another video for Oh L'amour. For the last secret, a live version of Wooden Heart, go to the Promo section and hit your arrow key right and you'll find this little treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of best video DVD ever, 31 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Erasure "Hits - the Videos" comes in a pack with 2 DVDs. The first DVD is fabulous: you get 35 videos and in them you find all the Erasure Hits plus less known videos.
Starting with "Who needs love" and ending with "Make me smile" you get other hits like "Oh l'Amour", "Ship of fools", and Erasure version of several Abba songs (the funniest video is "Take a Chance on me"), among others.
The second DVD is not as good (it would impossible to keep in the level of the first DVD) and you can view more 9 videos plus 6 promotional documentaries.
Sound and picture quality are great, so giving 5 stars to this DVD is just an understatement of its good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last all the videos on one DVD, 7 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is what all fans have been waiting for, all the band's videos on one disc plus loads of extras on disc two. Of course the amazing non UK single release "Rock me gently" is also included. This collection is 100% pure fun and some of the videos will make you laugh. Some are as camp as a christmas tree (i.e. "heavenly action", " who needs love"...) some more serious ( i.e. "rock me gently", " fingers&thumbs") but all of them have brilliant music. Disc two consists of alternative videos, live performances from telly and from their tours. And lots and lots of other goodies. All together hours of fun for little money. Go on treat yourself to this fantastic collection from the band that makes electro pop better than anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Erasure, 22 July 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
"Hits! The Videos" is the definitive Erasure DVD, giving you music videos and MUCH more. Fans of this synth duo will find lots to enjoy on both these discs. On the first DVD, we get the duo's ENTIRE (and I mean "entire") video history, from their debut "Who Needs Love Like That" right up to 2003's "Make Me Smile (Come Up and See Me)." In all, 35 videos are featured on this disc in 2-channel surround stereo. While they're not big budget extravaganzas, the videos of Erasure are pure exercises in maximum level camp. The one video that had me howling is their cover of ABBA's "Take a Chance on Me" with the duo prancing around in front of the camera in drag. That clip is so flaming, it will melt your screen. Other favorites include "Blue Savannah," "Fingers and Thumbs," and "Love to Hate You." But the real treat for fans is on disc 2, which has live performances, rare videos, and documentaries promoting their last six albums. It's a real treat watching Vince and Andy bring down their guard as they discuss touring, making videos, music, and their songwriting. These clips, ranging from 5 minutes to half an hour, bring additional value to an already great DVD. It would have been nice if these videos were in 5.1 surround sound and had petter picture quality, but "Hits! The Videos" is still a must-buy for any Erasure fan. While "Hits!" the CD was a halfhearted collection that left out many of the duo's singles, "Hits!" the DVD features every video they made right up to 2003's "Other People's Songs." It's the perfect replacement for your worn-out VHS copy of "Pop!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What remastering?, 1 Dec. 2003
By 
Mark Walton "justanotionremix" (Chester, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you're a fan of Erasure and want to complete your collection
then you'll probably buy this DVD package anyway. For sure it's great value in terms of content.
Remastering for DVD is a different matter altogether. The whole point of DVD is to get the very best from the visuals and sound,
but Mute have made no effort whatsoever to remaster the audio or
film clips for this release. The sound is low and the visuals are
for the most part murkey and dull. The track Sometimes is riddled with scratches on every frame.
The age of the material has nothing to do with it. If that was the case how come recent DVD releases by Duran Duran, Pet Shop Boys and Dead Or Alive have clear, crisp video and LOUD, sharp and clear audio?
Sorry, but Mute have made no effort at all to clean the material for this release, and for that reason it's for hard core fans only...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure in a box..., 22 Oct. 2003
By 
Whitehatter "Roy Ellor" (Salford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Just on a value for money basis this is essential for anyone who likes Vince and Andy! Two full DVDs of their chart hits, including a few I didn't even know had promotional videos made for them!
Disc Two, with the documentary and live stuff, packs this collection out nicely. It truly is Erasure and their history condensed into two disks, with no glaring omissions. Hours of entertainment and worth every penny, deserving of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Haven't watched this DVD as present for somebody, but I really do hope that I get a chance to watch this DVD at sometime, Takes me back and I still look listening to them on my i-pod. Delivery and packing excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 27 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As others have said, this is tops. The videos' range from the weird to the wonderful and all those you have seen will bring backa few memories. There are of course the songs you don't like, and the older stuff is often the best (but that just shows our ages) but in general, it's superb. Great to be able, at last, to have all the decent songs in one place (whereas two hits albums have them all over the place), and the extra's are great. Now I know what they look like in 2003 as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure - Hits - The Very Best Of (DVD), 10 Mar. 2009
By 
G. Mccourt "Gerry McCourt" (Edinburgh - Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a great compilation DVD of Erasures hits, a great feel good dvd mixed with Camp 80's Videos, foot stamping music, gets you in the party mode - Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Erasure fans., 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for a friend.She loves it,and it's being constantly played.It seems ideal for anyone who is a fan of this group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003]
Hits! The Videos [DVD] [2003] by Erasure (DVD - 2013)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews