Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as direct as some of her previous work
Immortal Memory is overall a fine piece of work, particularly for the spiritually inclined. However, criticisms that it lacks the fire of some of Lisa Gerrard's previous work have some foundation.
IM is a subtler, smoother and more gentle offering, perhaps too smooth and subtle for some, especially those fond of the shriller emotional moments found in several of LG's...
Published on 5 Feb 2004 by Stephen David Lodge

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another soundtrack?
As with Brendan Perry’s solo album I was expecting great things but I am afraid I have been disappointed. Immortal Memory, although a very soothing album, it reminds me of her soundtracks. Basically the album never comes alive. It lacks the things that Duality had and if your expecting Dead Can Dance tunes, there is only some small resemblance. This album will...
Published on 1 Feb 2004 by N114052


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as direct as some of her previous work, 5 Feb 2004
By 
Stephen David Lodge (York, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
Immortal Memory is overall a fine piece of work, particularly for the spiritually inclined. However, criticisms that it lacks the fire of some of Lisa Gerrard's previous work have some foundation.
IM is a subtler, smoother and more gentle offering, perhaps too smooth and subtle for some, especially those fond of the shriller emotional moments found in several of LG's earlier pieces.
That said, the subtlety rewards repeated careful and attentive listening, revealing new layers of depth each time.
There is nothing with the soaring power of Sanvean here, but Maranatha successfully evokes the mystery, peace and beauty at the heart of true spirituality while Sailing to Byzantium manages to conjure the exotic and mystical glamour of that fallen empire effectively, at least for me.
Abwoon is a pretty direct devotional piece while Paradise Lost does have some real spirtual drama to it. I Asked for Love is in my view one of the most powerful pieces and perhaps the closest to LG's older material.
This process of exchanging raw power for subtlety and refinement does seem to be a natural one in the career of most musical performers with any talent.
It is perhaps the case that LG has grown too fond of the studio process and has over-produced her latest work, but the CD is still well worth buying if you have enjoyed her previously, and let's face it, there are few singers out there capable of combining the sublimely spirtual with deep emotional punch in the way Lisa Gerrard can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you're looking for..., 17 Feb 2004
By 
N. Clarke (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
While it would be fair to say that Lisa Gerrard's eagerly-awaited new album is closer in form and tone to her film soundtracks than to her previous solo efforts, that is not in itself a criticism. The shift is clearly intentional, and highly appropriate to the themes of the album. The earthy, urgent, vocal-led pieces of _Duality_ give way on _Immortal Memory_ to sweeping orchestral arrangements complemented by Gerrard's soaring voice. The concern here is spirituality, a look at the timeless quality of communication between human and divine.
Lisa Gerrard trades the visceral emotion and drama of her previous work for something contemplative. How successful she is in this likely depends on the listener; _Immortal Memory_ is less accessible and immediate, but careful listening will uncover gems like the evocative 'Sailing to Byzantium', and the high drama and sense of menace within 'Paradise Lost'. If this sometimes has the feel of a soundtrack, it is perhaps only because Gerrard has become more adept than ever at conjuring intoxicating images from her soundscapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful masterpiece, 2 Feb 2004
By 
Ian C. Smith "ghost of '82" (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
This latest album by Lisa Gerrard is a collaboration with Patrick Cassidy, and is her finest release yet. This is a beautiful, majestic masterpiece that is timeless and destined for greatness. In tone it reminds me of Vangelis' EL GRECO, and Zimmer's THIN RED LINE.
People who enjoyed Lisa's work on recent movies, notably GLADIATOR of course, will find similar material here. Without the time contraints of matching music to images, these songs are far superior, while often maintaining that 'filmic' feel. No doubt many of these pieces will turn up in commercials and films. Thats almost a pity. They should be left in their purest and more complete form as on this cd.
Anyone new to Lisa's work would be wise to start here with this masterwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Change of Direction, 29 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
OK, if you're reading this, you're probably wondering whether to buy the CD. Well, most of you are likely to fall into two categories: Those who have followed Lisa since her Dead Can Dance days and those who have discovered her from her collaboration with Hans Zimmer on Gladiator. Well, fans of the latter will not be disappointed for Immortal Memory is similar to Gladiator in terms of tone, mood and melody. Most of the songs are very melancholic and minor in key but also hauntingly beautiful. All in all, a wonderful album that does indeed evoke nostalgiac memories echoing occasional sadeness. Easily 5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ethereal beauty, 9 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. Warren M. Fisher (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
Featuring some magnificent arrangements and with Lisa's ethereal vocals to the fore, this is a luminously beautiful album. The only flaw is perhaps a lack of variation in tone, but each track taken individually matches Lisa's finest work. Reminiscent of much of her recent film work, this manages to be closer to her 'proper' solo albums in offering a more satisfying listening experience.
Transcendent, ethereal and divinely moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven sometimes is a place on Earth...., 15 Dec 2003
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
Lisa Gerrard has had a very prolific career to date. Starting out with the pioneering 4ad band Dead can Dance she released 7 albums all received with the highest praise from fans and critics alike before finally going "solo" back in the late 90's.Two solo albums "The Mirror Pool" and "Duality" have since been released,alongside many, many soundtrack offerings,Gladiator and Whale Rider are the most well known. Lisa has now teamed up with Irish musician Patrick Cassidy and produced an album of extraordinary beauty. Instead of Lisa's usually wordless vocals this time we are treated to songs sung in Gaelic and Aramaic (which is meant to be the language used by Jesus). The album opens with the song of Amergin, based on a Gaelic poem,and sets the opening tone of the album - soothing and hypnotic. The song is reprised later in the album with the beatiful Amergins invocation which rivals songs such as Sacrifice and Sanvean in the beauty and heartwrenching stakes. Strings are abundant on the album, nowhere more so than Marantha which has an absolutely epic feel to it, swelling,soaring strings and cascading oboes and will no doubt have film producers fighting over the rights in their next major film. To be honest most of this music wouldnt sound out of place on a big historical film like Gladiator, and Lisa is scoring on the new Mel Gibson film "The Passion of the Christ" about Jesus' last day on earth, so maybe this is just a warm up!!!This album is destined to become one of the favourites in Lisa's catalogue and Lisa once said "you have the ability through the arts,and tongues to create a dialogue to take you to places more beautiful than where ever promised", and you know what - this time she's done it!! If there is a Heaven this is the music that will be playing when you get there. Hear this and weep...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to relax with, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
A superb album. As always with Lisa a great voice. It persuaded me to buy a few more of her albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not rock'n' roll but I like it!, 24 Sep 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
Anyone familiar with the 'Gladiator' soundtrack will know what to expect from 'Immortal Memory': haunting sometimes apocalyptic, orchestral style synth themes, other -worldly middle-eastern vocals and a production job that gives everything a shimmering ethereal gloss as if the music had been recorded somewhere deep underground, far from earthly distractions. Sounds pretentious? Perhaps. But really it's all a matter of taste. I happen to feel that 'Immortal Memory' has moments of real beauty and pellucidity, where our partial intuitions about faith and our place in the world suddenly become understood not as individual strands of human experience but as a part of the weave of our human fabric.

If critics can't fault Gerrard and Cassidy for ambition, some may say that the tone is a little too gloomy-doomy and undifferentiated. In other words - is this just a beautifully packaged bit of soundtrack tedium where mood conquers substance? It's a view I can understand but after numerous listens, I think 'Immortal Memory' has real merit. It works as a whole album experience. Sit down, relax and fall under its hymn like charms and I think you will find much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchantingly beautiful, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
I love this CD. I haven't heard Liza Gerrard before, but knew of Patrick Cassidy's contribution to the film music for Hannibal - Vide Cor Meum. Every track of Immortal Memory gets through to me. Abwoon - the Lords Prayer sung in Aramaic, is, according to the notes, the language Jesus would have used to teach the prayer,and is really beautiful. I took a gamble buying this cd, but it has paid off rewardingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous sombre sounds, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Immortal Memory (Audio CD)
I really do enjoy the haunting sounds Lisa Gerrrad produces, and it is an education to look up her references. She and her co-workers must be awfy weel read, schooled, brung up. Certainly they seem to be errudite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Immortal Memory
Immortal Memory by Patrick Cassidy (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews